ciation, the American Forestry Association, American Newspaper Publishers' Association, National Wholesale Lumber Dealers' Association, Southern Pine Association, Western Forestry and Conservation Association, American Paper and Pulp Association, United States Forest Service, Society for the Protection of New Hampshire Forests, national forest fire protection committee.

## RESOLUTIONS OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL ON THE DEATH OF HENRY A. BUMSTEAD

As has been recorded in SCIENCE Dr. Henry A. Bumstead, professor of physics and director of the Sloane Physical Laboratory at Yale University, and for the past half year on leave from the university as chairman of the National Research Council of Washington, D. C., died suddenly on the train on the night of December 31, while returning from Chicago, where he had been in attendance at the meetings of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and affiliated socieies. The following resolution was unanimously adopted at a special meeting of the Interim Committee of the National Research Council, held on January 3, 1921:

- Resolved, That the National Research Council learns of the death of Dr. Henry A. Bumstead, chairman of the council, with great sorrow and profound sense of loss. Dr. Bumstead in his association with the council had revealed to its officers and members not only a high capacity for administration, and a most loyal fidelity to the aims and work of the council, but also a sweetness of disposition and personal attractiveness which had won for him the devoted and affectionate regard of all of his colleagues in the council. In his death the council and the scientific world lose a man of most eminent attainments, highest character, and lovable personality.
- The National Research Council extends to the bereaved wife and family its deepest sympathy and condolence and wishes to express to them its full appreciation of the great value of the services which Dr. Bumstead rendered it in the period of his association with it and the great loss which it suffers by his untimely death. But may we all remember that "that life is long that answers life's great ends."

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

- Dr. Edgar Fahs Smith, former provost of the University of Pennsylvania, has been elected president of the American Chemical Society. Dr. Smith was president of the society in 1898. Announcement is also made that the ballots of the 15,500 members of the society resulted in the election of the following other officers: Directors, George D. Rosengarten, of Philadelphia, and Dr. Henry P. Talbot, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Councilors, Dr. Carl L. Alsberg, of the Bureau of Chemistry; Dr. Allen Rogers, of Pratt Institute; Dr. Lauder W. Jones, of Princeton University, and Harrison E. Howe, of the National Research Council.
- PROFESSOR C. E. ALLEN, of the department of botany of the University of Wisconsin, was elected president of the Botanical Society of America at the recent meeting in Chicago. He was also named editor-in-chief of The American Journal of Botany.
- THE Perkin medal of the American Section of the Society of Chemical Industry has been awarded to Dr. Willis R. Whitney, research director of the General Electric Company.
- A DISTINGUISHED service medal was awarded at the annual meeting of Gamma Sigma Delta, honorary agricultural society, held in Chicago, to Professor Stephen M. Babcock, inventor of the Babcock milk test and professor emeritus of agricultural chemistry at the University of Wisconsin. Professor Babcock was also made an honorary member of the organization.
- MAJOR LAWRENCE MARTIN, the Gilman Memorial lecturer in Geography at Johns Hopkins University for 1920–21, has been demobilized after three and one half years' service in the United States Army, and has entered the State Department in Washington. By order of the secretary of war, after selection by General Pershing and a board of officers, Major Martin has been placed on the General Staff eligible list.
- Professor Edward S. Morse, of Peabody Academy and Boston Museum of Fine Arts, has been elected an honorary member of the East Asiatic Society.