District No. 1, W. B. Powell, St. Louis; District No. 2, Gardner S. Williams, Ann Arbor, Mich.; District No. 4, W. J. Fisher, York, Pa.; District No. 5, Paul Wright, Birmingham, Ala.; District No. 6, Lloyd B. Smith, Topeka, Kansas; District No. 7, O. H. Koch, Dallas, Texas.

## ASSOCIATESHIP IN THE AMERICAN ASSO-CIATION FOR THE ADVANCEMENT OF SCIENCE

In the By-Laws and Rules of Procedure of the American Association, Article II, Section 2, is the statement that "Associates, on payment of five dollars, may be admitted to the privileges of a meeting, except voting." associateship was planned for those who desire to attend a meeting of the association and to contribute toward the expenses of the meeting but who do not wish to join the organization permanently. Since the adoption of the new constitution, with the new by-laws and rules of procedure, there have been but two meetings, the Chicago meeting of the year 1920-21 and the recent meeting held at Toronto. No associates were registered for the Chicago meeting, but 247 were registered at the last meeting. These were mostly residents of Toronto.

The permanent secretary wishes to call the attention of all members and friends of the association to this, the first entry of associates upon the roll of the association. According to the prescribed rule, associates have all the privileges of the meeting for which they are registered, except voting. These privileges are considered to include the right to present papers at that meeting, but associates do not receive the journal Science, which is sent to members. The funds secured by the payment of associateship fees will be used partly to defray a portion of the expenses of the meeting and partly for sending circulars and invitations to prospective members during the following year. Members will not fail to appreciate the fine spirit shown by associates in making this contribution to the funds available for current expenses. This first roll of associates was secured through the very admirable work of the local subcommittee on membership, Mr. H. V. F. Jones, chairman, and the thanks of the association are especially due to Mr. Jones and the other members. It is planned that future publications of the membership list will include lists of the associates registered for each meeting.

BURTON E. LIVINGSTON,

Permanent Secretary.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

AT the Amherst meeting of the Geological Society of America, Professor Charles Schuchert, of Yale University, was elected president. As vice-presidents were elected: Dr. Henry S. Washington, Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution of Washington; Dr. Robert T. Hill, Los Angeles, California; Dr. W. D. Matthew, of the American Museum of Natural History, New York City; Professor T. L. Walker, of the University of Toronto, and Dr. Edmund Otis Hovey, of the American Museum of Natural History.

THE American Society of Zoologists, meeting at Toronto, elected as president Professor Harris Hawthorne Wilder, of Smith College. Professor Bennet M. Allen, of the University of Kansas, was elected vice-president.

At the New Haven meeting of the American Association of Anatomists, Professor Clarence M. Jackson, of the University of Minnesota, was elected president, and Professor Harold D. Senior, of New York University, was elected vice-president.

JOHN RIPLEY FREEMAN, of Providence, R. I., was elected president of the American Society of Civil Engineers at the first session of its sixty-ninth annual meeting held in New York on January 18. Honorary memberships were conferred upon Charles Prosper Eugene Schneider of Paris, Luigi Luiggi of Rome, Samuel Rea, president of the Pennsylvania Railroad, Howard Swasey and Howard A. Carson.

Dr. Hideyo Noguchi, member of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, was elected to honorary membership in the Society of Dermatology and Venereology of Moscow at its thirtieth annual meeting on October 16.