industrial development. The lectures are very suggestive to American geographers and historians.

Later, Professor Blanchard will give a series of lectures on the geography of the French Alps, and, if time permits, will speak on the geographic factors which have influenced the European war. These lectures are given under the auspices of the department of geography, and members of the profession are welcome as guests.

Professor Blanchard is giving the following lectures in the Lowell Institute series at 5 p.m., in Huntington Hall, Boston:

March 13. "Battle of Charleroi and Morhange."

March 16. "Battle of the Marne."

March 20. "Fixation of the Front: Aisne, Yser, Ypres, Artois, Champagne."

March 23. "Battle of Verdun."

March 27. "Battle of the Somme."

March 30. "Evolution of the Tactics and Armaments from August, 1914, to December, 1916."

THE HAYDEN MEMORIAL AWARD

At the last meeting of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia the gold Hayden Memorial Geological Medal was, on the recommendation of the council and the special committee on the award, of which Dr. R. A. F. Penrose, Jr., is chairman, voted to William Morris Davis, Ph.D., emeritus professor of geology in Harvard University, in recognition of his distinguished work in the science of geology. The medal is awarded every third year "for the best publication, exploration, discovery or research in the sciences of geology and paleontology, or in such particular branches thereof as may be designated."

The award as first defined in 1888 took the form of an annual bronze medal and the balance of the income of the fund. The deed of gift was modified in 1900 so as to provide for a gold medal every third year.

The awards so far made are as follows:
James Hall, of Albany, N. Y., 1890.
Edward D. Cope, of Philadelphia, 1891.
Edward Suess, of Vienna, 1892.
Thomas Henry Huxley, of London, 1893.

Gabriel August Daubree, of Paris, 1894.
Karl A. von Zittel, of Munich, 1895.
Giovanni Capellini, of Bologna, 1896.
A. Karpinski, of Petrograd, 1897.
Otto Martin Torell, of Stockholm, 1898.
Gilles Joseph Gustave Dewalque, of Liege, 1899.

Archibald Geikie, of Edinburgh, 1902. Charles Doolittle Walcott, of Washington, 1905.

John Mason Clarke, of Albany, 1908. John Casper Branner, of Stanford University, 1911.

Henry Fairfield Osborn, of New York, 1914.

William Morris Davis, of Cambridge, 1917.

COMMITTEES OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE following committees have been arranged:

Military Committee: Charles D. Walcott, chairman. From the Army: William C. Gorgas, William Crozier, George O. Squier. From the Navy: David W. Taylor, Robert S. Griffin, James D. Gatewood, and Howard E. Coffin, Van H. Manning, Charles F. Marvin, S. W. Stratton.

Research in Educational Institutions: George E. Hale, chairman.

Promotion of Industrial Research: J. J. Carty, chairman.

Nitrate Supply: Arthur A. Noyes, chairman.

Census of Research: S. W. Stratton, chairman. Chemistry: Marston T. Bogert, chairman. C. L. Alsberg, L. H. Baekeland, A. A. Noyes, W. A. Noyes, T. W. Richards, Julius Stieglitz, W. R. Whitney.

Physics: R. H. Millikan, chairman. J. S. Ames, F. B. Jewett, J. Langmuir, Theodore Lyman, C. E. Mendenhall, Ernest Merritt, M. I. Pupin, S. W. Stratton, Arthur G. Webster.

Astronomy: E. C. Pickering, chairman.

Botany: J. M. Coulter, chairman.

Zoology and Animal Morphology: E. G. Conklin, chairman.

Medicine and Hygiene: V. C. Vaughan, chairman. Frank Billings, Chas. F. Craig, David L. Edsall, Simon Flexner, Frederick P. Gay, John Howland, Reid Hunt, Theodore Janeway, W. W. Keen, Wm. J. Mayo, George W. McCoy, Richard M.

Pearce, Milton J. Rosenau, Edward R. Stitt, Wm. H. Welch, H. Gideon Wells.

Agriculture: Raymond Pearl, chairman. Edwin W. Allen, Carl L. Alsberg, Henry P. Armsby, Eugene Davenport, Edward M. East, L. O. Howard, L. R. Jones, Whitman H. Jordan, Karl F. Kellerman, Jacob G. Lipman, L. B. Mendel, Erwin F. Smith, Theobald Smith, W. J. Spillman, William M. Wheeler.

Physiology: W. B. Cannon, chairman. Geography: W. M. Davis, chairman. Geology: John M. Clarke, chairman. Anthropology: Wm. H. Holmes, chairman.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

In accepting the resignation of Professor R. C. Carpenter from the faculty of Sibley College, Cornell University, the trustees have adopted the following resolution:

Resolved, that the trustees in accepting the resignation of Professor Carpenter, express their high appreciation of his services to the university for nearly thirty years. As a pioneer in the field of experimental engineering he is held in the highest esteem by all mechanical engineers, and by his writings in this field he has made an assured place for himself in the annals of his profession. As a teacher and investigator he is affectionately remembered by many generations of students and his retirement from the faculty of Sibley College will be viewed with great regret by all of his colleagues.

The portrait of Professor R. D. Salisbury, planned for by his former students, was presented to the University of Chicago on the afternoon of February 8. Dr. T. C. Chamberlin gave a sketch of Professor Salisbury's life, emphasizing his early work as a student and his contribution as a man of research. Professor W. W. Atwood, of Harvard University, spoke in behalf of the students, emphasizing the great work of Professor Salisbury as an educator and formally presented the portrait to the university. Professor Salisbury, at the request of President H. P. Judson, who presided, replied briefly, and on behalf of the university the president accepted the gift.

Dr. Joseph A. Blake, formerly professor of surgery in Columbia University, who has rendered distinguished services at Neuilly and at Ris-Orangis, has accepted an invitation

from the French government to become head of the great Doyen Hospital.

THE officers of the Illinois State Academy of Science elected for the ensuing year are as follows:

President, Dr. J. C. Hesler, James Millikin University, Decatur.

Vice-president, J. H. Ferris, Joliet.

Treasurer, Professor T. L. Hankinson, Eastern State Normal School, Charleston.

Secretary, Professor J. L. Pricer, State Normal University, Normal.

The following officers of the Chemical Society, London, for 1917–18, have been proposed by the council: President, Professor W. Jackson Pope; New Vice-presidents, Colonel A. Smithells and Professor Sydney Young; New Ordinary Members of Council, Professor H. C. H. Carpenter, Professor A. Findlay, Professor A. Harden and Dr. T. A. Henry.

Mr. F. J. CHESHIRE has been elected president of the Optical Society, London.

A GOLD medal has been awarded by the French government to Professor Landouzy for his long and ceaseless study of tuberculosis and means to combat it.

Dr. Roy G. Pearce, formerly assistant professor of physiology, college of medicine, University of Illinois, Chicago, is now a member of the research laboratory of the medical clinic, Lakeside Hospital, Cleveland. Dr. Stanley P. Reiman, formerly resident pathologist, Lakeside Hospital, has been appointed Hanna research fellow in pathology in the school of medicine, Western Reserve University.

Dr. Robert Grant Aitken, astronomer in the Lick Observatory, has been granted by the University of California four months' leave of absence to go to the Atlantic coast to complete arrangements for the publication of his work on the double stars.

Henry Hinds, geologist and acting chief of the section of eastern coal fields of the U. S. Geological Survey, has left the government service temporarily in order to take up private oil work in Costa Rica and neighboring republics.