- President Sir Charles Langbridge Morgan, of the Institute of Civil Engineers of Great Britain.
- President Henri Abraham, of the Society of Electrical Engineers of France.
- President Luigi Luiggi, of the Society of Civil Engineers of Italy.
- Honorary President Roberto Gayol, of the Society of Engineers of Mexico.
- President Arthur Surveyer, of the Engineering Institute of Canada.
- Afternoon: Unveiling of Tablets.
  - 1. On the site of the old main building, destroyed by fire in 1904. Address by Hon. Seymour van Santvoord, of Troy, and Mrs. James Carroll Frazer, of Washington, a lineal descendant of Stephen Van Rensselaer, founder of the institute.
  - In the Carnegie Building in memory of S. Wells Williams ('32), first professor of Chinese and oriental literature in Yale University. Address by His Excellency, Dr. S. K. Alfred Sze, Chinese Minister to the United States.

Inspection of laboratories.

- Evening: Dinner in the State Armory. Addresses by: President Livingston Farrand, of Cornell University. Director Joseph H. Odell, of the Service Citizens of
  - Delaware, and another distinguished speaker.
  - Pageant on the campus illustrating scenes in the history of science and engineering during the last hundred years.

## OCTOBER 4

Morning: Convocation. Addresses by:

- President Angell, of Yale University.
- President Birge, of the University of Wisconsin.
- President Stratton, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.
- President Grunsky, of the American Society of Civil Engineers.
- President Low, of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers.
- President Kelly, of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers.
- President Osgood, of the American Institute of Electrical Engineers.
- President Michelson, of the National Academy of Sciences.
- Afternoon: Reception by President Ricketts and Mrs. Ricketts.

Evening: Alumni Smoker, Pageant.

## OFFICERS OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE list of officers of the National Research Council for the year 1924-25 is as follows:

Honorory chairman, George E. Hale, honorary director of the Mount Wilson Observatory, Carnegie Institution of Washington, Pasadena, California.

Chairman, Gano Dunn, president of the J. G. White

Engineering Corporation, 43 Exchange Place, New York City.

First vice-chairman, A. A. Michelson, president of the National Academy of Sciences; professor of physics, University of Chicago.

Second vice-chairman, Charles D. Walcott, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.

Third vice-chairman, R. A. Millikan, director of the Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena.

Fourth vice-chairman, John C. Merriam, president of the Carnegie Institution of Washington, Washington, D. C.

Permanent secretary, Vernon Kellogg, National Research Council, Washington, D. C.

Treasurer, George K. Burgess, treasurer of the National Academy of Sciences; director of the U. S. Bureau of Standards, Washington, D. C.

Assistant secretary, Paul Brockett, assistant secretary in charge of building, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, D. C.

Assistant secretary, Albert L. Barrows, National Research Council, Washington, D. C.

Chairman, Division of Federal Relations, Charles D. Walcott, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C.

Chairman, Division of Foreign Relations, R. A. Millikan, director of the Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics, California Institute of Technology.

Chairman, Division of States Relations, A F. Woods, president of the University of Maryland.

Chairman, Division of Educational Relations, Vernon Kellogg, National Research Council.

Chairman, Division of Engineering and Industrial Research, Frank B. Jewett, vice-president of the Western Electric Company, New York City.

Chairman, Division of Chemistry and Chemistry Technology, James F. Norris, professor of organic chemistry, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; National Research Council.

Chairman, Division of Geology and Geography, David White, senior geologist, U. S. Geological Survey.

Chairman, Division of Medical Sciences, L. Hektoen, professor of pathology, Rush Medical College; director of the John McCormick Institute for Infectious Diseases; National Research Council.

Chairman, Division of Biology and Agriculture, Maynard M. Metcalf, zoologist, Orchard Laboratory; National Research Council.

Chairman, Division of Anthropology and Psychology, R. S. Woodworth, professor of psychology, Columbia University; National Research Council.

Chairman, Division of Physical Sciences, J. S. Ames, dean of the College Faculty, professor of physics, and director of the Physical Laboratory, Johns Hopkins University; National Research Council.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE council of the National Academy of Sciences has accepted the joint invitation of Harvard Univer-