ical Society of America at its Philadelphia meeting. Its purpose is to honor the memory of the father of American entomology, Thomas Say, by the publication of a series of volumes on systematic entomology. These volumes are to be of a monographic or bibliographic character and to deal only with the insects of North America. It is hoped that a series of volumes similar in appearance and of the same high standard as the volumes of the John Ray Society of England can be issued. To this end a temporary committee consisting of J. M. Aldrich and Nathan Banks, U. S. Bureau of Entomology, E. P. Van Duze, University of California, Morgan Hebard, Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia, treasurer, and Alex. D. MacGillivray, University of Illinois, editor, was appointed to solicit funds, and when these are sufficient, to issue such works as they may deem worthy of publication. The most difficult problem confronting the committee is the securing of a fund sufficient for publication. It is hoped that an endowment fund, the income from which will be sufficient for the issuance of about two volumes per year, will eventually be available. Until such a time, however, an attempt will be made to obtain subscriptions for the issuance of volumes.

## AWARDS OF THE FRANKLIN MEDAL

THE Franklin medal, the highest recognition in the gift of The Franklin Institute of the state of Pennsylvania, has recently been awarded to Heike Kamerlingh Onnes and to Thomas Alva Edison. The awards were made on the recommendation of the institute's committee on science and the arts, that to Onnes being in recognition of his "long-continued and indefatigable labors in low-temperature research which has enriched physical science, not only with a great number of new methods and ingenious devices, but also with achievements and discoveries of the first magnitude" and that to Edison in recognition of "the value of numerous basic inventions and discoveries forming the foundation of world-wide industries, signally contributing to the wellbeing, comfort and pleasure of the human race."

The Franklin Medal Fund, from which this medal is awarded, was founded on January 1, 1914, by Samuel Insull. Awards of the medal are to be made annually to those workers in physical science or technology, without regard to country, whose efforts, in the opinion of the institute, have done most to advance a knowledge of physical science or its applications. The present awards are the first to be made.

The medal awarded to Professor Onnes was received on behalf by His Excellency, Chevalier van Rappard, minister from the Royal Netherlands government, at the stated meeting of the institute on the evening of Wednesday, May 19, and at this meeting Mr. Edison was the guest of the institute and received his award in person. Following the presentations, an address entitled "Electricity and Modern Industrial Growth" was delivered by Mr. Insull.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Frank J. Goodnow was installed as president of the Johns Hopkins University on May 20. After he had delivered his inaugural address on "Modern Educational Ideals," he conferred degrees on twelve distinguished scholars and scientific men who were presented by Dr. William H. Welch. The scientific men on whom the degree of doctor of laws was conferred are as follows: John Mason Clarke, state geologist and paleontologist of New York; John Dewey, professor of philosophy, Columbia University; Simon Flexner, director of the laboratories of the Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research; George W. Goethals, major general of the United States Army, chief engineer of the Panama Canal; Thomas Hunt Morgan, professor of experimental zoology, Columbia University; Michael I. Pupin, professor of electro-mechanics, Columbia University; Robert Simpson Woodward, president of the Carnegie Institution.

At its annual meeting held on May 12, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, acting upon the recommendation of the Rumford Committee, voted: "That the Rumford Premium be awarded by the Academy to Charles Greeley Abbott for his researches on Solar Radiation." The committee has appropriated