cially to the people of the United States of America, and

Whereas, The government of the United States has recognized the importance of scientific investigations and research by the creation of many scientific bureaus, and has appropriated large sums of money for carrying on their work which has been most beneficial to the health, industries and commerce of this country, and

Whereas, Our people should be kept informed promptly and fully of the progress made and results accomplished by the scientific organizations of the government, and

Whereas, The members of the government engaged on scientific activities can only function to the best advantage by having conferences with scientific men of this country not in government service and with such men of other countries, and

Whereas, This contact can only be gotten by attendunce at scientific gatherings in this country and abroad; therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Washington Academy of Sciences hereby petition and urge the President, the heads of departments of the federal government, and the Congress of the United States to give the welfare of science in the United States their earnest consideration and assistance; and to provide by law and by appropriation of the necessary money for the attendance of such scientists of the government as heads of departments may designate at scientific congresses, conventions and meetings in this country; and for the attendance of such scientists of this country, both in the government and in private life, as may be recommended to the Department of State by competent authority and approved by the head of that department or the official acting for him, as representatives of the United States of America at international scientific congresses, conventions and meetings. These appropriations would be exceedingly small as compared with the returns from them in great benefits to scientific advance in America and hence to the promotion of the national welfare.

PRIZE OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

To mark the seventy-fifth anniversary of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, a member of the association has given the sum of one thousand dollars to be awarded as a prize to the author of a paper containing a notable contribution to the advancement of science, presented at the Cincinnati meeting either before the association or before one of the affiliated societies. The award will be made by a committee to be appointed by the council of the association.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Nobel Prize for chemistry has been awarded to Professor Friedrich Pregl, of Graz. It will be remembered that the Nobel prize in physics has been awarded to Professor R. A. Millikan, and the prize in

medicine to Professor J. J. R. Macleod and Dr. F. G. Banting.

SIR CHARLES SHERRINGTON, Waynflete professor of physiology at Oxford, has been nominated by the council of the Royal Society for reelection to the presidency. Awards of medals have been made as follows: Royal Medals to Sir Napier Shaw, F.R.S., for his researches in meteorological science, and to Professor C. J. Martin, F.R.S., for his researches on animal metabolism. The Copley Medal to Professor H. Lamb, F.R.S., for his researches in mathematical physics. The Davy Medal to Professor H. B. Baker, F.R.S., for his researches on the complete drying of gases and liquids. The Hughes Medal to Professor R. A. Millikan, of the California Institute of Technology, for his determination of the electronic charge and of other physical constants.

THE first award of the Thomas Turner gold medal was made on October 30 to Sir Robert Hadfield, Bart., in recognition of his distinguished contributions to metallurgy of steel. The medal is the outcome of a gift to perpetuate the memory of the work done by Professor Turner in the metallurgy of iron.

THE honorary fellowship of the American College of Surgeons was conferred upon Sir William Wheeler, president of the Royal College of Surgeons of Ireland, at the convocation ceremony in Chicago on October 26.

Dr. ALEXANDER RUSSELL, principal of the Faraday House Electrical Engineering College, London, has been elected president of the British Institution of Electrical Engineers.

Dr. A. Lipschutz, professor of physiology at Dorpat, has been elected to honorary membership in the Mexican Biological Society.

Officers of the Cambridge Philosophical Society have been elected as follows: President, C. T. Heycock; vice-presidents, Professor A. C. Seward, Dr. H. Lamb, J. Barcroft; treasurer, F. A. Potts; secretaries, Professor H. F. Baker, F. W. Aston, J. Gray; new members of the council, F. P. White, E. V. Appleton, J. B. S. Haldane.

PROFESSOR LYMAN C. NEWELL, of Boston University, was delegate from the American Association for the Advancement of Science at the celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of Boston University, which occurred on October 25 and 26.

ARTHUR P. DAVIS, whose dismissal as director of the Reclamation Service by Secretary Work caused many protests from engineering and other bodies, has been elected to honorary membership by the Washington Society of Engineers. Mr. Davis is now in England, representing the Department of State on