## APPOINTMENTS AT HARVARD UNIVERSITY

THE following promotions and appointments in the scientific departments are announced:

George David Birkhoff, professor of mathematics. A.B. (Harvard Univ.) 1905, A.M. (ibid.) 196, Ph.D. (Univ. of Chicago) 1907. Instructor in mathematics, 1907-09, University of Wisconsin; preceptor in mathematics, 1909-11, professor of mathematics, 1911-12, Princeton University; assistant professor of mathematics, 1912-19, Harvard University.

Cecil Kent Drinker, associate professor of applied physiology. S.B. (Haverford Coll.) 1909, M.D. (Univ. of Pennsylvania) 1913. Instructor in physiology, 1915–16, Johns Hopkins University; instructor in physiology, 1916–18, assistant professor of physiology, 1918–19, Harvard University.

Chester Laurens Dawes, assistant professor of electrical engineering. S.B. (Mass. Institute of Technology) 1909. Assistant in electrical engineering, 1911-12, instructor in electrical engineering, 1912-19, Harvard University; instructor in electrical engineering, 1916-19, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

William Caspar Graustein, assistant professor of mathematics. A.B. (Harvard Univ.) 1910, A.M. (*ibid.*) 1911, Ph.D. (Univ. of Bonn) 1913. Instructor in mathematics, 1913–14, 1919, Harvard University; instructor in mathematics, 1914–16, assistant professor of mathematics, 1916–19, Rice Institute, Texas.

Lincoln Ware Riddle, assistant professor of cryptogamic botany. A.B. (Harvard Univ.) 1902, A.M. (ibid.) 1905, Ph.D. (ibid.) 1906. Austin teaching fellow in botany, 1905–06, Harvard University; instructor in botany, 1906–09, associate professor of botany, 1909–18, professor of botany, 1918–19, Wellesley College.

Frederick Albert Saunders, assistant professor of physics. A.B. (Univ. of Toronto) 1895, Ph.D. (Johns Hopkins Univ.) 1899. Instructor in physics, 1899–1901, Haverford College; instructor in physics, 1901–02, associate professor of physics, 1902–05, professor of physics, 1905–14, Syracuse University; professor of physics, 1914–19, Vassar College.

Bancroft Huntington Brown, A.M., instructor in mathematics.

Edward Smith Handy, A.B., Austin teaching fellow in anthropology.

Charles Andrew Rupp, Jr., instructor in mathematics

Arthur Bliss Seymour, S.M., assistant in the cryptogamic herbarium.

Horace Greeley Perry, A.M., Austin teaching fellow in botany.

John Felt Cole, A.B., instructor in astronomy.

McKeen Cattell, A.M., Austin teaching fellow in physiology.

Neal Tuttle, A.M., Austin teaching fellow in chemistry.

## THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

At the meeting of the National Academy of Sciences, which took place last week at Washington, the following officers were elected:

Home Secretary: Dr. Charles Greely Abbot, assistant secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.

Treasurer: Frederick L. Ransome, U. S. Geological Survey.

Members of the Council: Colonel John J. Carty, American Telephone and Telegraph Company; Dr. Henry H. Donaldson, Wistar Institute of Anatomy, University of Pennsylvania, and Professor Raymond Pearl, school of hygiene and public health, The Johns Hopkins University.

Members were elected as follows:

vard University,

Professor Joseph Barrell, geologist, Yale University.

Professor Gary Nathan Calkins, zoologist, Columbia University,

Professor Herbert D. Curtis, astronomer, Lick Observatory, University of California,

Gano Dunn, electrical engineer, New York City, Professor Lawrence J. Henderson, biologist, Har-

Professor Reid Hunt, pharmacologist, Harvard University.

Professor Treat Baldwin Johnson, chemist, Yale University,

Professor W. J. V. Osterhout, botanist, Harvard University,

Dr. Frederick A. Seares, astronomer, Mount Wilson Observatory, Mount Wilson, California,

Professor William A. Setchell, botanist, University of California,

Major General George O. Squier, electrical engineer, chief army signal officer, Washington, D. C., Professor Augustus Trowbridge, physicist, Princeton University.

Professor Oswald Veblen, mathematician, Princeton University,

Professor Ernest J. Wilczynski, mathematician, University of California,

Professor Edwin Bidwell Wilson, mathematical physicist, Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

At the annual dinner of the academy, the Henry Draper Gold Medal was awarded to Charles Fabry, professor of physics at the University of Marseilles, France, and the Alexander Agassiz Gold Medal, established through funds provided by Sir John Murray, was awarded to Prince Albert of Monaco.

The program of the scientific sessions of the academy was printed in the issue of Science for last week.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

At the annual general meeting of the American Philosophical Society held on April 24, 25 and 26, the following were elected to membership: Robert Grant Aitken, Mount Hamilton, Cal.; Joseph Charles Arthur, Lafayette, Ind.; Edward W. Berry, Baltimore; James Henry Breasted, Chicago; Ulric Dahlgren, Princeton; William Curtis Farabee, Philadelphia; John Huston Finley, Albany, N. Y.; Stephen Alfred Forbes, Urbana, Ill.; Chevalier Jackson, Philadelphia; Dayton C. Miller, Cleveland; George D. Rosengarten, Philadelphia; Albert Sauveur, Cambridge, Mass.; William Albert Setchell, Berkeley, Cal.; Julius O. Stieglitz, Chicago; Ambrose Swasey, Cleveland.

Colonel John J. Carty, chief engineer of the American Telegraph and Telephone Company, largely responsible for the communications of the American army during the war, has received the rank of commandant of the Legion of Honor.

At the meeting of the New York Section of the Society of Chemical Industry on April 18, portraits were unveiled by Dr. Charles F. Chandler, of J. B. F. Herreshoff and E. G. Acheson, Perkin Medalists of 1908 and 1910, respectively.

Dr. Robert Kirkland Nabours, professor of zoology and curator of the natural history museum at the Kansas State Agricultural College, was elected president of the Kansas Academy of Science at its fifty-first annual meeting. Dr. Bernard M. Allen, of the University of Kansas, was elected vice-president, and Dr. W. E. White, also of the university, secretary.

Mr. James W. McGuire, of the Coast and Geodetic Survey, has been appointed a member of the U. S. Geographic Board.

Dr. W. N. Berg, captain in the Sanitary Corps, stationed at Camp Lee, has received his discharge from the Army and has returned to the Bureau of Animal Industry.

After thirty years' service as chairman of the department of chemistry at Northwestern University, Professor A. Van Eps Young has retired to his farm in North Carolina as professor emeritus.

Dr. H. L. Curtis, of the Bureau of Standards, has gone for a three months visit to European laboratories to obtain data on the progress of certain war problems.

MURRAY P. HOROWITZ, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has been asked to go to Oklahoma, by the Oklahoma Tuberculosis Association, in order to conduct health surveys this summer. Together with the surveys which were completed last summer, the work will represent a state-wide health survey.

THE one hundred and thirteenth annual meeting of the Medical Society of the state of New York was held May 6 to 8, in Syracuse, under the presidency of Dr. Thomas H. Halsted, Syracuse.

The Paris Academy of Medicine has elected as national associates: Dr. Yersin, director of the Pasteur Institute of Nha-Trang and Dr. Delagenière of Mans.

King Alfonso of Spain has signed a decree awarding the Great Cross of the Civilian Order of Alfonso XIII. to Mme Sklodowska Curie, of the University of Paris.

At the annual meeting of the Chemical Society, London, held on March 27, Sir James J. Dobbie was elected president in succession to Sir William J. Pope.

Dr. L. A. BAUER sailed from Liverpool, April 12, for Cape Palmas, Liberia, where, assisted by Lieutenant H. F. Johnston, he will make magnetic and electric observations in connection with the solar eclipse of May 29 next. The duration of totality will be nearly 7 minutes at this station. Dr. Bauer expects