leyan (2), Colby (1), Massachusetts Agricultural College (1), Teachers School of Science (1), Union College (1), University of Witwatersrand, South Africa (1). Ten institutions were represented by forty-one persons.

On October 12 the group studied the gabbro-diorite series in the vicinity of Arlington and Medford. Pink granites and pegmatites were found cutting and permeating the diorites and the discussion centered about the age of these intrusions. Were they contemporaneous differentiates of the gabbro-diorite batholith or did they represent a later petrogenic cycle? On October 13 the rocks along the coast between West Manchester and Beverly were studied, and a number of the party visited Salem Neck. The complex of alkaline dikes (sölvsbergite, tinguaite, camptonite) attracted the most attention.

> W. G. FOYE, Secretary

BOTANY AT CINCINNATI

BECAUSE of its general interest to botanists in their individual and organization plans for the Cincinnati meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science it seems desirable to announce in advance the program which has been arranged for the joint meeting of Section G with other botanical organizations. It has been planned that this program be given on the afternoon of the first full day of the session, Friday, December 27. In addition to the address of the retiring vice-president of Section G, Dr. F. E. Lloyd, who will speak on "The fluorescent colors of plants: their mode of occurrence and meaning," three invitation papers will be presented,—

The relation of environment to disease in plants: DR. L. R. JONES.

Recent advances in cytology: DR. L. W. SHARP. Cell activity and H-ion concentration—some problems in metabolism and absorption: DR. B. M. DUGGAR.

> ROBERT B. WYLIE Secretary of Section G

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

CHARLES PROTEUS STEINMETZ, consulting engineer of the General Electric Company and professor of electrophysics in Union College, died at his home at Schenectady on October 26, at the age of fifty-eight years.

ACCORDING to a cablegram from Stockholm, the Nobel Prize for medicine for 1923 has been awarded to Dr. F. G. Banting and Dr. J. J. R. MacLeod, of Toronto, for their discovery of insulin.

AT a special convocation on October 8, Syracuse University granted the honorary degree of Doctor of Science to distinguished delegates from foreign countries attending the World's Dairy Congress at Syracuse. Recipients of this honor were: Professor Orla-Jensen, of Denmark; Professor Haakon Isaachsen, of Norway; Dr. Robert Burri, of Switzerland; Gerald Leighton, M.D., of Scotland; Robert Stenhouse-Williams, M.D., D.P.H., of England; Sir Arnold Theiler, D.V.M., D.Sc., of South Africa; Charles Porcher, of France; Professor Masayoshi Sato, of Japan, and Charles Hastings, M.D., LL.D., of Canada. The degree of LL.D. was bestowed upon Professor Van Norman, dean of the University Farm School, University of California and president of the World's Dairy Congress, and upon Cesare Longobardi, LL.D., chief of the Statistical Bureau of the International Institute of Agriculture, Italy.

At the inauguration on October 18 of Dr. George Johnstone Trueman as president of Mount Allison University, Sackville, N. B., Canada, the degree of doctor of laws was conferred on Dean F. D. Adams, professor of geology, McGill University, and on Professor R. C. Archibald, professor of mathematics, Brown University.

THE Academy of Medicine of Mexico, has elected as honorary members Dr. W. J. Mayo, of Rochester, Minn., and Dr. A. J. Ochsner, of Chicago.

THE Chalmers gold medal for the best work on tropical medicine by investigators under the age of forty-five years has been awarded to Dr. Roubaud, general secretary of the Société de Pathologie exotique of Paris.

DR. B. T. BALDWIN has been elected president of the University of Iowa Research Club which consists of seventy head and research professors from the various colleges and departments in the state university.

DR. R. B. SOSMAN, of the Geophysical Laboratory, Washington, D. C., has been appointed by the National Research Council as American member on the permanent committee for the standardization of physico-chemical symbols of the International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry. The other members of the committee are: Professor Ernst Cohen, University of Utrecht, chairman; Professor Alexander Findlay, University of Aberdeen, and Professor Charles Marie, Sorbonne.

SIR ARCHIBALD GARROD, M.D., F.R.S., regius professor of medicine in the University of Oxford, has been appointed a member of the Medical Research Council in succession to Professor F. Gowland Hopkins, F.R.S., who retires by rotation. The appointment of Sir Archibald Garrod was made by the committee of the Privy Council for medical research,