try, died at Cannes, July 27, 1920, in his eightythird year.

M. Jean Jacques Théophile Schloesing, of the Section of Rural Economy, died at Paris, February 8, 1919, in his ninety-fifth year.

M. Yves Delage, of the Section of Anatomy and Zoology, died at Sceaux (dept. Seine) October 7, 1920, at the age of sixty-six years.

M. Adolphe Carnot, Académicien Libre, died June 21, 1920, in his eighty-first year. It is after him that the great radium source, carnotite, has been named.

Of the Foreign Associate Members, the death is announced, in Berlin, of

Simon Schwendener, of Buchs, canton of St. Gall, Switzerland. He was born February 10, 1829, and at the time of his death, May 27, 1920, he was in his ninety-first year.

The following new members were chosen in 1920:

Augustin Mesnager, Section of Mechanics, elected March 1, 1920. Born in Paris June 11, 1862.

Leon Lindet, Rural Economy, chosen March 15, 1920. Born in Paris April 10, 1857.

Maxime Laubeuf, Section of Industry, elected March 22, 1920. Born at Poissy (dept. Seine-et-Oise) November 23, 1864.

Jules Louis Breton, Académicien Libre, elected November 29, 1920. Born at Courrières (dept. Pas-de-Calais) April 1, 1872.

G. F. K.

## THE IOWA LAKE SIDE LABORATORY

TRUSTEES for the Iowa Lake Side Laboratory at Lake Okoboji are to acquire a majority interest in the holdings of the stock company which now owns the property. A reorganization of the business control is to be effected, and owners of stock will be solicited to surrender their shares to the trustees in order that the work of the laboratory may be carried on in the best manner possible.

A committee from the University of Iowa Association has been authorized to secure funds for the repairing and general upkeep of the laboratory premises, and an endowment fund of \$10,000 will be sought for this purpose. Mrs. F. A. Stromsten, of Iowa City, is chairman of the committee, the other members being A. J. Cox and Mrs. Preston C. Coast, of Iowa City; Dr. F. J. Smith, of Milford; and Fred Pownall, of Des Moines.

President Emeritus Thomas H. Macbride, who has been most active in the interests of the laboratory ever since it was established, has resigned his position on the board of trustees. Dr. Macbride has carried practically the entire burden of responsibility for the financial support of the institution, which has attained enviable distinction in recent years through the quality of work done there and the facilities and resource of material which it affords. His place on the board will be taken by Walter M. Davis, of Iowa City, who becomes custodian of property. Mrs. F. A. Stromsten, of Iowa City, was elected to succeed Euclid Sanders, of Iowa City, who has been in Europe for some time. W. O. Finkbine, of Des Moines, remains as chairman of the board, the other two members being C. F. Kuehnle, of Denison, and J. J. McConnell, of Cedar Rapids.

## JENNINGS ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION

At the Harvard Commencement of 1896 Herbert Spencer Jennings, now Henry Walters Professor of Zoology in the Johns Hopkins University, received the Ph.D. in zoology. During the present year his students, teachers, colleagues, and friends have joined in a recognition of the twenty-fifth anniversary of his doctorate. A committee consisting of S. O. Mast, chairman, R. W. Hegner, Raymond Pearl, and Ruth Stocking Lynch, secretary, had charge of the arrangements.

The number of contributors was 135, geographically distributed as follows: Baltimore 31, Washington 9, Philadelphia 9, Northeast 25, South 8, Middle West 14, Far West 27, Canada 1, Germany 5, Holland 1, Switzerland 1, Japan 1, Philippines 2, Hawaii 1.

A sufficient sum of money was subscribed to carry through the following projects:

1. A portrait of Professor Jennings, painted by the well-known Philadelphia artist, Mr. Frank B. A. Linton. This portrait was presented to the trustees of the Johns Hopkins University by Professor A. O. Lovejoy at the Commencement exercises this year, and hung