Peabody Museum, Yale University, New Haven, Conn. Foreign address: Care director, American School of Prehistoric Research in Europe, American University Union, 50 Russell Square, London, W. C. 1 (from July 1 to 15). American University Union, 173 Boulevard Saint-Germain, Paris, after July 15.

## THE COLD SPRING HARBOR BIOLOGICAL LABORATORY

The Biological Laboratory at Cold Spring Harbor, Long Island, formerly a department of the Brooklyn Institute of Arts and Sciences, has been transferred definitely to the Long Island Biological Association. The following officers were elected at a recent meeting of the board of directors of the association: President, Colonel Timothy S. Williams; Vice-president, Marshall Field; Secretary, Dr. Charles B. Davenport; Treasurer, Arthur W. Page, and Laboratory Director, Reginald G. Harris. Over one hundred persons were voted into membership of the association.

Members of the board of directors, other than the officers already mentioned, are: Henry W. De Forest, Dr. George Draper, Professor H. D. Fish, Dr. G. Clyde Fisher, Henry Hicks, Dr. Walter B. James, Walter Jennings, Professor D. S. Johnson, Mrs. Otto H. Kahn, Dr. Frank Overton, Professor H. M. Parshley, Mrs. C. C. Rumsey, Mortimer Schiff, John H. J. Stewart, Professor W. W. Swingle, W. K. Vanderbilt and Professor H. E. Walter.

Alumni of the laboratory and others are eligible to membership in the association upon the approval of the board of directors and the payment of an annual subscription.

The announcement of the thirty-fifth year of the laboratory has appeared, showing, in general, a continuance of the previous policy, with increased provision for investigation. In this connection Professor W. W. Swingle, of Yale University, is an addition to the staff as investigator and lecturer in endocrinology. Other members of the staff of investigation are: Professor Edgar N. Transeau, of Ohio State University, investigator in botany; Professor J. Walter Wilson, of Brown University, in charge of experimental zoology, and Reginald G. Harris, laboratory director.

Courses of instruction are given in field zoology by Professors H. E. Walter, Brown University, assistant director; Howard M. Parshley, Smith College; J. Walter Wilson, Brown University; William Smith, University of Pittsburgh; George F. Sykes, Tufts Medical College, and Mr. O. M. Helff, Yale University; in comparative anatomy, by Professor Henry Sherring Pratt, Haverford College, in the endocrine system, by Professor W. W. Swingle, Yale University; in systematic and field botany, by Professor Norman MacD. Grier, Dartmouth College, and Miss

Gail Holliday; in plant ecology, by Professor Edgar N. Transeau, Ohio State University.

During the period of instruction lectures will be given to the laboratory by Drs. G. Clyde Fisher, Oscar Riddle, R. C. Murphy, A. M. Banta, H. H. Laughlin, A. F. Blakeslee, W. W. Swingle and C. B. Davenport.

The laboratory is open for investigation throughout the year; the director and collector being in continued residence. Accommodations are guaranteed for a large number of investigators from June 15 to September 15. Courses of instruction open July 2 and continue through August 13. The laboratory maintains a service of supply.

R. G. HARRIS

## THE FOREST RESEARCH COUNCIL

Secretary of Agriculture Henry C. Wallace has announced through the Northeastern Forest Experiment Station at the Massachusetts Agricultural College, the members of the Forest Research Council. The council was organized at Amherst on April 3, the first of its kind in the country. It brought together spokesmen of many of the wood-using and particularly the timber-owning industries of the forestry schools and the agricultural colleges. The membership includes:

- W. R. Brown, president, New Hampshire Timberland Owners' Association, chairman, New Hampshire Forestry Commission, Berlin, N. H.
- P. S. Collier, secretary, Northeastern Retail Lumber Dealers' Association, Rochester, N. Y.
- S. R. Dana, director, Northeastern Forest Experiment Station, Amherst.
  - R. T. Fisher, director, Harvard Forest, Petersham.
  - J. H. Foster, State Forester, Concord, N. H.
- R. S. Hosmer, department of forestry, New York State College of Agriculture, Ithaca, N. Y.
- C. H. Keith, president, New England Box Company, Greenfield.
- R. S. Kellogg, secretary, News Print Service Bureau, New York.
- J. C. Kendall, director, New Hampshire Agricultural Experiment Station and Extension Service, Durham, N. H.

Franklin Moon, dean, New York State College of Forestry, Syracuse, N. Y.

- H. G. Philbrook, president, Vermont Timberland Owners' Association, Boston.
- G. W. Sisson, Jr., president, Racquette River Paper Company, Potsdam, N. Y.
- W. L. Slate, director, Connecticut Agricultural Experiment Station, New Haven, Conn.
- J. W. Toumey, Yale School of Forestry, New Haven, Conn.
- F. A. Waugh, division of horticulture, Massachusetts Agricultural College, Amherst.