MEDALS OF THE ROYAL SOCIETY

At the anniversary meeting of the Royal Society on November 30 the medals were awarded in accordance with the announcement already made. The citations of several of the medalists were as follows:

The Rumford medal is awarded to Lord Rayleigh, who is distinguished for his researches into the properties of gases at high vacua, and whose work has opened the way to many valuable investigations. Some years ago Lord Rayleigh made a number of interesting observations on the afterglow in various gases noticeable after the cessation of an electric discharge, and these led in 1911 to his Bakerian lecture on "The Afterglow of Nitrogen." The investigation thus started has proved the subject of much of his recent work, and in a series of most valuable papers he has studied the properties of the gas in which this afterglow is visible.

A Royal medal is awarded to Dr. William Bateson, who is universally recognized as a leading authority on genetics, and has done more than anyone else to put that branch of inquiry on a scientific basis. The work that stands to his name is, however, but a fraction of that which he has inspired wherever biological research is prosecuted. In conjunction with Professor Punnett he worked out in detail one of the earliest cases of sex-linked inheritance. Peculiar association of genetic factors in gameto-genesis had previously been discovered by the same authors and described under the terms "coupling" and "repulsion." In 1911 they published two papers which proved that these phenomena are part of a more general phenomenon of linkage, the orderly nature of which was pointed out. Since these papers appeared the phenomenon has been shown by various workers to be widespread in both animals and plants. Three papers by Bateson and C. Pellew record a discovery of high interest and importance, viz., that the germcells of the same plant may vary in their genetic properties. It is further pointed out that the variation proceeds in an orderly way from the base of the plant to the apex. The conception is a novel one, and is bound to have great influence on the development of genetical theory.

The Darwin medal is awarded to Professor Roland Harry Biffen, who has worked out the inheritance of practically all the obvious characters of wheat and barley. Perhaps his best-known work is that on the inheritance of strength in wheat and on the inheritance of susceptibility and resistance to yellow rust in wheat. Biffen's activity is not by any means to be measured by his published work. Two of his new wheats—Little Joss, which owes its value to its immunity from rust, and Yeoman, which combines high yield with first-class baking quality—are among the most popular wheats in the country, and together account for something like a third, or even a half, of the wheat erop of England.

The Hughes medal is awarded to Professor Owen Williams Richardson for his researches on the passage of electricity through gases, and especially for those relating to the emission of electrons from hot bodies—a subject which Professor Richardson has made his own and christened "thermionics." The subject is of great industrial as well as of scientific importance.

THE PHILADELPHIA ACADEMY OF NATURAL SCIENCES

At the annual meeting of The Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, held December 21, 1920, the following officers, councillors and members of the committee on accounts were elected to serve during 1921.

President: John Cadwalader, LL.D.

- Vice-Presidents: Edwin G. Conklin, Ph.D.; Henry Skinner, M.D.
- Recording Secretary: James A. G. Rehn.
- Corresponding Secretary: J. Percy Moore, Ph.D.
- Treasurer: George Vaux, Jr.
- Librarian: Edward J. Nolan, M.D.
- Curators: Witmer Stone, A.M., Sc.D.; Henry A. Pilsbry, Sc.D.; Henry Tucker, M.D.; Spencer Trotter, M.D.
- Councillors to Serve Three Years: Charles B. Penrose, M.D.; Charles Morris; William E. Hughes, M.D.; Roswell C. Williams, Jr.
- Councillor to Fill an Unexpired Term-1921 to 1922: Milton J. Greenman, M.D.
- Committee on Accounts: Charles Morris; Samuel N. Rhodes; John G. Rothermel; Thomas S. Stewart, M.D.; Walter Horstmann.

At the meeting of the academy held November 16, 1920, the following was adopted:

Resolved: That in recognition of the exceptionally long period (covering 58 years) of his service to the academy, of his undeviating loyalty to its interests, and of the geniality of manner that endeared him to members and visitors alike, Dr. Edward J. Nolan be, upon the election of his suc-