THE AMERICAN JOURNAL OF HYGIENE

This journal published by the Johns Hopkins Press and supported by the DeLamar Fund of the Johns Hopkins University will be devoted to the publication of papers representing the results of original investigations in the domain of hygiene, using the term in the broadest sense to cover all applications of the mathematical, physical, chemical, medical and biological sciences to the problems of personal and public hygiene. At least six numbers, corresponding to a volume of about 600 pages, will be issued annually, beginning with January, 1921. Investigations of unusual length will be published in a series of supplementary monographs.

Dr. William H. Welch is the editor with Dr. Charles E. Simon as managing editor. They will have the assistance of the following:

Herman M. Biggs, Health Department, State of New York,

Carroll G. Bull, school of hygiene, Johns Hopkins University.

William W. Cort, school of hygiene, Johns Hopkins University.

William W. Ford, school of hygiene, Johns Hopkins University.

Simon Flexner, Rockefeller Institute, New York.
Wade Hampton Frost, school of hygiene, Johns
Hopkins University.

Frederick P. Gay, University of California.

Robert W. Hegner, school of hygiene, Johns Hopkins University.

William H. Howell, school of hygiene, Johns Hopkins University.

Edwin O. Jordan, University of Chicago.

Charles A. Kofoid, University of California.

Graham Lusk, Cornell University Medical School. Elmer V. McCollum, school of hygiene, Johns Hopkins University.

William H. Park, Health Department, New York City.

George W. McCoy, hygienic laboratory, U. S. Public Health Service.

Raymond Pearl, school of hygiene, Johns Hopkins University.

Milton J. Rosenau, Harvard University Medical School.

Frederick F. Russell, International Health Board. Theobald Smith, Rockefeller Institute, Princeton. Edward R. Stitt, U. S. Naval Medical School. Victor C. Vaughan, University of Michigan. Charles-Edward A. Winslow, Yale University. Hans Zinsser, College of Physicians and Surgeons, New York.

THE YALE FOREST SCHOOL

On December 21 and 22 the alumni and former students of the Yale Forest School will celebrate the 20th anniversary of its founding. In September, 1900, this school first opened its doors for the training of professional foresters. The school was founded by Gifford Pinchot, forester in the Department of Agriculture, to provide trained foresters for employment in the U.S. Forest Service, with the ultimate purpose of administering these National Forest lands. At that time and for five years thereafter these forests were in the hands of the General Land Office of the Interior Department, but in 1905 they were transferred to the Department of Agriculture, and the personnel of the Forest Service, recruited partly from the men trained at Yale, took hold. On Mr. Pinchot's retirement in 1910, he was succeeded by Henry S. Graves, under whom the Yale School has been built up. When Mr. Graves resigned in 1919, his successor was W. B. Greeley, one of the earlier graduates of the Yale School.

Of 513 men who have received professional training at the Yale School, 97 are still employed by the Forest Service. Of these, 12 are engaged in research, and 85 in administration. Thirty-eight, nearly half, of these men are now in the office at Washington or in the seven district offices into which the National Forest administration is divided, and have direct charge of the general policies of the service in those districts. Twenty-six are supervisors, each in charge of a National Forest whose area averages over a million acres. One of these supervisors, in Alaska, controls twenty million acres.

There are now twelve forest schools which give more or less adequate professional training in forestry by devoting four to five years of schooling to this subject, and through a faculty sufficiently large to permit of subdivision of teaching and thus provide ade-

quate instruction. Of these twelve schools, ten are under the direction of Yale men, and eleven have Yale graduates in their faculties. In addition, forestry is taught as a subject at four other institutions by Yale graduates. In all, forty-one men from this institution are engaged in training professional foresters in America.

POSTBELLUM REORGANIZATION OF THE IN-TERNATIONAL COMMISSION ON ZOOLOG-ICAL NOMENCLATURE

The results of the balloting in the reorganization of the International Commission on Zoological Nomenclature have been announced as follows:

Class of 1922 (elected in 1913):

Dr. J. A. Allen, New York, N. Y.

Dr. J. A. Bather, London, England.

M. Ph. Dautzenberg, Paris, France.

Dr. W. E. Hoyle, Cardiff, Wales.

Dr. K. Jordan, Tring, Eng.

Professor H. Kolbe, Berlin, Germany.

Class of 1925 (newly elected, vice Class of 1916):

Dr. D. S. Jordan, Palo Alto, Calif.

Professor A. Handlirsch, Vienna, Austria.

Professor R. Monticelli, Naples, Italy.

Dr. E. Simon, Paris, France.

Dr. H. Skinner, Philadelphia, Pa.

Dr. L. Stejneger, Washington, D. C.

Class of 1928 (newly elected, vice Class of 1919):

Professor C. Apstein, Berlin, Germany.

Dr. E. J. O. Hartert, Tring, England.

Dr. Geza Horvath, Budapest, Hungary.

Professor Louis Roule, Paris, France.

Dr. C. W. Stiles, Washington, D. C.

No majority was obtained for the vacancies caused by the death of Commissioner Blanchard and by the resignation of Commissioner Roule, accordingly a new vote is being taken. Each class consists of six commissioners, elected to serve nine years and selected from the zoological profession of the world at large.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE address of the retiring president of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, to be given at the opening general session at Chicago, on the evening of December 27, by Dr. Simon Flexner, director of the

laboratories of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research, will be on "Twenty-Five Years of Bacteriology-A Fragment of Medical Research." There will be two other general sessions at the Chicago meeting planned to be of interest not only to all scientific workers and all members of the association, but also to the general public. One of these will be to an illustrated lecture on "Mount Katmai and the Valley of Ten Thousand Smokes," dealing with the volcanic region of Mount Katmai, Alaska, by Dr. Robert F. Griggs, of the Katmai Expeditions, National Geographic Society. The other will be an illustrated lecture on "High-Power Fluorescence and Phosphorescence," by Professor Robert W. Wood, of the physics department of the Johns Hopkins University.

The freedom of the city of Edinburgh, where he was born in 1847, was conferred upon Dr. A. Graham Bell on November 30.

THE authorities of Guayaquil have ordered that a tablet be placed in the bacteriologic laboratory of the Public Health Department of Guayaquil to commemorate the discovery of the causative organism of yellow fever. The inscription reads as follows: "In this laboratory of the Public Health Service, the prominent Japanese bacteriologist, Hideyo Noguchi, member of the Rockefeller Institute, discovered the yellow fever organism, July 24, 1919."

At the annual meeting of the American Ornithological Union held recently in Washington, Dr. Witmer Stone of the Philadelphia Academy of Natural Sciences was elected president.

Honorary membership in the Cooper Ornithological Club has been conferred upon Florence Merriam Bailey (Mrs. Vernon Bailey). The present honorary members roll of the club contains seven names: Robert Ridgway, elected in 1905; Henry W. Henshaw, 1919; C. Hart Merriam, 1909; J. A. Allen 1910; Frank Stephens, 1912; Edward W. Nelson, 1917; and Florence Merriam Bailey, 1920. Each of these ornithologists