Baltimore, Boston, St. Louis, Cleveland, Chieago, Rochester, Minn., Montreal and Toronto.

THE BRITISH ASSOCIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

PRESIDENTS and recorders of the sections of the British Association for the Advancement of Science have been appointed for the Liverpool meeting to be held in September under the presidency of Sir Ernest Rutherford as follows:

Section A (Mathematical and Physical Science): Professor J. C. McLennan; Professor A. O. Rankine, Imperial College of Science and Technology, S.W.7.

Section B (Chemistry): Professor F. G. Donnan; Professor C. H. Desch, The University, Sheffield.

Section C (Geology): Dr. Gertrude Elles; Dr. A. R. Dwerryhouse, Toots, Darell Road, Caversham, Reading.

Section D (Zoology): Professor J. H. Ashworth; Professor R. D. Laurie, University College, Aberystwyth.

Section E (Geography): Dr. Vaughan Cornish; Dr. R. N. Rudmose Brown, The University, Sheffield.

Section F (Economics): Sir W. H. Beveridge; Professor H. M. Hallsworth, Armstrong College, Newcastle-on-Tyne.

Section G (Engineering): Sir H. Fowler; Professor G. W. O. Howe, The University, Glasgow.

Section H (Anthropology): Mr. P. E. Newberry; Mr. E. N. Fallaize, Vinchelez, Chase Court Gardens, Enfield, Middlesex.

Section I (Physiology): Professor G. H. F. Nuttall; Professor C. Lovatt Evans, Physiological Laboratory, St. Bartholomew's Medical College, E.C.1.

Section J (Psychology): Mr. C. Burt; recorder not yet appointed.

Section K (Botany): Mr. A. G. Tansley; Mr. F. T. Brooks, 31 Tenison Avenue, Cambridge.

Section L (Educational Science): Professor T. P. Nunn; Mr. D. Berridge, The College, Malvern.

Section M (Agriculture): Dr. C. Crowther; Mr. C. G. T. Morison, School of Rural Economy, Oxford.

SPENCER FULLERTON BAIRD

THE one hundredth anniversary of the birth of Baird was commemorated at a meeting held in the auditorium of the United States National Museum on February 3. The Honorable Frank L. Greene, member of the House of Representatives and member of the board of regents of the Smithsonian Institution, presided, and addresses were given as follows:

"Baird the Man," Dr. William Healey Dall; "Baird and the Smithsonian Institution and its branches," Dr. Charles Greeley Abbot; "Baird at Woods Hole," Professor Edwin Linton; "Baird and the fisheries," Professor David Starr Jordan; "Baird the naturalist," Dr. Clinton Hart Merriam.

The meeting had been arranged by the National Baird Memorial Committee, of which the officers were as follows: *Honorary president*, Dr. William H. Dall; *president*, Dr. Charles D. Walcott; *vice-presidents*, Mr. George R. Agassiz, Dr. Alexander Graham Bell (deceased), Professor Frank W. Clarke, Professor Stephen A. Forbes, Professor David Starr Jordan, Professor Edwin Linton, Professor Edward S. Morse, Professor Henry Fairfield Osborn, Professor Addison E. Verrill and Dr. Robert S. Woodward; *secretary*, Dr. Paul Bartsch.

The membership of the committee included representatives of fifty-four scientific societies and other organizations. At the close of the meeting the report of the committee was presented by Dr. L. O. Howard. It included the following recommendations:

First: That the Congress be memorialized to establish in the city of Washington a museum of fisheries and oceanography, a laboratory and a public aquarium as a memorial to Spencer Fullerton Baird.

Second: That there be established a fund for the encouragement of research and exploration in the direction in which Spencer Fullerton Baird was a leader.

Third: That the name of Baird be given to the laboratory of the Bureau of Fisheries at Wood's Hole, Massachusetts.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

SECRETARY HOOVER has appointed the board of visitors of the United States Bureau of Standards for a period of three years as follows: President F. W. McNair, of the Michigan College of Mines; Dr. Ambrose Swasey, of Cleveland, Ohio; Dr. John R. Freeman, of Providence, Rhode Island, a consulting engineer; Professor Wilder D. Bancroft, of Cor-