THE NAVAL ADVISORY BOARD OF INVEN-TIONS

THE secretary of the navy has announced the membership of the Naval Advisory Board of Inventions which consists of twenty-three members, including Mr. Thomas A. Edison, who was selected by Mr. Daniels to serve as the presiding officer of the board. The other twenty-two members of the board who were chosen by ballot by eleven scientific societies invited by the secretary of the navy are:

American Chemical Society.—W. R. Whitney, Schenectady, N. Y. Massachusetts Institute of Technology, '90. Director of Research Laboratory of the General Electric Company. L. H. Baekeland, Yonkers, N. Y. University of Ghent, '82. In private chemical practise.

American Institute of Electrical Engineers.
—Frank Julian Sprague, New York City.
Naval Academy, '78. Consulting engineer for
Sprague, Otis and General Electric Companies.
B. G. Lamme, Pittsburgh. Ohio State, '88.
Chief engineer of Westinghouse Electric and
Manufacturing Company.

American Mathematical Society.—Robert Simpson Woodward, Washington, D. C. Michigan, '72. President of Carnegie Institution. Arthur Gordon Webster, Worcester, Mass. Harvard, '85. Professor of physics, Clark University.

American Society of Civil Engineers.—Andrew Murray Hunt, New York City. Naval Academy, '79. Consulting engineer. Alfred Craven, New York City. Naval Academy, '67. Chief engineer of public service commission and formerly division engineer in charge of construction work on Croton aqueduct and reservoirs.

American Aeronautical Society.—Matthew Bacon Sellers, Baltimore, Md. Lawrence Scientific School. Director of Technical Board of the Aeronautical Society of America. Hudson Maxim, Brooklyn, N. Y. Ordnance and explosive expert.

The Inventor's Guild.—Peter Cooper Hewitt, New York City. Inventor. Thomas Robbins, Stamford, Conn. Princeton. President of Robbins Conveying Belt Company.

American Society of Automobile Engineers.

—Andrew L. Riker, Detroit. Vice-president of Locomobile Company. Electrical and mechanical engineer. Howard E. Coffin, Detroit. Michigan, '96. President of Hudson Motor Car Company.

American Institute of Mining Engineers.—William Laurence Saunders, New York City. Pennsylvania, "76. Chairman board of directors, Ingersoll-Rand Company. Benjamin Bowditch Thayer, New York City. Harvard, '85. President of Anaconda Copper Mining Company.

American Electro-Chemical Society.—Joseph William Richards, South Bethlehem, Pa. Lehigh, '86. Professor of electro-chemistry, Lehigh University. Lawrence Addicks, Chrome, N. J. Mass. Inst., '89. Consulting engineer for Phelps, Dodge & Co.

American Society of Mechanical Engineers.—William Leroy Emmet, Schenectady, N. Y. Naval Academy, '81. Engineer with the General Electric Company. Spencer Miller, South Orange, N. J. Worcester Polytechnic, '79. Inventor.

American Society of Aeronautic Engineers.—Henry Alexander Wise Wood, New York City. Engineer and manufacturer of printing. Elmer Ambrose Sperry, Chicago. Cornell, '76. Founder of Sperry Electric Company.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Karl Eugen Guthe, professor of physics in the University of Michigan and dean of the Graduate School, died on September 11, following a surgical operation. He was born in Hanover, Germany, on March 5, 1866.

John Howard Van Amringe, dean of Columbia College and professor of mathematics until his retirement five years ago after a service of fifty years, died on September 10, at the age of seventy-nine years.

THE Institution of Mining Engineers will present the institution medal for 1914–15 at its twenty-sixth annual general meeting, to be held at Leeds in September, to Dr. John Scott Haldane, F.R.S., of Oxford, in recognition of his investigations on mine air.

Professor Julius Elster and Professor Hans Geitel, who have carried on conjointly