the classes of science, of letters, and moral and political sciences and of fine arts, contributed summaries of the activities of their several sections of the academy. Later the visitors were received by the king and the queen at the Palace of Laeken, and in the evening a banquet was held at the Hôtel Astoria.

THE ROYAL GEOGRAPHICAL SOCIETY

AT the annual meeting of the Royal Geographical Society on May 29 Lord Ronaldshay was elected president of the society in succession to Sir Francis Younghusband, and the following were elected vice-presidents: Sir Francis Younghusband, Colonel Sir Charles Close, Mr. D. W. Freshfield, Lord Edward Gleichen, Sir T. H. Holdich, and Sir J. Scott Keltie.

The royal medals were presented, the founder's medal being awarded to Lieutenant Colonel C. K. Howard-Bury for his distinguished services in command of the Mount Everest Expedition, 1921, and the patrons' medal to Mr. Ernest de K. Leffingwell, Los Angeles, California, for his surveys and investigations on the coast of northern Alaska. Mr. Oliver B. Harriman, first secretary at the American embassy, on behalf of Mr. Leffingwell, who could not attend, accepted the patrons' medal.

The other awards of the council were made as follows: The Victoria medal to Mr. J. F. Baddeley, for work on the historical geography of Central Asia; the Murchison grant to Mr. Charles Camsell, deputy minister of mines, Canada, for explorations and surveys in northern Canada (accepted, on Mr. Camsell's behalf, by Mr. Peter Larkin, high commissioner for Canada); the Back grant to Khan Bahadur Sher Jang, for surveys on the Indian frontier and in adjacent countries; the Cuthbert Peek grant to Mr. F. H. Melland, for explorations in Northern Rhodesia; and the Gill Memorial to Mr. A. R. R. Boyce, of the Sudan Survey, for triangulations in the Sudan.

The address of the retiring president was chiefly concerned with the Mount Everest Expedition.

SIGMA XI AT UNIVERSITY OF KENTUCKY

The thirty-seventh chapter of Sigma Xi to be known as the Kentucky Chapter was

installed at the University of Kentucky on May 5. The petitioning group numbered seventeen. These were already active members of the society, having been elected to such while connected with other educational institutions.

The installation exercises were conducted by Dr. Henry B. Ward and Dr. Edward Ellery, president and secretary of the national organization. The charge to the chapter was delivered by Dr. Ellery and the symposium was conducted by Dr. Ward.

The following officers were elected:

President: Dr. Paul P. Boyd

Vice-president: Dr. W. D. Funkhouser.

Secretary: Professor E. S. Good. Treasurer: Professor E. N. Fergus.

A banquet was held in the evening at the Phoenix Hotel, Lexington. The chapter had as its guests Dr. Ward, Dr. Ellery, Judge R. C. Stoll, chairman of the executive committee, University of Kentucky, Dr. Glanville Terrell, chairman of the Graduate School, Professor W. S. Anderson, president of the Research Club, Dr. Thomas B. McCartney, acting-president of Transylvania College, Dr. Robert C. Hinton, of Georgetown College, and Dr. Frank L. Rainey, of Center College.

Besides those of the Kentucky Chapter present at the banquet were the following members of the society resident in Lexington: Dr. A. F. Hemmingway, Dr. J. A. Gunton, Professor Mary Brown, Dr. J. A. Herring and Dr. Philip P. Blumenthal.

Dean P. P. Boyd acted as toastmaster and toasts were responded to by Judge Stoll, Dr. Ward, Dr. Ellery and Dr. McCartney.

DEAN OF THE SHEFFIELD SCIENTIFIC SCHOOL

THE Yale Corporation has elected as dean of the Sheffield Scientific School in succession to Director Russell H. Chittenden, Professor Charles Hyde Warren, since 1900 a member of the faculty of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he has been professor of mineralogy since 1915.

The dean-elect of the Sheffield Scientific School served as an assistant in chemistry and mineralogy in that school from 1896 to 1900, studying in the Graduate School during this period and receiving the degree of doctor of