On motion, Mr. Judson G. Wall was made a fellow of the association, followed by the adoption of a motion that he be elected vicepresident and chairman of Section I.

The following resolutions recommended by the committee on policy were adopted:

Resolved, That the Pacific Coast committee be authorized, in the absence of constitutional authority, to designate its meetings at which scientific programs are presented as "Meetings of the Pacific Coast Division of the American Association for the Advancement of Science."

Resolved, That the Pacific Coast committee be placed in charge of all arrangements, including program, for the proposed Pacific Coast meetings in 1915 in cooperation with the several sectional secretaries and in consultation with the permanent secretary.

The following preamble and resolution recommended by the committee on policy was adopted:

WHEREAS, It is eminently desirable that scientific men especially skilled in their departments be appointed as heads of the scientific bureaus of the government, therefore,

Resolved, That a committee of three be appointed to communicate to the President of the United States that it is the opinion of the council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science that a scientific man skilled in meteorology should be selected as the Chief of the Weather Bureau.

The following resolution recommended by the committee on policy was adopted:

Resolved, That the president be authorized, with the advice of the committee on policy, to appoint a Committee of One Hundred on Scientific Research under the government, in the universities and in other institutions.

On motion, it was

Resolved, That the council allow the sectional committee of Section C to nominate and elect the new secretary of that section.

On motion, it was

Resolved, That the council delegate full powers to the committee on policy with respect to all arrangements concerning the organization of the Pacific Coast Division of the association, including all matters relating to the affiliation of the indi-

vidual societies composing the present Pacific Association of Scientific Societies.

At 6.10 P.M., the council adjourned.

L. O. HOWARD,

Permanent Secretary

THE ANNIVERSARY MEETING OF THE NATIONAL ACADEMY OF SCIENCES

THE National Academy of Sciences celebrated the semi-centennial anniversary of its foundation on April 22, 23 and 24, exactly fifty years after its first meeting. It was a most successful meeting with the largest attendance of members in the history of the academy. There was no program of technical papers, but in its place a series of addresses. Dr. Ira Remsen, the president of the academy, at the first session read an address on the history of the academy, and then introduced President Arthur T. Hadley, of Yale University, who spoke on "The Relation of Science to Higher Education in America." He was followed by Dr. Arthur Schuster, secretary of the Royal Society of London, who spoke on "International Cooperation in Research." At the afternoon session Dr. George E. Hale, director of the Mt. Wilson Solar Observatory, gave an address on "The Earth and Sun as Magnets." On the morning of the following day, Dr. J. C. Kapteyn, director of the Astronomical laboratory of the University of Groningen, gave an address on "The Strueture of the Universe." Dr. Theodor H. Boveri, of the University of Würzburg, was to have spoken on "The Material Basis of Heredity," but was unable to be present owing to ill health.

The program left ample time for social events, which were admirably arranged. Luncheons were provided each day and there were evening receptions at the National Museum and the Carnegie Institution. The afternoon of April 24 was devoted to an excursion to Mt. Vernon on the U. S. S. Mayflower. On the afternoon of April 23, there was a reception at the White House, when the President of the United States conferred medals, and afterwards, with Mrs. Wilson,

received and entertained the members of the academy and their guests. The Watson medal for astronomical research was presented to Dr. J. C. Kapteyn, the Draper medal for astrophysical research to the French Ambassador for M. Henri Deslandres, the Agassiz medal for oceanographical research to the Norwegian minister for Dr. Johan Hjört, and the Comstock prize of the value of \$1,500 for research in radiant energy, to Professor R. A. Millikan, of the University of Chicago. At the dinner on the evening of April 24, Dr. R. S. Woodward acted as toastmaster and speeches were made by the vice-president of the United States, the British Ambassador, Dr. S. Wier Mitchell, Dr. W. W. Keen, president of the American Philosophical Society, and Senator Burton.

At the business meeting of the academy the following new members were elected: Henry Andrews Bumstead, professor of physics, Yale University; L. E. Dickson, professor of mathematics, University of Chicago; Ross G. Harrison, professor of comparative anatomy, Yale University; Gilbert Newton Lewis, professor of physical chemistry, University of California: Lafayette B. Mendel, professor of physiological chemistry, Yale University; George H. Parker, professor of zoology, Harvard University; L. V. Pirsson, professor of geology, Yale University; Edward B. Rosa, chief physicist, Bureau of Standards; Erwin F. Smith, pathologist in charge, Bureau of Plant Industry, U. S. Department of Agriculture; A. O. Leuschner, professor of astronomy, University of California.

The officers elected for a term of six years were:

President—Dr. W. H. Welch, professor of pathology, The Johns Hopkins University.

Vice-president—Dr. Charles D. Walcott, secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.

Home Secretary—Dr. A. L. Day, director of the Geophysical Laboratory of the Carnegie Institution.

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

SIR WILLIAM OSLER, regius professor of medicine, gave, last week, the Silliman lec-

tures at Yale University. The subject of the course was "The Evolution of Modern Medicine."

THE Walker grand honorary prize, which is awarded by the Boston Society of Natural History once in five years, was this year voted to Mr. Robert Ridgway, of the United States National Museum, in recognition of his investigations in ornithology, and particularly for his work on the "Birds of North and Middle America." This prize, the amount of which is one thousand dollars, was founded by the late William Johnson Walker, a benefactor of the society, and is given in recognition of important investigation in natural history, published and made known in the United States of America.

PRESIDENT RICHARD C. MACLAURIN, of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, has taken out the first papers for citizenship in the United States. His statement shows that he was born in Scotland, forty-six years ago, and that his last foreign place of residence was New Zealand.

Dr. R. S. Breed, for several years professor of biology at Alleghany College, has been selected as bacteriologist of the New York Agricultural Experiment Station, Geneva, N. Y. Dr. Breed succeeds Dr. H. A. Harding who becomes head of the dairy department of the University of Illinois. Dr. Breed is a graduate of Amherst and of Harvard, having a Ph.D. from the latter institution. He will assume the duties of this position about August first.

DR. MAURICE C. TANQUARY, instructor in zoology in the Kansas State Agricultural College, has been granted a three years' leave of absence in order that he may accompany the American Museum of Natural History Crocker Land Expedition.

Dr. A. Hrdlicka, of the U. S. National Museum, has returned from his expedition to Peru. He has secured important collections in physical anthropology and pre-Columbian pathology.