Our whole conception of matter, chemistry and the science of the universe has been placed on an entirely new basis; in addition, the emanations emitted in the transmutation of the atoms of radium have been found to mutation of the atoms of radium have been found to fective means have been discovered by which certain evils from which humanity suffers, such as cancer, can be combated. The strange and profoundly new character of these discoveries, the practical developments associated with them, and the hopes that they awaken for the future, create for France the moral obligation of showing its gratitude to those who made possible this glorious event. Unfortunately, Pierre Curie passed away prematurely. With admirable faith, firm resolve and scientific selfdenial, Madame Curie is continuing the work so auspiciously begun. The hour has come for France to show her grateful appreciation.

## THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

AT the Cincinnati meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Dr. J. Mc-Keen Cattell, president of the Psychological Corporation and editor of SCIENCE, was elected president. Vice-presidents were elected as follows: Mathematics, Professor John Charles Fields, University of Toronto; Physics, Dr. E. F. Nichols, Nela Research Laboratories, Cleveland; Chemistry, Dr. W. F. Hillebrand, Bureau of Standards, Washington, D. C.; Astronomy, Professor John A. Miller, Swarthmore College; Geology and Geography, Dr. W. C. Mendenhall, U. S. Geological Survey; Zoological Sciences, Edward Linton, professor emeritus, Washington and Jefferson College; Botanical Sciences, Dr. George R. Lyman, dean of the College of Agriculture of the University of West Virginia; Anthropology, Dr. E. A. Hooton, Peabody Museum, Cambridge; Psychology, Dr. R. S. Woodworth, Columbia University; Social and Economic Sciences, President T. S. Baker, Carnegie Institute of Technology; Historical and Philological Sciences, Professor L. C. Karpinski, professor of mathematics at the University of Michigan; Engineering, Dr. A. E. Kennelly, Harvard University and the Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Medical Sciences, Professor William G. Macallum, the Johns Hopkins University; Agriculture, Professor L. R. Jones, University of Wisconsin; Education, Professor L. A. Pechstein, of the University of Cincinnati.

Officers of national scientific societies affiliated with the association and meeting at Cincinnati were elected as follows:

Mathematical Association of America—President, Professor H. L. Rietz, University of Iowa; Vice-presidents, Professor J. L. Coolidge, Harvard University, and Professor Dunham Jackson, University of Minnesota. American Physical Society—Professor C. E. Mendenhall, University of Wisconsin, was reelected president.

The American Meteorological Society—President, Professor W. I. Wilham, Williams College; Vicepresident, Dr. A. E. Douglass, University of Arizona; Treasurer, W. R. Gregg, U. S. Weather Bureau; Secretary, Professor Charles F. Brooks, Clark University.

The Metric Association—*President*, Dr. George F. Kunz, New York; *First Vice-president*, Professor Arthur E. Kennelly, Harvard University; *Second Vice-president*, Theodore H. Miller, Poughkeepsie, N. Y.; *Treasurer*, Frederick T. Roberts, New York; *Secretary*, Howard Richards, New York.

The American Society of Naturalists—*President*, Professor William H. Howell, The Johns Hopkins University; *Vice-president*, Professor Lester W. Sharp, Cornell University.

American Society of Zoologists—*President*, Professor Ross G. Harrison, Yale University; *Vice-president*, Professor Robert K. Nabours, Kansas State College.

American Association of Economic Entomologists ---E. R. Sasscer, entomologist of the Federal Horticultural Board, was made chairman of the Section of Horticultural Inspectors, and *Third Vice-president* of the society, W. B. Wood, of Washington, D. C., was elected *Secretary* of the Section of Horticultural Inspection.

Botanical Society of America—*President*, Dr. William Crocker, Thompson Institute for Plant Research, Yonkers, N. Y.; *Vice-president*, Dr. A. F. Blakeslee, Station for Experimental Evolution of the Carnegie Institution.

Ecological Society of America—President, Professor E. N. Transeau, Ohio State University; Vicepresident, W. C. Allen, University of Chicago; Secretary-treasurer, Professor A. O. Weese, James Milliken University. Barrington Moore, Brooklyn Botanical Society, was appointed Editor of Ecology.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

 $D_R$ . L. H. BAEKELAND has been elected president of the American Chemical Society.

DR. G. STANLEY HALL, ex-president of Clark University, was elected president of the American Psychological Association at the recent meeting at Madison, Wisconsin.

THE December meeting of the Chemical Society of Washington was devoted to analytical chemistry, in honor of the seventieth birthday of Dr. W. F. Hillebrand, chief chemist of the Bureau of Standards. Drs. E. T. Allen, H. S. Washington, C. E. Monroe,