Mediterranean of the Occident. Here is an exceptional opportunity for the exceptional man. Will he see it?

J. A. Udden

Austin, Texas, April 15, 1912

Dr. Andrew D. White has been reappointed, by joint resolution of congress, as a regent of the Smithsonian Institution for six years. Dr. White received his first appointment to this office in the year 1888 and upon the completion of the present term he will have served the institution for thirty years. The vacancy in the board caused by the resignation of Dr. James B. Angell, ex-president of the University of Michigan, who was a regent from January 19, 1887, to January 15, 1912, has been filled by congress by the appointment of the Honorable Charles W. Fairbanks. With the appointments mentioned, the roll of regents is now complete. It is as follows: James S. Sherman, Vice-president of the United States, chancellor; Edward D. White, Chief Justice of the United States; Shelby M. Cullom, member of the Senate; Henry Cabot Lodge, member of the Senate; Augustus O. Bacon, member of the Senate; John Dalzell, member of the House of Representatives; Scott Ferris, member of the House of Representatives; Irvin S. Pepper, member of the House of Representatives; Andrew D. White, citizen of New York; Alexander Graham Bell, citizen of Washington, D. C.; George Gray, citizen of Delaware; Charles F. Choate, Jr., citizen of Massachusetts, John B. Henderson, Jr., citizen of Washington, D. C.; and Charles W. Fairbanks, citizen of Indiana.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Jules Henri Poincaré, the great mathematician and man of science, died on July 17. He was born at Nancy on April 29, 1854.

THE University of Oxford has conferred the degree of D.Sc. on the following foreign delegates attending the celebration of the 250th

anniversary of the foundation of the Royal Society: Dr. Backlund, director of the Imperial Observatory, Pulkowa; Dr. Brögger, professor of mineralogy and geology at Christiania and rector of the university; Professor Lippmann, president of the Académie des Sciences, Paris; Professor Scott, Blair professor of geology and paleontology at Princeton University; Dr. Waldeyer, professor of anatomy and director of the anatomical institute in the University of Berlin; Dr. Zeeman, professor of physics at Amsterdam.

The degree of LL.D. was conferred on Professor A. H. Purdue, by the University of Arkansas, upon his retirement from that institution in June. For sixteen years he had been professor of geology there, and ex-officio state geologist of Arkansas since 1907. He is now state geologist of Tennessee.

At the last annual commencement of Lehigh University the honorary degree of doctor of science was conferred on Dr. James E. Talmage, formerly professor of geology in the University of Utah, and on Mr. James Gayley, of New York City.

Washington College, Chestertown, Md., conferred the degree of doctor of science on Dr. J. S. Grasty, professor of geology at the University of Virginia, at the annual commencement, when Professor Grasty delivered the address to the students.

On the occasion of its fiftieth anniversary, the Belgian Chemical Society has elected as honorary members all those who have received the Nobel prize, namely, Messrs. Arrhenius, von Baeyer, Buchner, Fischer, Ostwald, Ramsay, Rutherford and Wallach and Mme. Curie.

Dr. Francis H. Champneys has been elected president of the Royal Society of Medicine, London.

Professor Jeremiah W. Jenks, of Cornell University, has been appointed financial adviser to the Chinese republic.

Dr. E. DE WILDMAN has been appointed director of the Brussels Botanical Garden.

MR. WILLIAM ODLING, M.A., F.R.S., has been elected an honorary fellow of Worcester College, Oxford, on his resignation of the Wayn-