faculty appointed in 1873, of whom two—Dr. Tuttle, of Virginia, and Dr. Mendenhall, of Ravenna—now survive.

The temporary officers of the American Association of Clinical Psychologists have deemed it advisable to hold the annual meeting scheduled for December, 1918. The temporary officers of the association are as follows: Chairman, J. E. Wallace Wallin; Secretary, Leta S. Hollingworth; Committee on Constitution, Leta S. Hollingworth, David Mitchell and Francis N. Maxfield; Committe on nomination of officers and new members, Rudolf Pintner, Helen Thompson Woolley and H. H. Goddard.

During the past summer, the Gail Borden collection of minerals, belonging to Occidental College, Los Angeles, which had been loaned to the mining exhibit at the San Diego Fair, has been rearranged and placed in a better position for study. This collection containing some of the finest mineral specimens on exhibition in southern California, became the property of the college some years ago and forms the nucleus around which its mineralogical collections are grouped. Additions to these by gift and purchase have been made from time to time so that to-day the collection has representative series of most of the economically valuable minerals, especially those of the west. The collection is open to the public and facilities for study of the specimens will be extended to visiting mineralogists.

## UNIVERSITY AND EDUCATIONAL NEWS

A STEP of much importance to Utah was taken by the Board of Trustees of the Utah Agricultural College on December 2, when they formally established an Agricultural Engineering Experiment Station as an integral part of that institution. Under the plan of organization there will be five experimental divisions of the new station under the following personnel:

Irrigation and Drainage: Dr. F. S. Harris and Professor O. W. Israelsen.

Roads: Professor Wm. Peterson and Ray B. West.

Farm Machinery and Transportation: Professor L. R. Humphreys.

Manufacture of Agricultural Products: Dr. M. C. Merrill and Professor J. C. Thomas.

Rural Architecture and Buildings: Professor R. B. West.

THE governing board of the Sheffield Scientific School, Yale University, has decided, without a dissenting vote, to recommend the establishment of a four-year course in place of the present three-year course.

DEAN E. A. BIRGE, professor of zoology, will continue to act as president of the University of Wisconsin until a successor is elected to the late President C. R. Van Hise.

Dr. Horace D. Arnold has been appointed director of the Harvard Graduate School of Medicine; Alexander S. Begg, dean, and Charles L. Scudder, acting dean. The other members of the administrative board chosen are: Drs. David L. Edsall, George G. Sears, Algernon Coolidge, Ernest E. Tyzzer and Francis W. Peabody.

Professor C. A. Wright, of the Iowa State College, has been appointed professor of electrical engineering, in the College of Engineering at Ohio State University.

## DISCUSSION AND CORRESPONDENCE A LEAGUE OF NATIONS

To the Editor of Science: Allow me to call the attention of your readers to the statement below, regarding a League of Nations.

Until a month ago the best that we could do was to "win the war." Now that the war is won, let us remember that it has been won for peace; and let us therefore do our utmost to prevent the recurrence of anything so utterly wasteful, so inanely unscientific as warfare as a means of settling international disputes. Is it not indeed unthinkable that we should again attempt to settle differences by a method, in which the demonstration of rightfulness consists so largely in discovering which nation or group of nations can kill or starve the greatest number of its opponents, and in which the