February 11. "The Sun" (with illustrations), by Professor Philip Fox, Northwestern University.

February 25. "Liquid Air" (with demonstrations), by Professor Henry Crew, Northwestern University.

March 10. "Radium" (with demonstrations), by Professor H. N. McCoy, University of Chicago. March 24. "Modern Views of Electricity" (with demonstrations), by Professor R. A. Milli-

April 7. "Problem of Food Productions" (with illustrations), by Professor John M. Coulter, University of Chicago.

April 21. "Bacteria of the Alimentary Canal" (with illustrations), by Professor A. I. Kendall, Northwestern University.

WALLACE W. ATWOOD,

Secretary

THE ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY OF THE PACIFIC

At the annual meeting of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, held in San Francisco, Saturday, January 29, 1916, the Bruce Gold medal for 1915 was presented to Dr. George Ellery Hale, director of the Solar Observatory (Carnegie Institution), Mt. Wilson, Pasadena, Calif., for distinguished services to astronomy. This medal was founded by Miss Catherine Bruce, of New York, in 1897 with a fund of \$2,500, and in the past eighteen years has been awarded to thirteen astronomers.

The following astronomers who have been the recipients of the medal were:

Simon Newcomb, United States.

Arthur Auwers, Germany.

Sir David Gill, England.

Giovanni V. Schiaparelli, Italy.

William Huggins, England.

Hermann Carl Vogel, Germany.

Edward C. Pickering, United States.

George W. Hill, United States.

Jules Henri Poincaré, France.

J. C. Kapteyn, Holland.

O. Blacklund, Russia.

W. W. Campbell, United States.

George E. Hale, United States.

The nominations and the awarding of this medal are probably the most unique in the history of science. Six of the leading observatories in Europe and America, namely, Berlin, Greenwich, Paris, Harvard, Yerkes and Lick Observatories make the nominations. These are sent to the directors of the Astronomical Society of the Pacific, who make the final selection from these nominations for the gold medal.

Professor R. G. Aitken, astronomer, Lick Observatory, in his retiring president's address, paid a tribute to Dr. Hale's work, as a student, director of the Yerkes Observatory and the Solar Observatory, and in the problems of solar physics. The address will be published in full in the publications of the society.

The second address of the evening was given by Dr. H. D. Curtis, Lick Observatory, on the "Recent Theories of Stellar Evolution." This was followed by the election of officers for the ensuing year. President, Dr. S. D. Townley, Stanford University; Vice-president, C. S. Cushing, San Francisco; Second Vice-president, Dr. H. D. Curtis, Lick Observatory; Third Vice-president, A. H. Markwart, San Francisco; Secretary-Treasurer, D. S. Richardson, San Francisco.

THE BOTANICAL SOCIETY OF AMERICA

THE tenth annual meeting of the Botanical Society of America was held under the auspices of the Ohio State University at Columbus, Ohio, December 27-31, 1915, in affiliation with Section G of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Phytopathological Society and the American Society of Naturalists.

The council for 1916 is as follows:

President—R. A. Harper, Columbia University.

Vice-president—Geo. T. Moore, Missouri Botanical Garden.

Treasurer—Arthur Hollick, Staten Island Association of Arts and Sciences.

Secretary—H. H. Bartlett, University of Michigan.

Councilors—David Fairchild, Bureau of Plant Industry; Wm. F. Ganong, Smith College; B. E. Livingston, The Johns Hopkins University.

One hundred and forty-six new members were elected, and an amendment to the constitution was passed which does away with the grade of "fellow" in the society. The membership of the society is now approximately 500.

The address of Retiring President A. S. Hitchcock, "The Scope and Relations of Taxonomic Botany," followed the annual dinner for all botanists, which was attended by 153 members of the affiliating societies. It will be printed in SCIENCE.