President: W. S. Bayley, University of Illinois. Vice-president: W. G. Waterman, Northwestern University.

Secretary: C. Frank Phipps, State Teachers College, DeKalb.

Treasurer: W. F. Schulz, University of Illinois. Librarian: A. R. Crook, State Museum, Springfield.

C. FRANK PHIPPS, Secretary

THE THIRD INTERNATIONAL CONGRESS OF THE HISTORY OF MEDICINE

THE International Society of the History of Medicine was founded in Paris on October 8, 1921. It has for its object the study of the history of medicine in all its branches and the coordination of research work in these subjects. A permanent committee has been established in Paris consisting of delegates appointed by sections of the society in various countries.

The society meets in congress every three years, and it has been decided to hold the next meeting in London from July 17 to 22, 1922. Meetings will be held at the Royal Society of Medicine, the Royal College of Physicians, the Royal College of Surgeons, the Wellcome Historical Medical Museum and elsewhere. There will be special exhibitions of objects connected with the history of medicine, surgery and the allied sciences. The loan of any objects of special interest from members will be greatly appreciated by the executive committee.

Communications are invited from members on subjects connected with the history of medicine in all its branches. The following subjects have been suggested for communication and discussion, but are by no means intended to exclude papers on any subject of general interest in connection with the history of medicine:

1. The principal seats of epidemic and endemic diseases in the Occident and Orient in the Middle Ages, including plague, gangrenous ergotism, leprosy and malaria.

2. The history of anatomy.

3. The revival of medical knowledge during the sixteenth century.

Communications should be addressed to: The General Secretary, Dr. J. D. Rolleston, 21, Alexandra Mansions, King's Road, London, S. W. 3. The other officers are: President of honor, Sir Norman Moore, Bart., M.D.; vice-presidents of honor, Sir D'Arcy Power, K.B.E., F.R.C.S., Professor Ménétrier, Professor Jeanselme, Dr. Tricot-Royer; president of congress, Charles Singer, M.D.; treasurer, W. G. Spencer, O.B.E., M.S.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Croonian lecture was delivered before the Royal Society on June 1, by Dr. T. H. Morgan, professor of experimental zoology in Columbia University. His subject was "The mechanism of heredity."

DR. Ross G. HARRISON, of Yale University, has been elected an honorary member of the Royal Academy of Medicine of Turin.

DR. WILLIAM BATESON, F.R.S., director of the John Innes Horticultural Institution at Merton, Surrey, has been elected a trustee of the British Museum, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Lord Harcourt.

At the quarterly meeting of the Royal College of Physicians at Edinburgh it was resolved to offer its honorary fellowship to Professor Albert Calmette, of the Pasteur Institute, Paris, on account of his distinguished services to medical science.

THE University of St. Andrews will confer the degree of LL.D. on July 7 on Sir P. R. Scott Lang, emeritus professor of mathematics in the university; on Dr. G. R. Marshall, professor of materia medica, University of Aberdeen; and on Sir Harold J. Stiles, regius professor of clinical surgery, University of Edinburgh.

JOHN K. HAYWOOD, chairman of the Insecticide and Fungicide Board of the U. S. Bureau of Chemistry, recently completed a quarter of a century of service at the bureau, and was the recipient of a gold watch from his present and former colleagues.

T. M. BAINS, assistant professor of metallurgy at the Missouri School of Mines and Metallurgy at Rolla, Mo., has accepted the position of geologist with the Moctezuma Copper Company, Pilares de Macodari, Sonora, Mexico.