EMILE CARTAILHAC AND OSCAR MONTELIUS

Professor Emile Cartalhac, of the University of Toulouse, died suddenly on November 25 last, at the age of seventy-six. Professor Cartailhac, besides being a teacher, was a museum curator, and of late years served also as official guide to the local caverns of archæological interest, but he nevertheless found time for extensive field research and publication. As dean of the French prehistorians, he was instrumental not only in giving tremendous impetus to scientific archæology but also in training several of the younger men that still remain to carry on the work.

OSCAR MONTELIUS, former antiquary to the Realm of Sweden, succumbed to pneumonia in Stockholm, on November 4, at the age of seventy-eight. His death marks the close of a most distinguished career, for although primarily in charge of the Swedish archæological collections in the National Museum at Stockholm and thoroughly in love with his task, Professor Montelius concerned himself quite as much with the prehistory of the rest of Europe, as well as of the adjacent portions of Asia and Africa. In many respects his work was complementary to that of the late Gustav Retzius and his writings are characterized by the same breadth and profundity. Montelius did more than any one else toward placing the chronology of the Neolithic and Metal ages on a sound basis. His death, coming so nearly at the same time as that of Professor Emile Cartailhac of France, is a distinct loss to all students of prehistoric archæology.

N. C. Nelson

OFFICERS OF THE BRITISH ASSOCIATION

The following, as we learn from *Nature*, have been appointed presidents and recorders (to whom all communications should be sent) of the different sections of the British Association for the meeting to be held at Hull on September 6-13 next under the presidency of Professor C. S. Sherrington: Section A (Mathematics and Physics): President, Professor G. H. Hardy; Recorder, Professor A. O. Rankine, Imperial College of Science and

Technology, S. W. 7. Section B (Chemistry): President, Principal J. C. Irvine; Recorder, Professor C. H. Desch, University of Sheffield. Section C (Geology): President, Professor P. F. Kendall; Recorder, Dr. A. R. Dwerryhouse, University College, Reading. Section D (Zoology): President, Dr. E. J. Allen; Recorder, Mr. R. D. Laurie, University College, Aberystwyth. Section E (Geography): President, Dr. Marion I. Newbigin; Recorder, Dr. R. N. Rudmose Brown, University of Sheffield. Section F (Economics): President, Professor F. Y. Edgeworth; Recorder, Professor H. M. Hallsworth, Armstrong College, Newcastle-upon-Tyne. Section G (Engineering): President, Professor T. Hudson Beare; Recorder, Professor G. W. O. Howe, Elmswood, Malden, Surrey. Section H (Anthropology): President, Mr. H. J. E. Peake; Recorder, Mr. E. N. Fallaize, Vinchelez, Chase Court Gardens, Enfield, Middlesex. Section I (Physiology): President, Professor E. P. Cathcart; Recorder, Dr. C. Lovatt Evans, National Institute for Medical Research, Mount Vernon, N. W. 3. Section J (Psychology): President. Dr. W. H. R. Rivers; Recorder, Dr. C. Burt, 30 Princess Road, Regent's Park, N. W. 1. Section K (Botany): President, Professor H. H. Dixon; Recorder, Mr. F. T. Brooks, 31 Tenison Avenue, Cambridge. Section L (Education): President, Sir Richard Gregory: Recorder, Mr. D. Berridge, 1 College Grounds. Malvern. Section M (Agriculture): President, The Right Hon. Lord Bledisloe; Recorder, Mr. C. G. T. Morison, School of Rural Economy, Oxford.

OFFICERS OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION

At the Toronto meeting of the council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science there were elected, besides the officers whose names were published in SCIENCE for January 6, the following:

Chairman of Section D: Otto Klotz, director of the Dominion Observatory, Ottawa.

Secretary of Section K: Frederick L. Hoffman (to retire at the end of 1924), Prudential Life Insurance Company of America, Newark, N. J.

Secretary of Section N for 1922: A. J. Goldfarb, College of the City of New York, New York, N. Y.

Members of the Council: J. McKeen Cattell (to retire at the end of 1924), Garrison-on-Hudson, N. Y.; F. G. Cottrell (to retire at the end of 1924), National Research Council, Washington, D. C.; Henry C. Cowles (to retire at the end of 1925), the University of Chicago, and John C. Merriam (to retire at the end of 1925), the Carnegie Institution of Washington.

Members of the Executive Committee: Simon Flexner and W. J. Humphreys were elected to succeed themselves, as members of the executive committee (to retire at the end of 1925).

The following were appointed to membership in the Committee on Grants, to succeed Henry Crew, Joel Stebbins and G. H. Parker, who retired at the end of 1921: E. G. Conklin (to retire at the end of 1925), Princeton University, E. L. Nichols (to retire at the end of 1925), Cornell University), and F. R. Moulton (to retire at the end of 1922), the University of Chicago.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. EDGAR F. SMITH, provost emeritus of the University of Pennsylvania, has been elected an honorary member of the Chemical, Metallurgical and Mining Society of South Africa.

CHARLES W. GOODALE has been awarded the gold medal of the Mining and Metallurgical Society of America for distinguished service in increasing the safety of men in mining and metallurgical operations.

Dr. F. G. COTTRELL, of the National Research Council, has been elected an honorary member of the French Society of Chemical Industry.

THE American Society of Agricultural Engineers has elected A. J. R. Curtiss, of Chicago, president for the coming year.

According to the Journal of the Washington Academy of Sciences, the following Washington scientific men have been appointed members of the technical staff of the American delegation to the Conference on the Limitation of Armament: Dr. L. W. Austin, radio specialist of the Navy Department; Dr. J. H. Dellinger, chief of radio investigations at the

Bureau of Standards; Gen. Amos E. Fries, chief of the Chemical Warfare Service of the Army; Gen. George O. Squier, chief of the Signal Corps of the Army; and Dr. S. W. Stratton, director of the Bureau of Standards.

69

At the recent meeting of the American Association of Anatomists in New Haven, the following officers were elected: President, Clarence M. Jackson, University of Minnesota; Vice-President, Harold D. Senior, New York University; Secretary-Treasurer, Lewis H. Weed, Johns Hopkins University; Members of the Executive Committee: Davenport Hooker, University of Pittsburgh, and Benjamin F. Kingsbury, Cornell University.

CELEBRATIONS were held at Liége on December 4, in honor of the completion of fifty years of scientific work of Professor Leon Frédéricq. A bas-relief portrait of himself in bronze was presented to him, and this will be placed later in the Institute of Physiology at Liége. Representatives of the Universities of Lausanne and of Strasbourg conferred honorary degrees upon Professor Frédéricq.

A DUTCH pharmacist, Dr. H. Baljet, of Arnheim, has been awarded the Davy prize by the University of Geneva for an essay on the dosage of digitalis.

The docent of neurology at the Karolinska Mediko-Kirurgiska Institut at Stockholm, Dr. N. Antoni, has been awarded the Lennmalm prize for 1921 by the Swedish Medical Association.

S. J. Speak has been elected president of the Institution of Mining and Metallurgy, London.

Dr. ROBERT N. NYE, formerly research assistant to Dr. F. B. Mallory, has accepted the position of assistant director of the division of biologic laboratories of the Massachusetts State Department of Public Health.

DR. WILLIAM A. PERLZWEIG has resigned the position of biochemist in the New York branch of the Hygienic Laboratory and has accepted an appointment as chemist to the Medical Clinic of the Johns Hopkins University.