Section 1. "State and city academies affiliated with the association may also be allowed for their expenses, the entrance fees collected through their efforts and an amount for their expenses not to exceed \$1 for each member in good standing."

Under the head of new business Professor John M. Coulter and Professor H. B. Ward presented a verbal report for the committee on affiliation of state and local academies. The report dealt with preliminary steps looking towards the affiliation of state academies in accordance with the following general plan:

1. That state and local academies may be affiliated with the association on a financial basis that will yield the associaton \$4 net per member.

2. Any state or local academy which concludes arrangements for affiliation within the first six months of 1920 may be accepted for the entire year 1920, fees paid to the association before that date to be adjusted in accordance with the detailed plan.

3. Two alternative plans are considered with respect to membership in the academies, namely:

- (a) All members of the academies to become members of the association.
- (b) To establish two grades of membership, of which one will be national, involving membership in both academy and association, the other local, consisting of academy members only.

4. The academies will collect joint dues and transmit the association's share to the treasurer.

It was voted that this report of the committee on affiliation of state and local academies be received and approved.

In accordance with the provision of the new constitution which calls for an executive committee of eight elected members to replace the old council, the following gentlemen were duly elected members of this committee: J. McK. Cattell, H. L. Fairchild, Simon Flexner, W. J. Humphreys, D. T. MacDougal, A. A. Noyes, Herbert Osborn, H. B. Ward.

Under the terms of the revised constitution Dr. H. L. Fairchild and Dr. Franz Boas were duly elected members of the council.

Dr. R. M. Yerkes and Dr. G. T. Moore were elected members of the committee on grants.

The seventy-third meeting of the association

and of the affiliated societies will be held at Chicago, beginning on Monday, December 27, with the first general session on Tuesday evening. It was recommended that the four succeeding meetings be held in Toronto or Buffalo, Boston, Cincinnati and Washington.

Officers were elected as follows:

President: Dr. L. O. Howard, Bureau of Entomology, Washington, D. C.

General Secretary: Professor E. L. Nichols, Cornell University.

Vice-presidents:

Section A, Mathematics: D. B. Curtis, Northwestern University, Evanston, Ill.

Section B, Physics: J. C. McLennan, University of Toronto.

Section C, Chemistry: S. W. Parr, University of Illinois.

Section D, Astronomy: Joel Stebbins, University of Illinois.

Section E, Geology and Geography: Charles Schuchert, Yale University.

Section F, Zoological Sciences: J. S. Kingsley, University of Illinois.

Section G, Botanical Sciences: R. H. True, Bureau of Plant Industry, Washington, D. C.

Section H, Anthropology: G. R. Gordon, American Museum of Natural History, New York.

Section I, Psychology: E. K. Strong, Jr., Carnegie Institute of Technology, Pittsburgh.

Section M, Engineering: C. L. Mees, Rose Polytechnic Institute, Terre Haute, Ind.

Section N, Medicine: J. Erlanger, Washington University, St. Louis.

Section Q, Education: C. H. Judd, University of Chicago.

GEORGE T. MOORE, General Secretary

SCIENCE

A Weekly Journal devoted to the Advancement of Science, publishing the official notices and proceedings of the American Association for the Advancement of Science

Published every Friday by

THE SCIENCE PRESS LANCASTER, PA. GARRISON, N. Y. NEW YORK, N. Y.

Entered in the post-office at Lancaster, Pa., as second class matter

I.