mine work and other coal-mining investigations, except the coal waste inquiry for the United States Coal Commission, which work will be handled directly by Mr. Paul.

M. van Siclen, assistant to the chief mining engineer, will continue in that position and act as executive officer for the mining division, consulting on technical matters with the acting chief mining engineer. He will also act in the capacity of district mining supervisor in leasing matters, except petroleum on Indian lands, and will maintain contact with the commissioner on Indian affairs on all Indian mineral leasing matters, consulting with H. I. Smith on coal-leasing technical matters.

H. I. Smith will continue as mining supervisor and will report through the assistant to the chief mining engineer on administrative matters, consulting with the acting chief mining engineer on technical matters.

S. P. Howell, after July 1, will be detailed to the field investigation of liquid oxygen explosives under the new appropriation. J. E. Crawshaw will continue to serve as acting head of the explosives section and report through the superintendent of the Pittsburgh Station to the office of the chief mining engineer.

## FOREIGN MEMBERS OF THE WASHINGTON ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE board of managers of the Washington Academy of Sciences has elected the following scientific men to honorary foreign membership in recognition of their prominence in their respective fields and their intimate connection with scientific work in Washington:

Professor Leon Manouvrier, Ecole d'Anthropologie, Paris, in recognition of his life-long work in anthropology.

Dr. Carl Frederik Albert Christensen, director of Universitets Botaniske Museum, Copenhagen, in recognition of his services to systematic botany, particularly his monographic studies of tropical American ferns.

Dr. Paul Marchal, Ministry of Agriculture of France, in recognition of his investigations in biological problems and their relation to agriculture, especially for work in polyembryony.

Mr. Edward Clayton Andrews, government geologist of New South Wales, in recognition of his work in geology, particularly in the fields of origin of coral reefs, physiography, origin of the Australian flora, mount in formation and origin of metalliferous deposits. Sir Ernest Rutherford, director of the Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge, in recognition of his work in physics.

F. Omori, professor of seismology, University of Tokyo, in recognition of his work in the field of seismology.

Professor Guiseppi Stefanini, Instituto di Studi Superiori, Pizza San Marco, Florence, in recognition of his investigations in paleontology and stratigraphy, especially the tertiary formations of Italy and echinoids in general.

Professor Max Weber, University of Amsterdam, in recognition of his work in zoology.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

ARTHUR GORDON WEBSTER, since 1892 professor of physics in Clark University, died by suicide on May 15, at the age of fifty-nine years.

MR. ALVA JOHNSTON has received the \$1,000 Pulitzer prize of the School of Journalism of Columbia University for the best example of a reporter's work during the year for his reports of the meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, published in the New York *Times* from December 27 to 30.

DR. FREDERICK P. GAY, professor of bacteriology in the University of California and at present chairman of the Division of Medical Sciences of the National Research Council, has received from the Belgian Ambassador, on behalf of King Albert, the decoration of Commander of the Order of the Crown in recognition of his scientific work.

DR. EMMANUEL DE MARGERIE, French exchange professor to the United States, was given a farewell luncheon by the American engineering profession at the Harvard Club on May 18, at which several hundred engineers were present. Dr. Albert R. Ledoux, past president of the American Institute of Mining and Metallurgical Engineers, presided.

AT the annual meeting of the Association of American Physicians at Atlantic City, N. J., May 1-3, the following officers were elected: *President*, Dr. Charles F. Martin, Montreal; vice-president, Dr. Lewis A. Conner, New York; secretary, Dr. Thomas McCrae, Philadelphia, and treasurer, Dr. Joseph A. Capps, Chicago.

AT the annual congress of the Ophthalmological Society of the United Kingdom, held