CHAIRMEN OF THE DIVISIONS OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE National Research Council has elected the following chairmen of its divisions for the year 1922-23:

Division of Foreign Relations: Robert A. Millikan, foreign secretary of the National Academy of Sciences, and director of the Norman Bridge Laboratory of Physics, California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, California.

Division of States Relations: H. S. Graves, dean-elect, School of Forestry, Yale University.

Division of Educational Relations: Vernon Kellogg, permanent secretary, National Research Council.

Division of Research Extension: W. M. Corse, formerly general manager of the Monel Metal Products Corporation, Bayonne, New Jersey.

Research Information Service: Robert M. Yerkes, National Research Council, Washington, D. C.

Division of Physical Sciences: William Duane, professor of bio-physics, Harvard University Medical School.

Division of Engineering: Alfred D. Flinn, secretary, Engineering Foundation, 29 West Thirtyninth Street, New York, N. Y.

Division of Chemistry and Chemical Technology: Edward W. Washburn, professor of ceramic chemistry and head of the department of ceramic engineering, University of Illinois.

Division of Geology and Geography: Nevin M. Fenneman, professor of geology and geography, University of Cincinnati.

Division of Medical Sciences: Frederick P. Gay, professor of pathology, University of California.

Division of Biology and Agriculture: F. R. Lillie, professor of embryology, University of Chicago.

Division of Anthropology and Psychology: Raymond Dodge, professor of psychology, Wesleyan University.

THE U. S. COMMISSIONER OF FISHERIES

THE president, acting upon the recommendation of Herbert Hoover, secretary of commerce, has nominated Henry O'Malley to be commissioner of fisheries, effective on May 13, 1922, and this nomination has been confirmed by the Senate. Mr. O'Malley, like his predecessor, Dr. Hugh M. Smith, has had long experience in the bureau's service, having entered in December, 1897, as an apprentice fish-culturist at St. Johnsbury, Vermont, in which place he was born in 1876. From St. Johnsbury he was transferred to the bureau's station at Leadville, Colorado, thence to Baker Lake, Washington. In July, 1903, he was appointed superintendent of the Washington stations; in 1907, of the bureau's work in the Columbia River watershed; in 1913, he was placed in charge of all fish-cultural work on the Pacific coast, with headquarters at Seattle; in 1916, he was made chief of the Division of Fish Culture in Washington and in 1918 placed in charge of all the bureau's activities on the Pacific coast.

The commissioner is responsible for a number of innovations in fish-cultural practices, such as the discovery of the salt-solution process for separating dead fish eggs from the live ones, eliminating the necessity of removing dead eggs by hand, and the practice of holding young salmon beyond the period when the yolksac is absorbed, the wisdom of which has been indicated by the improved run of salmon in such streams.

For the past three years he has spent the entire fishing season in Alaska engaged in comprehensive investigations of the fisheries of this region in conjunction with Dr. Charles H. Gilbert, of Stanford University, the results of which have been published in bureau reports for 1919 and 1920.

In 1916 he was elected president of the Pacific Coast Fisheries Society and in 1918 president of the American Fisheries Society. Mr. O'Malley enters the commissionership with a full acquaintance of the needs of the service and its possibilities for rendering fruitful service in its various phases.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE degree of doctor of science was conferred at the one hundred and sixty-eighth commencement of Columbia University on Dr. Stephen Smith, the university's oldest living graduate, and on Frank Julian Sprague, the electrical engineer.

DR. JOHN J. CARTY, president of the American Telegraph and Telephone Company, re-