## Speakers at the Banquet

Dean Toumey, Colonel Woolsey, Major Marston, E. C. Hirst and Mr. Rogers, of the Indian Forest Service.

## February 28

The undergraduate student of forestry: J. H. BRIS-COE, Orono, Maine.

The student of forestry and state service: E. C. HIRST, Concord, N. H.

The student of forestry and research: S. T. DANA, Washington, D. C.

## MEETING OF THE INTERNATIONAL EUGENICS CONGRESS IN NEW YORK CITY

THE National Research Council has appointed a committee on eugenics, under the division of biology and agriculture, consisting of the following members: L. F. Barker, A. G. Bell, E. A. Hooton, Daniel W. LaRue, Stewart Paton, Raymond Pearl, R. М. Yerkes, H. S. Jennings and C. B. Davenport, chairman. The committee met on March 20 and voted to hold the Second International Eugenics Congress in New York City, September 22 to September 28, 1921, inclusive. The invitation of the American Museum of Natural History to hold the ·meetings of the Congress was gratefully accepted. Dr. Alexander Graham Bell was elected honorary president and Dr. Henry F. Osborn, president. Madison Grant is treasurer and Mrs. Sybil Gotto, secretary of the Eugenics Education Society, in view of her activity in organizing the First Eugenics Congress, was named as honorary secretary of the Second Eugenics Congress. The nucleus of a general committee for the Second International Congress was elected. This general committee is to meet in New York on Saturday, April 10. To this general committee are entrusted the details of organizing the congress, of arranging the program of the meeting, of providing for the entertainment of guests and the raising the necessary funds. The national consultative eugenics bodies in the various allied and associated countries will be informed of the action of the eugenics committee of the National Research Council and invited to send representatives. A general invitation will be sent to universities in different American countries and in various countries of Europe.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE American Institute of Electrical Engineers will confer the Edison Medal, awarded each year for the most noteworthy advance in electrical engineering, on Mr. William Leroy Emmet, consulting engineer of the General Electric Company, for his work on the electric propulsion of ships.

DR. E. W. BROWN, professor of mathematics in Yale University, received the Bruce Medal of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, at a meeting in San Francisco on March 26.

THE University of Dublin has conferred the degree of doctor of science on Professor R. A. Millikan, of the University of Chicago.

DR. J. M. T. FINNEY, Johns Hopkins University, and Dr. Charles H. Mayo, Rochester, Minn., have been elected honorary fellows of the Royal College of Surgeons. It is hoped that they may be able to attend the meeting of the council in July for the presentation of diplomas.

SIR JAMES DEWAR has been elected a corresponding member of the French Academy of Sciences in the section of general physics in succession to the late Professor P. Blaserna.

PROFESSOR HORACE LAMB, Sir Thomas L. Heath, Professor W. H. Bragg and Dr. Henry Head have been elected honorary fellows of Trinity College, Cambridge.

DR. BRADFORD KNAPP, chief of extension work in the South, States Relations Service, U. S. Department of Agriculture, since 1911, has been appointed dean of the college of agriculture, of the University of Arkansas and director of the experimental station, and chief of the department of rural economics. Martin Nelson has been appointed vice-dean and vice-director and chief of the department of agronomy.

DR. J. STANLEY GARDINER, F.R.S., professor of zoology in the University of Cambridge, has, at the request of the deputy minister of fisheries, undertaken temporarily the direction of