These papers concern fundamental questions and will help to show the intimate relationship between soil science and agricultural industry.

The proceedings of the conference will be published in the form of a volume of about 1,000 pages, containing all communications, reports, memoirs, discussions, etc., illustrated with diagrams, graphs, figures and maps and will be useful to scientific institutes and laboratories dealing with agriculture, for agricultural experiment stations, agricultural colleges, fertilizer manufacturers, irrigation and reclamation engineers, etc.

The price to members for copies of the proceedings is 15s., and to others 30s. Further particulars may be obtained from the Organizing Committee of the Fourth International Conference on Soil Science, International Institute of Agriculture, Villa Umberto I, Rome, 10.

THE COMMITTEE ON GRANTS OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION

THE Committee on Grants of the American Assoication for the Advancement of Science has elected as chairman of the committee Dr. David White, of the U. S. Geological Survey. The membership of the Committee on Grants for the current year is as follows:

David White (1924) (for Geology), chairman; U. S. Geological Survey, Washington, D. C.

B. M. Davis (1927) (for Botany); University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich.

W. D. Harkins (1926) (for Chemistry); University of Chicago, Chicago, Ill.

C. J. Herrick (1924) (for Neurology); University of Chicago, Chicago, Ill.

Aleš Hrdlička (1927) (for Psychology, Anthropology, Education, Economics); U. S. National Museum, Washington, D. C.

E. L. Nichols (1925) (for Physics); Cornell University, Ithaca, N. Y.

Frank Schlesinger (1926) (for Mathematics and Astronomy); Yale Observatory, New Haven, Conn.

H. V. Wilson (1925) (for Zoology); University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, N. C.

Applications for grants from the association should be addressed to the permanent secretary's office, by which they will be promptly transmitted to the members of the Committee on Grants. The appropriation of grants for the current year has been allotted and new applications will be considered as applying for the calendar year 1925. A list of the grants for 1924 has been published in SCIENCE for March 28.

THE INSTALLATION OF THE JOHNS HOP-KINS CHAPTER OF SIGMA XI

THE installation of the Johns Hopkins Chapter of

the Society of the Sigma Xi was held at the Rennert Hotel, Baltimore, Md., on February 29. The meeting was called to order by President Richtmyer, of the national society.

Dean Ellery, national secretary, read the petition for a chapter at the Johns Hopkins University, and reported that the petition had been unanimously granted at the convention in Cincinnati. President Richtmyer spoke briefly concerning the purposes of the society and then declared the Johns Hopkins Chapter established with the following as charter members:

illocio.	
J. J. Abel	W. T. Longcope
J. S. Ames	Mrs. R. S. Lynch
E. A. Andrews	S. O. Mast
W. S. Bear	E. B. Mathews
F. H. Baetjer	E. V. McCollum
E. W. Berry	P. D. Meader
J. C. Bloodgood	Adolf Meyer
C. G. Bull	S. R. Miller
G. H. Cartledge	J. R. Miner
A. G. Christie	Frank Morley
W. W. Cort	F. D. Murnaghan
R. P. Cowles	W. A. Patrick
T. S. Cullen	Raymond Pearl
S. R. Damon	A. H. Pfund
Knight Dunlap	M. W. Pullen
E. C. Faust	E. E. Reid
W. W. Ford	G. H. Robinson
J. C. W. Frazer	C. E. Simon
J. E. Gilpin	J. T. Singewald, Jr.
J. H. Gregory	J. C. Smallwood
R. W. Hegner	C. D. Snyder
W. N. Hess	R. A. Spaeth
W. H. Howell	G. L. Streeter
L. S. Hurlburt	F. H. Swett
R. S. Hyde	W. M. Thornton, Jr.
Miss B. J. Johnson	H. W. Waterfall
D. S. Johnson	L. H. Weed
Walter Jones	W. H. Welch
W. B. Kouwenhoven	J. B. Whitehead
P. D. Lamson	J. W. Williams
F. W. Lee	G. B. Wislocki
B. E. Livingston	

Professor A. G. Christie accepted the charter and responded on behalf of the chapter.

The following charter members were initiated as active members at this time:

E. A. Andrews	F. W. Lee
F. H. Baetjer	Mrs. R. S. Lynch
E. W. Berry	S. O. Mast
Knight Dunlap	E. B. Mathews
W. W. Ford	S. R. Miller
J. E. Gilpin	M. W. Pullen
J. H. Gregory	E. E. Reid
L. S. Hurlburt	H. W. Waterfall
Miss D. J. Johnson	L. H. Weed
W. B. Kouwenhoven	J. B. Whitehead

P. D. Lamson