then presented to a committee selected by the graduate council and composed of the following members: Chairman, Dr. Elihu Thompson, of West Lynn, Mass., electrical engineer; Mr. Arthur Fairbanks, director of the Museum of Fine Arts, Boston, Mass.; Dr. William Morton Wheeler, director of the Bussey Institution, Boston, Mass.

This committee, after making a thorough study of the achievements of the three candidates proposed by the graduate council, unanimously selected Mr. Benjamin Garver Lamme as the one who should receive the Joseph Sullivant Medal. The medal will be awarded to Mr. Lamme later in the year at a special meeting to be held in honor of the occasion.

INSTALLATION OF THE PRESIDENT OF LEHIGH UNIVERSITY

Before an audience of delegates from other institutions, alumni and undergraduates of Lehigh University and friends of the university which crowded the Packer Memorial Chapel, Dr. Charles Russ Richards, former dean of the College of Engineering of the University of Illinois, was on October 14 inaugurated president of Lehigh University.

It was Founder's Day at Lehigh and on that day commemorating the founding of the university by Judge Asa Packer its presidents have been inaugurated. Dr. Henry R. Price, president of the board of trustees, presided. After the induction address by Bishop Ethelbert Talbot and the greetings from the alumni by Dr. Henry S. Drinker, president emeritus, and from the faculty by Professor John L. Stewart, Dr. Richards delivered an address which indicated his plans for Lehigh's future.

Dr. Richards outlined the influence on human history of discoveries and inventions. He made clear how the lack of scientific knowledge has retarded, sometimes for centuries, the utilization of known forces of nature. He traced the history of our present civilization and indicated the specific discoveries on which it rests. He outlined also the trend of education from the establishment of the University of Alexandria, and argued that industry and education must go hand in hand if we are to be saved in the future from the wasteful methods of the past.

Dr. Richards told his audience that Lehigh, for sixty years a teaching college, was to embark in the great work of engineering research when he stated, "While teaching is the obvious and apparently the chief function of a university, it should be its purpose to place scientific research in a position of equal importance with the work of instruction for the world must largely depend upon it to extend the boundaries of knowledge and to show its applications to the affairs of life."

Lehigh took this occasion to honor some of her distinguished alumni with doctor degrees. The list is as follows:

DOCTOR OF SCIENCE

William Bowie, C.E., '95, M.A., Sc.D., chief of the Division of Geodesy, U. S. Coast and Geodetic Survey.

Morris Llewellyn Cooke, M.E., '95, former commissioner of public works, Philadelphia.

Walter Savage Landis, Met.E., '02, M.S., '06, chief technologist American Cyanamid Company, New York City.

Harlan Sherman Miner, B.S., '88, Sc.D., chief chemist, Welsbach Light Company, Gloucester, N. J.

Harvey Harkness Stock, B.S., '87, E.M., '88, Sc.D., head of the department of mining engineering, University of Illinois.

Richard Hawley Tucker, C.E., '79, astronomer, Lick Observatory, Mt. Hamilton, California.

DOCTOR OF LAWS

Manuel Victor Domenech, C.E., '88, former commissioner of the interior, Porto Rico.

Charles William Macfarlane, C.E., '76, Ph.D., economist and author, Philadelphia.

DOCTOR OF ENGINEERING

Henry Gerber Reist, M.E., '86, mechanical and electrical engineer, General Electric Company, Schenectady, N. Y.

After the inaugural ceremonies a luncheon was served to the guests of the university and later in the afternoon a reception and tea was given to President and Mrs. Richards in Drown Memorial Hall. In the evening the Lehigh Home Club gave a dinner to Dr. and Mrs. Richards in the new Hotel Bethlehem. The principal speakers at this dinner were President David Kinley, of the University of Illinois, and E. G. Grace (Lehigh '99), president of the Bethlehem Steel Corporation.