## SCIENTIFIC SOCIETIES MEETING AT CHICAGO

THE following national scientific societies will meet at Chicago during convocation week in affiliation with the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The name of the president is followed by the name of the secretary.

- American Mathematical Society: Dr. F. N. Cole secretary.
- Mathematical Association of America: Dr. David Eugene Smith, Dr. W. D. Cairns.
- American Astronomical Society: Dr. Frank Schlesinger, Dr. Joel Stebbins.
- American Physical Society: Professor J. S. Ames, Dr. Davton C. Miller.
- American Meteorological Society: Dr. Robert DeC. Ward, Dr. Chas. E. Brooks.
- American Metric Association: Mr. Howard Richards, Jr., sec'y.
- Optical Society of America: Dr. F. K. Richtmyer, Dr. P. D. Foote.
- Geological Society of America: Dr. I. C. Morgan, Dr. E. O. Hovey.
- Association of American Geographers: Dr. Herbert E. Gregory, Dr. Richard E. Dodge.
- National Council of Geography Teachers: Professor R. H. Whitbeck, Professor Geo. J. Miller.
- Paleontological Society of America: Dr. F. B. Loomis, Dr. R. S. Bassler.
- American Society of Naturalists: Dr. Jacques Loeb, Dr. A. Franklin Shull.
- American Society of Zoologists: Dr. Gilman A. Drew, Dr. W. C. Allee,
- Entomological Society of America: Dr. J. M. Aldrich, Sec'y.
- American Association of Economic Entomologists: Dr. Wilmon Newell, Mr. A. F. Burgess.
- American Microscopical Society: Professor T. W. Galloway, Dr. Paul S. Welch.
- Wilson Ornithological Club: Dr. R. M. Strong, Mr. Albert F. Ganier.
- Botanical Society of America: Dr. N. L. Britton, Professor J. R. Schramm.
- American Phytopathological Society: Dr. W. A. Orton, Dr. G. R. Lyman.
- Ecological Society of America: Dr. Barrington Moore, Professor A. O. Weese.
- American Society for Horticulture Science: W. H. Alderman, Dr. C. P. Close.
- Association of Official Seed Analysts: Edgar Brown, A. L. Stone.

- American Nature Study Society: J. A. Drushel, Mrs. A. B. Comstock.
- American Physiological Society: Professor W. P. Lombard, Dr. C. W. Greene.
- American Society of Biological Chemists: Dr. Stanley R. Benedict, Professor Victor C. Myers.
- American Society for Experimental Pathology: Dr. William H. Park, Dr. H. T. Karsner.
- American Society for Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics: Dr. A. S. Loevenhart, Dr. E. D. Brown.
- American Society of Bacteriologists: Dr. Chas. Krumwiede, Dr. A. Parker Hitchens.
- American Anthropological Association: Dr. Clark Wissler, Dr. Alfred M. Tozzer.
- American Folk-Lore Society: Dr. Charles Peabody, Sec'y.
- American Psychological Association: Dr. Shepherd I. Franz, Dr. E. G. Boring.
- American Association of University Professors: Professor Edward Capps, Professor H. W. Tyler.
- Society of Sigma Xi: Dr. C. E. McClung, Dr. H. B. Ward.
- Gamma Alpha Graduate Fraternity: Dr. J. R. Musselman, Dr. A. H. Wright.
- Gamma Sigma Delta: Dr. C. H. Eckles, Dr. L. H. Pammel.
- Phi Kappa Phi Fraternity: Dr. J. S. Stevens, Dr. L. H. Pammel.

## CENTENARY OF THE MEDICAL COLLEGE OF THE UNIVERSITY OF CINCINNATI

ON Saturday, November 6, the Medical College celebrated the centennial of its founding. One hundred years ago the Medical College of Ohio received its charter from the state with Dr. Daniel Drake, whose name is written deeply in the annals of American medical history, as its first president. The Medical College of the University was the first medical school established west of the Alleghenies and is the third oldest in the country, Harvard and Pennsylvania alone taking precedence.

The college, then called the Medical College of Ohio, had its beginning in a little room above a drug store on Main street. Dr. Daniel Drake, the father of the college, graduated the first class of twenty-four students from this little room in 1821.

In 1896 the Ohio College became the med-

ical department of the University of Cincinnati, and in 1909 the Miami Medical College also become a part of the university.

The building of the present medical college and the city hospital was largely the achievement of Dr. Christian R. Holmes, through whose efforts the University of Cincinnati Medical College has taken front rank in medical education.

At the exercises on November 6, Dr. J. C. Oliver gave a historical sketch of the college and Dr. William T. Sedgwick, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, spoke on the relationship of medicine to public health. Dr. Joseph Ransohoff reviewed work of Drake and Holmes and other teachers in the college. Following the addresses, honorary degrees were conferred, and a portrait in oil of Dr. Christian R. Holmes was unveiled.

At the banquet in the evening the principal address was made by the British Ambassador, Sir Auckland Geddes, formerly professor of anatomy at McGill University. President Frederick C. Hicks was the toastmaster and other speakers were: Hon. John Galvin, Judge John Barton Payne, Dr. James R. Angell, Dr. Charles R. Stockard and Dr. Louis Schwab.

Honorary degrees conferred were as follows: Doctor of laws, James Rowland Angell, President of the Carnegie Foundation; Mrs. Mary Muhlenberg Emery; Sir Auckland Geddes; Ludwig Hektoen; professor of pathology, University of Chicago; Christian R. Holmes; Frederick S. Novy, professor of bacteriology, University of Michigan; Hon. John Barton Payne, secretary of the interior; Joseph Ransohoff, professor of surgery, London; William Thompson Sedgwick, professor of biology and public health, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Louis Schwab, physician. Doctor of science: Charles Cassidy Bass, professor of experimental medicine, Tulane University; Ross Granville Harrison, professor of comparative anatomy, Yale University; Dean DeWitt Lewis, professor of surgery, University of Chicago; Robert Williamson Lovett, professor of orthopaedic surgery, Harvard Medical School; Elmer Vernes McCollum, professor of chemical hygiene,

Johns Hopkins University; William Snow Miller, University of Wisconsin; Charles R. Stockard, professor of anatomy, Cornell Medical College; Henry B. Ward, professor of geology, University of Illinois; John C. Webster, professor of gynecology, University of Chicago; Edwin O. Jordan, professor of bacteriology, University of Chicago.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE American Society of Mechanical Engineers, which will hold its annual meeting from December 7 to 10, in the Engineering Societies' Building, New York City, has arranged a memorial program in honor of Dr. John Alfred Brashear, scientific man and maker of astronomical instruments, who died last April in Pittsburgh at the age of eighty years. The principal eulogy of Dr. Brashear will be delivered by Dr. Henry S. Pritchett, president of the Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching.

DR. WILLIAM C. BRAISTED, surgeon-general, U. S. Navy, and president of the American Medical Association, has been awarded the Navy distinguished service medal for meritorious service during the war.

A PORTRAIT of Dr. William S. Miller, professor of anatomy in the University of Wisconsin Medical School, has been formally presented to the university at exercises held in Science Hall. The portrait was painted by Christian Abrahamson and is the gift of Dr. Miller's colleagues, friends in the medical profession, and former students.

DR. BERNARD L. WYATT, of the Rockefeller Institute, has been made a knight of the Legion of Honor of the French Republic in recognition of his services in organizing the French campaign against tuberculosis.

PROFESSOR T. W. EDGEWORTH DAVID, professor of geology in the University of Sydney, has been appointed a knight commander of the Order of the British Empire for services in connection with the war.

PROFESSOR F. O. Bower has been elected president of the Royal Society of Edinburgh