The headquarters of the society are at Columbia University, New York City.

PROFESSOR MAX WEBER

THERE is printed in *Nature* the following letter addressed on December 5 to Professor Max Weber, of Amsterdam:

You celebrate your seventieth birthday to-day. and we, who are your colleagues and are but a few of your many friends in England, join together to congratulate you and to wish you many years to come of work and happiness. By your long life of teaching aand research, by your leadership of the Siboga Expedition, by your great handbook of the Mammalia, and by innumerable other important publications, you have come to be the acknowledged leader of zoology in the Netherlands and to be recognized far and wide as one of the most distinguished naturalists of our time. Your solid learning has upheld the great scientific traditions of your country, your investigations have influenced and stimulated many of us, your broad interests, your singleness of purpose, the simplicity of your life, and your genius for friendship have set an example to us all.

The letter is signed by the following leading British naturalists:

A. Alcock, E. J. Allen, Chas. W. Andrews, J. H. Ashworth, W. Bateson, Gilbert C. Bourne, W. T. Calman, Geo. H. Carpenter, Wm. J. Dakin, Arthur Dendy, J. C. Ewart, F. W. Gamble, J. Stanley Gardiner, Walter Garstang, James F. Gemmill, Sidney F. Harmer, J. R. Henderson, W. A. Herdman, Sidney J. Hickson, Jas. P. Hill, Wm. Evans Hoyle, J. Graham Kerr, E. W. MacBride, W. C. McIntosh, Doris L. Mackinnon, P. Chalmers Mitchell, C. Lloyd Morgan, Edward B. Poulton, R. C. Punnett, C. Tate Regan, G. Elliot Smith, Oldfield Thomas, D'Arey W. Thompson, D. M. S. Watson, A. Smith Woodward.

OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

DR. EDWARD C. FRANKLIN, professor of organic chemistry of Leland Stanford Junior University, has been elected, as already announced, president of the American Chemical Society, succeeding Dr. Edgar F. Smith, formerly provost of the University of Peunsylvania.

Dr. Wilder D. Bancroft, of Cornell University, was reelected a director of the society and William Hoskns, consulting chemist, of Chicago, was made a new director of the society. The following councilors-at-large for the period from 1923 to 1925 also were elected: Drs. Roger Adams, University of Illinois; G. N. Lewis, University of California; Ralph H. Me-Kee, Columbia University, and William Mc-Pherson, the Ohio State University.

Dr. Franklin was born at Geary City, Kansas, in 1862. He was graduated from the University of Kansas in 1888 and received his master's degree in 1890. He was a student at the University of Berlin in 1890-91; he received the degree of doctor of philosophy at Johns Hopkins University in 1894. He was a member of the advisory board of the U.S. Bureau of Mines in 1917-18; physical chemist of the U.S. Bureau of Standards and consulting chemist of the Ordnance Bureau of the Army during the war. Dr. Franklin's work on liquid ammonia as an electrolitic solvent is familiar to all chemists. In addition to his university work, he also was in industrial work for a number of years, serving in the sugar industry and also in the gold mining industry. In the latter work he was stationed at Miramar, Costa Rica, in 1897.

Dr. Franklin was chosen from among the four nominees for president of the society who received the largest number of votes from members of the society. The choice among these four was determined by a vote of the councilors. The three other leading candidates were Dr. James F. Norris, of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Professor Samuel S. Parr, of the University of Illinois, and Dr. Charles L. Reece, chemical director of E. I. du Pont de Nemours and Company, of Wilmington, Delaware.

THE HAYDEN AWARD OF THE PHILADEL-PHIA ACADEMY

THE Academy of Natural Sciences of Phildelphia announces the selection of Professor Alfred Lacroix, president of the Geological Society of France, as the recipient of the "Hayden Memorial Geological Award" for 1923. This award was created by a deed of trust made with the academy, on April 11, 1888, by Mrs. Emma W. Hayden, widow of Dr.