of Science." Every effort will be made to deliver promptly all mail and telegrams thus addressed to those who have registered.

Election of Officers.—According to the provisions of the constitution of the Pacific Division of the American Association, the election of three members of the executive committee from nominations prepared by a duly appointed nominating committee or received from the floor at the time of election will be held at the evening session of the Pacific Division on Thursday, April 5, preceding the general address of that evening.

Papers and Abstracts.—Those desiring to offer papers at the sessions of any of the participating societies should submit the titles of their papers to the secretaries of their respective societies at as early a date as possible, in order to be accorded a place upon the program. Abstracts limited to 300 words should also be forwarded with the titles of the paper. In case the papers are of a technical nature second abstracts in popular phraseology are requested which may be used in the press reports of the meetings.

Hotel Accommodations.—Rooms may be secured at moderate rates in Encina Hall on the campus of Stanford University by those who wish to stay over night at the university. Applications for lodging should be made in advance to Professor J. P. Mitchell, Stanford University, California. Among hotels in Palo Alto may be mentioned the following:

	Rates per Day, Single Room	European Plan, Double Room
Palo Alto Hotel	\$1.00	\$1.50
Hotel Larkin, withou	ut	
bath	1.00	1.50
with bath	1.50	2.50
University Hotel, sing	le rooms 50c.,	75c. and \$1.00

Railroad Rates.—It has not been possible to make satisfactory arrangements for special railroad rates on the occasion of this meeting. Members are advised to inquire of local agents for round-trip rates which may be in force at the time of the meeting, or to make use of mileage books.

#### SCIENTIFIC EVENTS

# ADVISORY BOARD ON WILD LIFE PROTECTION IN CANADA

THE Canadian government, by an order in council dated December 28, 1916, has appointed an interdepartmental advisory board on life protection for the purpose of formulating plans regarding the protection and use of the wild life—by which term is meant the furbearing and big game mammals, the wild fowl and other animal life-of the northwestern territories, and of advising in the administration of the Northwest Game Act and of the legislation under the recently ratified international treaty for the protection of migratory birds in Canada and the United States. and generally, for the purpose of advising it on questions relating to the protection of and use of wild life in Canada. The advisory board is constituted as follows: James White. assistant to the chairman of the commission of conservation: D. C. Scott, deputy superintendent general of Indian affairs; Dr. C. G. Hewitt, Dominion entomologist: Dr. R. M. Anderson, geological survey; J. B. Harkin, commissioner of Dominion parks.

Mr. James White is chairman and Dr. Hewitt is secretary of the board; Mr. White and Dr. Hewitt are also representatives of the government on the permanent consultative commission for the international protection of nature.

## PROFESSOR BLANCHARD ON THE GEOGRAPHY OF FRANCE

Dr. RAOUL BLANCHARD, professor of geography at the University of Grenoble, and exchange professor at Harvard University, is now delivering a series of lectures on urban geography. The cities to be considered in this course are: Lyons, Marseilles, Bordeaux, Rouen, Nantes, Nice, Nancy, Lille and Grenoble.

After a careful detailed description of the geography of the region tributary to each city, and of the exact site of the city, Professor Blanchard sketches the history, emphasizing how the geographic conditions in the environs, and the immediate conditions within the boundaries of the city, have influenced the

industrial development. The lectures are very suggestive to American geographers and historians.

Later, Professor Blanchard will give a series of lectures on the geography of the French Alps, and, if time permits, will speak on the geographic factors which have influenced the European war. These lectures are given under the auspices of the department of geography, and members of the profession are welcome as guests.

Professor Blanchard is giving the following lectures in the Lowell Institute series at 5 p.m., in Huntington Hall, Boston:

March 13. "Battle of Charleroi and Morhange."

March 16. "Battle of the Marne."

March 20. "Fixation of the Front: Aisne, Yser, Ypres, Artois, Champagne."

March 23. "Battle of Verdun."

March 27. "Battle of the Somme."

March 30. "Evolution of the Tactics and Armaments from August, 1914, to December, 1916."

#### THE HAYDEN MEMORIAL AWARD

At the last meeting of the Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia the gold Hayden Memorial Geological Medal was, on the recommendation of the council and the special committee on the award, of which Dr. R. A. F. Penrose, Jr., is chairman, voted to William Morris Davis, Ph.D., emeritus professor of geology in Harvard University, in recognition of his distinguished work in the science of geology. The medal is awarded every third year "for the best publication, exploration, discovery or research in the sciences of geology and paleontology, or in such particular branches thereof as may be designated."

The award as first defined in 1888 took the form of an annual bronze medal and the balance of the income of the fund. The deed of gift was modified in 1900 so as to provide for a gold medal every third year.

The awards so far made are as follows:
James Hall, of Albany, N. Y., 1890.
Edward D. Cope, of Philadelphia, 1891.
Edward Suess, of Vienna, 1892.
Thomas Henry Huxley, of London, 1893.

Gabriel August Daubree, of Paris, 1894.
Karl A. von Zittel, of Munich, 1895.
Giovanni Capellini, of Bologna, 1896.
A. Karpinski, of Petrograd, 1897.
Otto Martin Torell, of Stockholm, 1898.
Gilles Joseph Gustave Dewalque, of Liege, 1899.

Archibald Geikie, of Edinburgh, 1902. Charles Doolittle Walcott, of Washington, 1905.

John Mason Clarke, of Albany, 1908. John Casper Branner, of Stanford University, 1911.

Henry Fairfield Osborn, of New York, 1914.

William Morris Davis, of Cambridge, 1917.

## COMMITTEES OF THE NATIONAL RESEARCH COUNCIL

THE following committees have been arranged:

Military Committee: Charles D. Walcott, chairman. From the Army: William C. Gorgas, William Crozier, George O. Squier. From the Navy: David W. Taylor, Robert S. Griffin, James D. Gatewood, and Howard E. Coffin, Van H. Manning, Charles F. Marvin, S. W. Stratton.

Research in Educational Institutions: George E. Hale, chairman.

Promotion of Industrial Research: J. J. Carty, chairman.

Nitrate Supply: Arthur A. Noyes, chairman.

Census of Research: S. W. Stratton, chairman. Chemistry: Marston T. Bogert, chairman. C. L. Alsberg, L. H. Baekeland, A. A. Noyes, W. A. Noyes, T. W. Richards, Julius Stieglitz, W. R. Whitney.

Physics: R. H. Millikan, chairman. J. S. Ames, F. B. Jewett, J. Langmuir, Theodore Lyman, C. E. Mendenhall, Ernest Merritt, M. I. Pupin, S. W. Stratton, Arthur G. Webster.

Astronomy: E. C. Pickering, chairman.

Botany: J. M. Coulter, chairman.

Zoology and Animal Morphology: E. G. Conklin, chairman.

Medicine and Hygiene: V. C. Vaughan, chairman. Frank Billings, Chas. F. Craig, David L. Edsall, Simon Flexner, Frederick P. Gay, John Howland, Reid Hunt, Theodore Janeway, W. W. Keen, Wm. J. Mayo, George W. McCoy, Richard M.