Arthur Edwin Kennelly, Harvard University.
William George MacCallum, Johns Hopkins University.

Dayton Clarence Miller, Case School of Applied Science.

George Abram Miller, University of Illinois.
Benjamin Lincoln Robinson, Harvard University.
Vesto Melvin Slipher, Lowell Observatory.
Lewis Buckley Stillwell, 100 Broadway, New York,
Thomas Wayland Vaughan, United States Geo-

Donald Dexter Van Slyke, Rockefeller Institute. Henry Stephens Washington, Geophysical Laboratory.

Robert Sessions Woodworth, Columbia University.

Foreign Associates

William Bateson, John Innes Horticultural Institution, Merton Park, Surrey, England.
C. Eijkman, University of Utrecht, Holland.

THE PRINTERS' STRIKE AND THE PUBLICATION OF "SCIENCE"

Science has been issued weekly from the same press without intermission for over twenty-six years, but it is possible that the present number may be delayed. The widespread strike of compositors for a forty-four hour week affects the offices at Lancaster, Easton and Baltimore, in which a large part of the scientific journals of the United States are printed. The printing office will do all in its power to bring out the number at the regular time, and at present the pressmen are at work. In order to get the number through the press articles in type are being used with the exception of a few news notes. This unfortunately requires the postponement of the publication of accounts of the recent meetings of the National Academy of Sciences, the American Chemical Society, the Executive Committee of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the Joint Committee on Conservation and other material of current interest. It may be noted that the advertisements are in type, and advertisers have been requested to continue to use the same copy, so that no sacrifice of reading matter is made for the advertisements. The number is, however, reduced by eight pages to facilitate its publication.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

At the recent meeting of the American Chemical Society at Rochester, Professor Charles F. Chandler and Dr. William H. Nichols were unanimously elected honorary members of the society.

Dr. Simon Flexner, director of the Rocke-feller Institute for Medical Research, has been elected an honorary fellow of The Royal Society of Tropical Medicine and Hygiene of London at a meeting of the council of that society, held on April 8, 1921.

The William H. Nichols medal of the New York section of the American Chemical Society was presented to Professor Gilbert M. Lewis, dean of the department of chemistry of the University of California on May 6. The program was: "The man and his work," remarks by Arthur B. Lamb, John Johnston; presentation of medal by John E. Teeple; acceptance and address, "Color and molecular structure," by Professor Lewis.

The Royal Geographical Society of Great Britain, with the approval of the King, has awarded to Vilhjalmur Stefansson their Founder's Medal for his "distinguished services to the Dominion of Canada in the exploration of the Arctic ocean." The medal is to be presented at the anniversary meeting of the society in London on May 30. Mr. Stefansson will then be on a lecture tour in the western United States and consequently unable to attend, and it is expected that the High Commissioner for Canada will receive the medal on his behalf, as the Stefansson Arctic expedition of 1913-1918, of which this award is a recognition, was a Canadian naval expedition.

DR. STEPHEN SMITH, first president of the American Public Health Association, now ninety-eight years old, will welcome members of the association at the fiftieth annual meeting next November.

DON JOSÉ RODRIGUEZ CARRACIDO, rector of the University of Madrid, has been elected president of the Spanish Association for the Advancement of Science.