was called by Mr. Edward Foster, who had received assurances of support from about twenty-five entomological workers. Ten persons were present. They heartily endorsed the plan, and favored the organization of a society to be known as the Louisiana Entomological Society, to be domiciled at the Natural History Building of the Louisiana State Museum, Jackson Square, New Orleans. A committee on constitution was elected, and the next meeting was placed at April 2.

On that date the first regular meeting was held and the constitution was adopted. The following officers were elected: President, Mr. Edward Foster, state nursery inspector; Vice-President, Professor O. W. Rosewall, professor of entomology, Louisiana State University; Secretary-Treasurer, Mr. T. E. Holloway, of the U.S. Bureau of Entomology. An executive committee composed of the officers with the addition of Messrs. O. K. Courtney, of the Federal Horticultural Board, and Charles E. Smith and T. H. Cutrer, both of the U.S. Bureau of Entomology, was provided. It was decided that meetings are to be held on the first Fridays of February, April, June, October and December, the June meeting to be a Field Day, and the December meeting to be the annual meeting. The dues were placed at \$1.00 per annum. Any person interested in the science of entomology is eligible for membership.

Mr. Robert M. Glenk, curator of the museum, very kindly placed at the disposal of the society a large and well-lighted lecture room, library and laboratory space, a moving picture outfit, and financial assistance in publishing the proceedings of the society.

T. E. Holloway, Secretary-Treasurer

THE SOUTHWESTERN GEOLOGICAL SOCIETY

At the annual meeting of the Southwestern Geological Society held at Dallas, Texas, on March 19, Robert T. Hill of Dallas was reelected president of that organization. Other officers elected were Charles E. Decker, of the University of Oklahoma, and William F. Kennedy, vice-presidents; Ellis W. Shuler, of

the Southern Methodist University of Dallas, secretary, and R. B. Whitehead, treasurer. Members of the council are John A. Udden, Jerry Newby, Dr. H. P. Bybee, of the University of Texas, W. E. Wrather and D. W. Ohern.

Following the meeting the annual dinner was held in the roof garden of the Adolphus Hotel. More than 100 members of the society were present. Dr. George Otis Smith, of Washington, D. C., director of the United States Geological Survey; Dr. I. C. White of Morgantown, W. Va., president of the American Association of Petroleum Geologists were guests at the dinner.

This organization now numbers over 130 members and is doing much good in getting together the various geological workers in the southwest.

THE AMERICAN ELECTROCHEMICAL SOCIETY

The American Electrochemical Society held its thirty-seventh meeting at Boston and Cambridge on April 8, 9 and 10. The members were welcomed by Professor H. P. Talbot, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. The annual address by the president, Dr. Wilder D. Bancroft, of Cornell University, lieutenant-colonel in the United States Army, was on "Contact Catalysis." It was followed by a symposium of "Colloid Chemistry."

Summarizing the report from the board of directors, the secretary, Professor J. W. Richards, said that the directors had protested against the abolition of the Chemical Warfare Service. The membership of the association has been materially increased during the year; it was 1,903 on January 1, 1919, and 2,209 on January 1, 1920, and is now 2,307. The treasury of the organization also is in a healthy condition, with \$13,000 invested, largely in government bonds, and \$4,000 cash assets.

Officers have been elected as follows: President, Walter S. Landis, chief technologist of the American Cyanamid Company of New York; vice-presidents, Dr. John A. Mathews, president and general manager of the Halcomb Steel Company of Syracuse.