be an excellent likeness, was unveiled. Professor Gravis (botany), M. Lameere (president of the Belgian Royal Academy of Science), Professor Van der Stricht (Ghent), Professor Sarolea (Edinburgh), and Professor Ditmas, successor to the late professor, delivered addresses containing references to the epoch-making researches of the great embryologist and his work upon fecundation and cell reproduction. The speaker who drew the greatest applause was Van der Stricht, who, while pleading for the University of Ghent, insisted upon it retaining its French character as opposed to a purely Flemish institution. When he had finished his address the Rector, rising amidst the applause of the audience, kissed the distinguished Fleming upon both cheeks. Afterwards the audience proceeded to the front entrance, where the full-sized statue in bronze was unveiled. A luncheon, attended by several of the delegates and the rector of the university, followed.

THE ROCKEFELLER INSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH

THE board of scientific directors of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research announces the election of Dr. Winthrop J. V. Osterhout as a member of the board of scientific directors to succeed Dr. Theodore C. Janeway, deceased.

The following promotions and appointments are announced:

- Dr. Alfred E. Cohn, hitherto an associate member in medicine, has been made a member.
- Dr. Peyton Rous, hitherto an associate member in pathology and bacteriology, has been made a member.
- Dr. Donald D. Van Slyke, hitherto an associate member in chemistry, has been made a member.
- Dr. Francis G. Blake, hitherto an associate in medicine, has been made an associate member.
- Dr. John H. Northrop, hitherto an associate in experimental biology, has been made an associate member.
- Dr. James H. Austin, hitherto an assistant in medicine, has been made an associate.
- Dr. Harry W. Graybill, hitherto an assistant in the department of animal pathology, has been made an associate.

Dr. William C. Stadie, hitherto an assistant in medicine, has been made an associate.

The following have been made assistants:

- Miss Helen L. Fales (chemistry).
- Dr. Philip D. McMaster (pathology and bacteriology).
- Miss Marion L. Orcutt (animal pathology).

The following appointments are announced:

- Dr. Harry Clark, associate member in pathology and bacteriology.
- Dr. Pierre L. du Nouy, associate member in experimental surgery.
- Dr. Paul H. de Kruif, associate in pathology and bacteriology.
- Dr. Lloyd D. Felton, associate in pathology and bacteriology.
- Dr. Rudolf W. Glaser, associate in the department of animal pathology.
- Dr. Carl A. L. Binger, assistant in medicine.
- Dr. Ralph H. Boots, assistant in medicine.
- Dr. Louis A. Mikeska, assistant in chemistry.
- Dr. Charles P. Miller, Jr., assistant in medicine.
- Dr. Eugene V. Powell, assistant in X-ray.
- Dr. Leslie T. Webster, assistant in pathology and bacteriology.
- Dr. Goronwy O. Broun, fellow in pathology and bacteriology.
- Miss Katharine M. Dougherty, fellow in pathology and bacteriology.
- Mr. Thomas J. Le Blanc, fellow in pathology and bacteriology.
- Dr. Giovanni Martinaglia, fellow in the department of animal pathology.
- Mr. Henry S. Simms, fellow in chemistry.

Dr. Marshall A. Barber, hitherto an associate in pathology and bacteriology, has accepted a position with the U. S. Public Health Service to do field work in the Malaria Research Laboratory, Memphis, Tennessee.

Miss Angelia M. Courtney, hitherto an associate in chemistry, has accepted an appointment to do chemical work in the Medical School of the University of Toronto.

Dr. Carl Ten Broeck, hitherto an associate in the Department of Animal Pathology, has accepted an appointment as associate professor of bacteriology with the Peking Union Medical College.

Mr. Earl P. Clark, hitherto an assistant in

chemistry, has accepted a position with the Bureau of Standards, Washington, D. C.

Dr. Ferdinand H. Haessler, hitherto an assistant in pathology and bacteriology, has accepted an appointment as resident pathologist in the Department for Nervous and Mental Diseases in the Pennsylvania Hospital at Philadelphia.

Dr. Arthur B. Lyon, hitherto an assistant in medicine, has resigned to enter private practise.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE University of Wisconsin has conferred the degree of doctor of laws on Dr. Alonzo E. Taylor, professor of physiological chemistry, at the University of Pennsylvania, and the degree of doctor of science on Dr. Joel Stebbins, professor of astronomy at the University of Illinois.

THE degree of doctor of science was conferred on Dr. C. C. Adams, director of the Roosevelt Wild Life Forest Experiment Station at the college of forestry of Syracuse University by Illinois Wesleyan University, on the twenty-fifth anniversary of its founding.

PROFESSOR JOHN W. TOWNEY, dean of the Yale Forest School received the degree of LL.D., at the commencement exercises of the New York State College of Forestry at Syracuse University.

THE University of Vermont has conferred the degree of LL.D., on Dr. Edward G. Spaulding, professor of philosophy in Princeton University.

THE University of St. Andrews has conferred the degree of LL.D., on Dr. Leon Fredericq, for nearly forty years professor of pathology in the University of Liége, Belgium; on Mr. W. J. Matheson, president of the biological laboratory of the Brooklyn Institute, and scientific adviser in chemistry to the Board of Health for the city of New York, and on Dr. Norman Walker, inspector of anatomy for Scotland and direct representative of the profession in Scotland on the General Medical Council, and on Dr. Norman Kemp, Smith professor of logic and metaphysics at the University of Edinburgh.

THE Association of American Physicians has elected as honorary members: Sir Clifford Allbutt, University of Cambridge, M. Roux, until recently director of the Pasteur Institute, Paris, Professor Heger of Brussels, and Professor Marchiafava of Rome.

At the meeting of the Linnean Society on May 27 the gold medal of the society was handed by the president to Sir Ray Lankester, to whom it had been awarded by the president and council.

DR. J. G. ADAMI, vice-chancellor of the University of Liverpool, and lately Strathcona professor of pathology and bacteriology in McGill University, has been elected to an honorary fellowship at Christ's College, Cambridge, of which he was formerly a scholar.

DR. E. F. LADD, president of the North Dakota Agricultural College, and previously professor of chemistry, has been nominated by the Republican party for the senate in place of Senator Gronna. Dr. Ladd was the candidate of the Non-Partisan League.

DR. HENRY KRAEMER, dean of the school of pharmacy of the University of Michigan, has resigned. He will continue his investigations on the cultivation of medicinal plants and the nature and distribution of color in plants.

DR. E. F. NORTHRUP has resigned from Princeton University as assistant professor of physics, having been elected vice-president and technical adviser of the recently organized Ajax Electrothermic Corporation, of Trenton, N. J., which manufacturers the high frequency induction furnace which he developed in the Palmer Physical Laboratory.

Dr. E. W. GUDGER, after fourteen years service as professor of biology in the North Carolina College for Women, Greensboro, N. C., has resigned. During the coming year he will be at the American Museum of Natural History, associated with Dr. Bashford Dean as editor of Volume III. of the Bibliography of Fishes, Volumes I. and II. of which have already appeared.