was called by Mr. Edward Foster, who had received assurances of support from about twenty-five entomological workers. Ten persons were present. They heartily endorsed the plan, and favored the organization of a society to be known as the Louisiana Entomological Society, to be domiciled at the Natural History Building of the Louisiana State Museum, Jackson Square, New Orleans. A committee on constitution was elected, and the next meeting was placed at April 2.

On that date the first regular meeting was held and the constitution was adopted. The following officers were elected: President, Mr. Edward Foster, state nursery inspector; Vice-President, Professor O. W. Rosewall, professor of entomology, Louisiana State University; Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. T. E. Holloway, of the U.S. Bureau of Entomology. An executive committee composed of the officers with the addition of Messrs. O. K. Courtney, of the Federal Horticultural Board, and Charles E. Smith and T. H. Cutrer, both of the U.S. Bureau of Entomology, was provided. It was decided that meetings are to be held on the first Fridays of February, April, June, October and December, the June meeting to be a Field Day, and the December meeting to be the annual meeting. The dues were placed at \$1.00 per annum. Any person interested in the science of entomology is eligible for membership.

Mr. Robert M. Glenk, curator of the museum, very kindly placed at the disposal of the society a large and well-lighted lecture room, library and laboratory space, a moving picture outfit, and financial assistance in publishing the proceedings of the society.

> T. E. HOLLOWAY, Secretary-Treasurer

THE SOUTHWESTERN GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY

At the annual meeting of the Southwestern Geological Society held at Dallas, Texas, on March 19, Robert T. Hill of Dallas was reelected president of that organization. Other officers elected were Charles E. Decker, of the University of Oklahoma, and William F. Kennedy, vice-presidents; Ellis W. Shuler, of the Southern Methodist University of Dallas, secretary, and R. B. Whitehead, treasurer. Members of the council are John A. Udden, Jerry Newby, Dr. H. P. Bybee, of the University of Texas, W. E. Wrather and D. W. Ohern.

Following the meeting the annual dinner was held in the roof garden of the Adolphus Hotel. More than 100 members of the society were present. Dr. George Otis Smith, of Washington, D. C., director of the United States Geological Survey; Dr. I. C. White of Morgantown, W. Va., president of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists were guests at the dinner.

This organization now numbers over 130 members and is doing much good in getting together the various geological workers in the southwest.

THE AMERICAN ELECTROCHEMICAL SOCIETY

THE American Electrochemical Society held its thirty-seventh meeting at Boston and Cambridge on April 8, 9 and 10. The members were welcomed by Professor H. P. Talbot, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The annual address by the president, Dr. Wilder D. Bancroft, of Cornell University, lieutenant-colonel in the United States Army, was on "Contact Catalysis." It was followed by a symposium of "Colloid Chemistry."

Summarizing the report from the board of directors, the secretary, Professor J. W. Richards, said that the directors had protested against the abolition of the Chemical Warfare Service. The membership of the association has been materially increased during the year; it was 1,903 on January 1, 1919, and 2,209 on January 1, 1920, and is now 2,307. The treasury of the organization also is in a healthy condition, with \$13,000 invested, largely in government bonds, and \$4,000 cash assets.

Officers have been elected as follows: President, Walter S. Landis, chief technologist of the American Cyanamid Company of New York; vice-presidents, Dr. John A. Mathews, president and general manager of the Halcomb Steel Company of Syracuse. N. Y., Lewis E. Saunders, vice-president of the Norton Company in Worcester, and Arthur T. Hinckley, chemist for the National Carbon Company at Niagara Falls, N. Y. Managers elected were Dr. Colin G. Fink, research director of the Chile Exploration Company of New York; Acheson Smith, vicepresident and general manager of the Acheson Graphite Company of Niagara Falls, and H. B. Coho of the United Lead Company of New York; treasurer, Pedro G. Salmon, of Philadelphia, and secretary, Dr. Joseph W. Richards, professor of metallurgy at the Lehigh University, Bethlehem, Pa.

FIFTIETH ANNIVERSARY OF THE WISCONSIN ACADEMY

THE celebration of the fiftieth anniversary of the founding of the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters will be the occasion of an important gathering at the University of Wisconsin on April 23. Professor T. C. Chamberlin, professor emeritus of geology at the University of Chicago, will give an address on "The founding of the Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts and Letters," at an all-university convocation in the morning. Professor Chamberlin is one of the two or three living members who helped to establish the academy in 1870 for the purpose of preserving the scientific studies of the state. He was then professor of science at Whitewater Normal School. He was president of the University of Wisconsin from 1887-92, when he became professor of geology at the University of Chicago. The regular business meeting of the academy will be held in the morning, April 23, an alluniversity convocation will be held in the afternoon, and a banquet in the evening.

President E. A. Birge, of the University of Wisconsin, will preside at the afternoon meeting. Professor John M. Coulter, of the University of Chicago, will speak on "The relation of the local academy to the national organization," and Professor C. E. Allen, of the University of Wisconsin, will speak on "The proposed plan of affiliation of the local academies with national organizations."

The Wisconsin Academy was the first important means in the state of gathering scientific material and has preserved it in annual volumes, published at state expense. An anniversary volume of the proceedings, containing the papers of the members, will be published as the twenty-first volume of the *Transactions* of the academy.

A bronze medal commemorating the 50th anniversary of the founding of the academy is to be struck for the anniversary meeting. The medal will bear on its face the portraits of Dr. Increase A. Lapham, pioneer archeologist and antiquarian, Philo R. Hoy, naturalist and antiquarian whose collection of birds is in the Racine Public Library, George W. Peckham, authority on certain groups of spiders whose collection of the Attidæ species is in the Milwaukee Public Museum, Professor R. D. Irving, geologist and at one time head of the U. S. Geological Survey in the northwestern states, and Professor William F. Allen, authority on Roman history and antiquities. All were prominent in the early history of the academy. Under the portraits will appear the words, "Wisconsin Academy of Sciences. Arts and Letters, 1870–1920, Natural Species Ratioque." The obverse will bear the figure of Minerva, holding the lamp of learning. and the words "Naturæ Species Ratioque."

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

DR. JOHN ALFRED BRASHEAR, of Pittsburgh, distinguished as a maker of astronomical and physical instruments and an astronomer, died on April 9, in his eightieth year.

At the recent commemoration day exercises at the Johns Hopkins University, a portrait of Dr. J. Whitridge Williams, dean of the medical school, was presented to the university by Professor William H. Welch, and a portrait of Dr. Florence R. Sabin, professor of histology, by Professor William H. Howell.

THE National Institute of Social Sciences, at its annual meeting on April 22, will confer a gold medal on Dr. Alexis Carrel, of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research.

DR. JOHN W. CHURCHMAN, professor of surgery at Yale University, who had previously been made officier de l'instruction