THE HANCOCK MINERAL COLLECTION

As somewhat exaggerated accounts of this collection appeared in the newspapers at the time of its purchase for the Harvard Mineralogical Museum a brief description is opportune.

Elwood P. Hancock who died last December in Burlington, N. J., in his eighty-second year, was a landscape artist by profession and also carved in wood as a pastime; he began to collect minerals when nineteen years old and continued throughout his life. To this pursuit he brought the artist's eye and skilled manipulation with fine tools as well as a wonderful "flair" for fine specimens even when the crystals were buried in the matrix, and acquired a keen acquaintance with minerals. For many years he visited Franklin Furnace twice yearly, and made trips to Paterson. Nova Scotia, Virginia, North Carolina and other famous American mineral localities, and the choice specimens he brought back were worked out with incredible skill to show their beauty, with hardly a suspicion that tools had been used to clear away the matrix.

The collection contains about 1,600 specimens of generally the first quality, usually matrix specimens showing good crystals. The standard European and other non-American localities are fairly represented with excellent and well-chosen material but the greater interest is in the superb crystals from American localities such as Franklin Furnace, Tilly Foster mine, Amelia Court House, Va., and others where Mr. Hancock collected on the spot and then worked out his material with incredible skill and patience.

JOHN E. WOLFF

HARVARD UNIVERSITY

AMERICAN ACADEMY OF PUBLIC HEALTH

The organization of this society, which was formed at a meeting held in Cincinnati, October 23, 1916, has been noted in Science. The New York Medical Journal states that a constitution was adopted stating that the objects of the new organization are to increase the efficiency of its members through the discussion of public health problems, to promote the efficiency of public health administration,

to raise the standards of public health practise, and to stimulate original work in public health science. Qualifications for membership are based upon achievements as public health workers and scholarship in public health science. There are two classes of members: Active members, who must be, at the time of election, not less than thirty years of age and actively engaged in public health work, and honorary members who are chosen in recognition of unusual ability or length of service in public health work. When the membership has reached fifty, not more than five new members shall be added in any one year, in addition to filling vacancies. At the meetings of the organization it is not proposed to read scientific papers, but to devote the time to the open discussion of the reports of committees. During the year the various commitees will be called upon to prepare reports on such public health problems as are suggested by the membership, and their reports will be placed in the hands of the members several weeks in advance of the annual meeting so that the members may come to the meetings prepared to discuss the same intelligently. It is planned to publish from time to time the opinions which the membership of this academy may reach as the result of their deliberations on the problems presented to The members of the organization for the first year are: Dr. Carl L. Alsberg, Dr. John F. Anderson, Dr. Hermann M. Biggs, Dr. Rupert Blue, Dr. Charles V. Chapin, Dr. H. W. Conn, Dr. Haven Emerson, Dr. W. A. Evans, Dr. Irving Fisher, Dr. Lee K. Frankel, Dr. Allen W. Freeman, Dr. Wade H. Frost, Dr. George W. Fuller, Dr. John S. Fulton, Dr. Joseph Goldberger, Dr. S. S. Goldwater, Dr. William C. Gorgas, Dr. Selskar M. Gunn, Dr. Frederick L. Hoffman, Dr. J. N. Hurty, Dr. E. O. Jordan, Dr. J. W. Kerr, Dr. J. J. Kinyoun, Dr. J. H. Landis, Dr. E. C. Levy, Dr. L. L. Lumsden, Dr. G. W. McCoy, Dr. A. J. McLaughlin, Dr. Joseph S. Neff, Dr. Charles E. North, Dr. William H. Park, Dr. Earle B. Phelps, Dr. W. S. Rankin, Dr. M. P. Ravenel, Dr. M. J. Rosenau, Dr. William T. Sedgwick, Dr. W. F. Snow, Dr. C. W. Stiles, Dr. J. W. Trask, Dr. Victor C. Vaughan, Dr. William H. Welch, Dr. George C. Whipple, Dr. C.-E. A. Winslow, Dr. William C. Woodward.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Professor R. A. Cooley, state entomologist and professor of zoology at the Montana State College, has been elected president of the American Association of Economic Entomologists.

AT the annual meeting of the Society of American Bacteriologists officers were elected as follows: President, Professor L. F. Rettger, of the Sheffield Scientific School; Vice-president, Dr. R. E. Buchanan, Iowa State College; Secretary and Treasurer, Dr. A. Parker Hutchins, Glenolden; Delegate to council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, Dr. P. F. Hadley, Kingston, R. I.; council members, Miss Jean Broadhurst, New York; Dr. P. F. Clark, Wisconsin; Dr. L. A. Rogers, Washington, D. C., and A. E. Ingham, Boston.

Professor W. F. M. Goss, dean of the college of engineering of the University of Illinois, has resigned to accept the presidency of the Railway Car Manufacturers' Association of New York. The resignation will take effect as soon as Dr. Goss can be relieved.

General George W. Goethals, recently chief engineer of the Panama Canal and governor of the Canal Zone, has announced the opening of consulting engineering offices in New York City. General Goethals has associated with him specialists, including George M. Wells, former resident engineer in charge of building construction, Canal Zone, and will engage in a general consulting practise in civil, electrical, mechanical and hydraulic engineering.

In memory of Judge Harvey H. Baker, of the Boston Juvenile Court, there has been established a Judge Baker Foundation. Dr. William Healy, director of the Psychopathic Institute of the Juvenile Court of Cook County, will have charge of the work of the new foundation. The Delalande-Guérineau prize of the Paris Academy of Sciences has been awarded to Sir Ernest Shackleton, for his explorations in the Antarctic continent.

THE Boyle medal of the Royal Dublin Society has been conferred on Professor Henry H. Dixon, professor of botany in the University of Dublin.

At a stated meeting of the New York Academy of Medicine on February 1, Dr. Walter B. James announced that the portrait of Dr. William M. Polk had been presented to the academy, and that this completed the full line of portraits of presidents of the academy. Dr. George D. Stewart made the address of acceptance on behalf of the academy. The portrait is the work of Miss Belle Isaacs.

The twelfth annual banquet of the Cornell Society of Civil Engineers at the Hotel Breslin, New York, on January 19, was given in honor of Professor Irving Porter Church. Nearly a hundred and fifty engineers were present.

Before leaving the United States to spend a year in the far east, Dr. Liberty Hyde Bailey was the guest at a dinner given by the members of the Ithaca Board of Commerce and his fellow members of the Cornell faculty. Roger B. Williams, trustee of the university, was toastmaster. The speakers were Dr. W. H. Jordan, head of the State Experimental Station at Geneva; Dean A. W. Smith, of the College of Mechanical Engineering; Dean A. R. Mann, of the College of Agriculture; Dean C. A. Martin, of the College of Architecture; Dean E. H. Haskell, of the College of Civil Engineering; Professor Nathaniel Schmidt, of the department of Semitics, and Jacob Rothschild, chairman of the Board of Commerce.

Dr. Gregory D. Walcott, professor of philosophy and psychology in Hamline University, has been given a year's leave of absence to teach psychology and logic in the government college of Tsing Hua, China. He expects to sail from San Francisco about the first of next July and to be abroad until September, 1918.