from the faculty, the alumni association, the students, and a large number of citizens of the state of Utah, the board has in all cases rejected, declaring that it alone is responsible for the management of the university, that it has no doubts as to the correctness of its past action and the rectitude of its own motives and those of the president, and that it therefore can not permit its action to be influenced by protests coming from others. This position seems to the committee to show that the board fails to understand, or at least to act upon, three fundamental facts: namely, that every institution of public education, and especially a state university, requires for its success the confidence and respect of the public; that there can be no sure hold upon public confidence without an unflinching readiness to face publicity in regard to all official acts and policies; and that the only effective way in which any public body can meet serious charges brought by responsible persons is by not merely permitting, but demanding a searching and open inquiry into its methods. The committee gathers that the attitude taken by the board has aroused on the part of a large section of the local public, including a majority of the alumni and of the students, a degree of suspicion, and even hostility, which must be a continuing detriment to the university's efficiency as an instrument of public education, and must affect disadvantageously the position and the work of teachers in the institution.

## THE PACIFIC DIVISION OF THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION

AT a recent meeting of the Pacific Coast Committee of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the first executive committee of the Pacific Division was elected in accordance with the provisions of the constitution of the division. The officers of the division have been elected by the executive committee. The result of these elections is as follows:

President: Dr. W. W. Campbell, Lick Observatory, Mt. Hamilton.

Vice-president: Dr. D. T. MacDougal, Carnegie Desert Laboratory, Tucson.

Secretary-Treasurer: Albert L. Barrows, University of California.

Executive Committee: Theodore C. Frye, University of Washington; Edward C. Franklin, Stanford University; C. E. Grunsky, San Francisco;

George E. Hale, Mt. Wilson Solar Observatory, Pasadena; Vernon L. Kellogg, Stanford University; Andrew C. Lawson, University of California; E. Percival Lewis, University of California.

The Pacific Division is now supported by about one thousand of the members of the American Association resident within the region and by affiliations with twelve local scientific societies. After the San Francisco meeting of the American Association during the first week of next August, the recently elected officers of the division will carry on the work of the association on the Pacific coast which up to this time has been conducted by the Pacific Coast Committee. The first meeting of the Pacific Division will be held in the spring of 1916.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

COLUMBIA UNIVERSITY has conferred its doctorate of science on Robert S. Griffin, rear-admiral and engineer-in-chief, U. S. Navy, and Arthur L. Day, director of the geophysical laboratory, Carnegic Institution of Washington.

The Stevens Institute of Technology has conferred the degree of doctor of science on Otto H. Tittmann, for many years superintendent of the United States Coast and Geodetic Survey.

Dr. V. G. Heiser has resigned as director of health in the Philippines, to accept the position of director for the Orient of the work of the Rockefeller Foundation.

Dr. RICHARD H. CREEL, of the Federal Health Bureau, has declined the offer of the post of health commissioner of Boston.

Dr. Elwood Mead, who has accepted a call to the newly established professorship of rural institutions in the University of California, has been appointed by Secretary Lane chairman of a central board of review of the committees on revision of reclamation project costs.

A TESTIMONIAL dinner was tendered to Dr. Leo Loeb at the University Club, St. Louis, on May 25, by members of the medical profession of St. Louis, the scientific faculties