logical Museum in San Diego, was elected president of the Southwestern Division; Elliott C. Prentiss, M.D., of El Paso, Texas, was elected vice-president and chairman of the executive committee; and Dr. A. E. Douglass, of the University of Arizona, was elected secretary and treasurer.

The executive committee in its membership besides the three officers just mentioned consists of Dr. John D. Clark, Albuquerque; A. L. Flagg, Phoenix; Fabian Garcia, Mesilla Park; Arthur Notman, Bisbee; Richard S. Trumbull, El Paso; Milton Updegraff, Prescott; and Charles T. Vorhies, Tucson.

A constitution was adopted. The area included in this Division will be Arizona, New Mexico and West Texas.

Dr. Edgar L. Hewett, the newly elected president of the Southwestern Division, gave a lecture entitled "Our Place in Civilization," at the University of Arizona, Tucson, on April 28 and at El Paso, Texas, on April 30. In connection with the formation of this division also Dr. A. E. Douglass, of the University of Arizona, gave a lecture entitled "The Big Tree and its Story," in Phoenix, Arizona on April 1.

THE RESIGNATION OF PRESIDENT DRINKER OF LEHIGH UNIVERSITY

DR. HENRY S. DRINKER has addressed to his fellow-alumni of Lehigh University, the following letter:

I have felt for some time and have so stated, informally, to the members of our board of trustees, that as I reach the age of seventy this year, it would be the part of wisdom for me to retire from the presidency of the university. I have therefore tendered my resignation to take effect at the close of the commencement exercises on June 15th next. So far as I know, I am in perfect health and in good strength, but I wish to retire while my friends still feel they desire my services to continue. I am not willing to hold on for some time, as I might do, and then feel that increasing years and failing powers compel my retirement.

From the time of my graduation in June, 1871, I have been devoted to the service of the university's interests, and have served as secretary of the alumni, president of the alumni, alumnus trustee, trustee and president, and now in proposing to drop out of active presidential duties, I have no thought of lessening my interests in the alma mater, nor is my retirement from the presidency prompted by any thought except that I have accomplished the things for which I came here, and I now wish to see the leadership of the university pass into the hands of a younger man, one qualified by educational training and actual large experience in educational work, and possessing marked executive ability. I am satisfied that the university has reached a stage in its existence requiring for its leadership and guidance, a man possessing these characteristics.

It has been my privilege to bring to the service of the university energy, devotion and business experience. It was thought at the time of my election, when the university was in financial strain, and in need of greater facilities in plant and equipment and a larger teaching force, that the energies of its friends should be directed to these ends, and I was asked to undertake the task. To-day, with our plant in greatly improved shape, with our faculty increased from 15 in 1905, to 33 in 1920, the entire teaching force raised from 57 to .89, with our financial situation greatly improved and comparing favorably with that of our competitors, our present need is, as above stated, for a man experienced and trained in educational methods, and with good executive ability; I feel content in the knowledge that our board of trustees will well consider the situation, and fittingly serve our university's needs.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Ar the recent meeting of the National Academy of Sciences the following foreign associates were elected: Frank Dawson Adams, Mc-Gill University; Marie Ennemond Camille Jordan, Collège of France; François Antoine Alfred Lacroix, Musée d'Histoire Naturelle, Paris; Heike Kamerlingh Onnes, University of Leyden; Sir David Prain, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, Surrey; Santiago Ramon y Cajal, University of Madrid.

THE National Academy of Sciences has recommended to Columbia University that the Barnard medal be conferred on Albert Einstein "for highly original and fruitful development of the fundamental concepts of physics through the application of mathematics." The Agassiz medal has been awarded to Admiral C.