stated that the chancellor of the exchequer was prepared to advise the government to devote a sufficient sum to cover operations during the next five years on a scale which would provide four, or perhaps five, times as much for cooperative industrial research as had been spent for the whole purposes of research hitherto. According to Nature the civil service estimates just issued include the sum of £1,038,050 to the Department of Scientific and Industrial Research, being a net increase of £998,050 upon last year's amount. Grants for investigations carried out by learned and scientific societies, etc., are estimated at £24,000, and grants to students and other persons engaged in research at £6,000. These grants will be distributed by a committee of the Privy Council, on the recommendation of the Advisory Council, to promote the development of scientific and industrial research in the United Kingdom, and will be subject to such conditions as the committee may think necessary. The £1,000,000 grant in aid of industrial research will be paid to the account of the Imperial Trust for the encouragement of scientific and industrial research. The expenditure of the trust will be audited by the comptroller and auditor-general, but any balance remaining on the account will not be surrendered at the close of the financial year. Grants will be made by the directions of the committee of the Privy Council over an agreed period to approved trade associations for research, to supplement the funds of the associations, and payments in respect of such grants will not be liable to surrender by the grantees at the end of the financial year. It is understood from Lord Crewe's remarks on December 1 that for the next five years or so about £200,000 a year would be available for scientific and industrial research, so that apparently the grant of £1,000,000 is the sum which is to be drawn upon for this purpose. The amount estimated for salaries, wages and allowances in the new department is £7,250, which includes £1,500 for the secretary and £850 for the assistant secretary. Traveling and incidental expenses are estimated to amount to £800.

THE GENERAL MEDICAL BOARD OF THE COUNCIL OF NATIONAL DEFENSE

A GENERAL medical board of the Council of National Defense was organized on April 17 at a meeting attended by leading physicians from all parts of the country. The board is to have general supervision of the mobilization of the nation's medical resources during the war. Dr. Franklin Martin, of Chicago, will be chairman of the board, which will also include the leading members of the executive committee of the board, announced a short time ago. The list follows:

Dr. Franklin Martin, chairman.

Dr. F. F. Simpson, vice-chairman.

Surgeon General William C. Gorgas, United States Army.

Surgeon General William C. Braisted, United States Navy.

Surgeon General Rupert Blue, United States Public Health Service.

Colonel Jefferson R. Kean, director of military relief, American Red Cross.

Dr. William H. Welch, professor of pathology, Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. William J. Mayo, Rochester, Minn.

Dr. Edward Martin, professor of surgery, University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. Victor C. Vaughan, dean of the medical school of the University of Michigan.

Dr. George H. Simmons, editor, Journal of American Medical Association, Chicago.

Dr. Richard P. Strong, professor of tropical medicine, Harvard University.

Dr. Joseph M. Flint, professor of surgery, Yale University.

Dr. Stuart McGuire, professor of surgery, University of Virginia.

Dr. John Young Brown, professor of surgery, University of St. Louis.

Dr. Charles H. Mayo, Rochester, Minn.

Dr. Thomas W. Huntington, professor of surgery, University of California.

Dr. Hubert A. Royster, secretary of Southern Surgical Association.

Dr. Charles H. Peck, professor of surgery, Columbia University.

Dr. Winford Smith, superintendent, Johns Hop-kins Hospital.

Dr. Frederic A. Besley, professor of surgery, Northwestern University.

Dr. George W. Crile, professor of surgery, Western Reserve University. Earl Phelps, sanitary engineer, Washington, D. C. Dr. John M. Finney, professor of clinical surgery, Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. Edward P. Davis, professor of obstetrics, Jefferson Medical College.

Dr. Edward C. Kirk, dean of dental department, University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. W. C. Woodward, commissioner of Public Health, Washington, D. C.

Dr. Simon Flexner, director, Rockefeller Institute, New York City.

Dr. Theodore Janeway, professor of medicine, Johns Hopkins University.

Dr. Hermann M. Biggs, New York Commissioner of Public Health.

Dr. George Brewer, professor of surgery, Columbia University.

Dr. George Walker, Johns Hopkins University.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

At the meeting of the National Academy of Sciences in Washington on April 18, the following members were elected: Edward Kasner, mathematics; Walter S. Adams, astronomy; Theodore Lyman, Walter C. Sabine, S. W. Stratton, physics; W. R. Whitney, chemistry; J. J. Carty, electrical engineering; W. F. Durand, marine engineering; H. M. Howe, metallurgy; E. O. Ulrich, geology; Robert Ridgway, ornithology; Harvey Cushing, William S. Halsted, surgery; L. H. Bailey, botany; Edward L. Thorndike, psychology.

At the annual dinner of the National Academy of Sciences on the evening of April 17, the Henry Draper gold medal was presented to Professor A. A. Michelson, of the University of Chicago, and the public welfare medal to Dr. S. W. Stratton, director of the Bureau of Standards.

The seventh annual award of the Willard Gibbs Medal, founded by William A. Converse of Chicago, will be made to Dr. Edward W. Morley. Dr. Morley was elected by a jury of twelve, including some of our most eminent chemists in the United States. He will talk upon his early work in connection with hydrogen and oxygen, on Friday evening, May 18, at Hotel Sherman, Chicago, at which meeting the medal will be awarded to him. Previous recipients of this medal have been: W. R.

Whitney, A. A. Noyes, T. W. Richards, Ira Remsen, L. H. Baekeland and Svante Arrhenius.

Professor M. C. Whitaker, head of the department of chemical engineering, Columbia University, was elected vice-president of the U. S. Industrial Alcohol Co., at the meeting of their board, on April 19. In this capacity, Mr. Whitaker will serve as chairman of the manufacturing committee in charge of plants and operations, chairman of the research committee in charge of the new laboratories at Baltimore, and as a member of the sales committee of the company.

Dr. H. N. McCov, who has been connected with the department of chemistry of the University of Chicago since 1901 and professor since 1911, has tendered his resignation in order to be free to devote more time to his important technical interests. His process of extracting radium from carnotite is being used by the Carnotite Production Company of Chicago in which he is a director. He is also interested in the production of thorium and related products and is a director of the Lindsay Light Company of Chicago, which has probably the largest thorium production in the country.

Anouncement is made by the Forest Service of the appointment of Carlile P. Winslow as director of the Forest Products Laboratory, at Madison, Wisconsin, to succeed Howard F. Weiss, whose resignation took place on April 1.

DOROTHY W. BLOCK has been awarded the Maria Mitchell memorial scholarship of \$500, to be used in research work at the Harvard observatory during the year 1917–18. For the past two years Miss Block has been laboratory assistant in the department of astronomy at Hunter College.

James F. Couch was elected president of the recently organized Des Moines Chemical Society at the regular meeting on April 9.

A GRADUATE medical course will be conducted at the new St. Luke's Hospital, Spokane, during the summer. Among those who have accepted invitations to lecture, according to the *Journal* of the American Med-