cellence of any treatise published by him during the year, be entitled to receive them.

The committee will be glad to receive further nominations up to the close of the year 1923, which should be addressed to the secretary of the National Academy of Sciences, Smithsonian Institution, Washington, D. C.

THE COMMITTEE ON PACIFIC INVESTIGA-TIONS OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

For some years the Division of Foreign Relations of the National Research Council has maintained a committee on Pacific investigations. The purposes of this committee have been to encourage research undertakings in the Pacific area, especially of problems which are peculiar to that region. The committee has also represented American scientific interests in two Pan-Pacific Science Congresses which have been held, one at Honolulu in 1920 and the second this last summer in Australia.

The committee represents the continuation of a movement which was begun a number of years ago, making for concerted study of the scientific problems of the Pacific area, regarding that area as a distinct regional unit. This movement dates back to the organization of a committee in the National Academy of Sciences to direct attention to the importance of developing scientific work in the countries within and bordering upon the Pacific Ocean, both for the welfare of that region itself and also on account of the important contributions to scientific knowledge which would come from such studies. The early formation of the committee reflected interest in these problems which had been taken by scientific men of the Pacific Coast and by others who had had an opportunity to work upon materials from the Pacific region.

The Committee of the Research Council has recently been enlarged and now consists of the following members: *Chairman*, Herbert E. Gregory; *vicechairman*, T. Wayland Vaughan; William Bowie, Barton W. Evermann, Elmer D. Merrill, John C. Merriam, W. E. Ritter, Leonhard Stejneger, Walter T. Swingle, Clark Wissler.

THE ROLLIN D. SALISBURY MEMORIAL FUND

THE University of Chicago announces that a committee, consisting of Thomas E. Donnelley, chairman, from the board of trustees; Professor H. H. Barrows, chairman of the department of geography; Professor E. S. Bastin, chairman of the department of geology, and two other persons not members of the board of trustees or of the university faculties, has been appointed to raise a fund of \$100,000 to \$150,000 to be known as the Rollin D. Salisbury Memorial Fund for the Promotion of Research in the Fields of Geology and Geography.

The income from the fund is to be used for the following specific classes of projects: (a) Field research expeditions; (b) office and laboratory researches; (c) research fellowship grants to graduate students of special promise for the conduct of specific researches; (d) aid in the publication of research results when such publication can not be otherwise arranged; and (e) other projects that come appropriately under the caption of promotion of research.

Professor Salisbury, who for over twenty years was dean of the Ogden Graduate School of Science, head of the department of geography for sixteen years, and head of the department of geology at the time of his death in 1922, left a bequest to the university of a large fund for the endowment of scientific fellowships. Dean Salisbury's influence was widely extended through graduates in geology and geography who have gone to important positions in many educational institutions.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE REVEREND THOMAS GEORGE BONNEY, the distinguished English geologist, died at Cambridge on December 9, aged ninety years.

THE Perkin Medal, awarded annually to a chemist, residing in the United States, for the most valuable achievement in applied chemistry, has this year been awarded to Dr. Fred. M. Becket, distinguished for his work in metallurgy. The presentation will take place at the January 11 meeting of the American Section of the Society of Chemical Industry, Chemists' Club, New York City.

DR. EMIL G. BECK, Chicago, has been awarded its medal by the Radiological Society of North America for his work on radiology.

DR. F. GOWLAND HOPKINS, F.R.S., distinguished for his work on vitamins, has been presented with the gold medal of the Royal Society of Medicine, London.

THE jubilee prize of the Swedish Medical Association has been awarded Dr. R. Fahræus for his report on the speed of sedimentation of erythrocytes, entitled "The suspension stability of the blood." The Lennmalm prize is to be awarded to Dr. Sven Ingvar for his series of works on the cerebellum.

PROFESSOR CARLOS CHAGAS, director of the Institut Osvaldo Cruz in Rio de Janeiro, has been appointed foreign correspondent of the Belgian Royal Academy of Medicine.

THE resignation of Dr. Henry Frank Moore as