Symposium on Mineral Wastes and their Conservation, held before the Division of Industrial Chemists and Chemical Engineers on Friday. The following papers were presented and the discussion was prolonged throughout the day:

J. A. Holmes: Carbon Waste.

W. H. Bassett: (a) Zinc Losses in Brass Manufacture; (b) Need of Special Alloys for Special Heas

W. R. Whitney: New Uses to Reduce Abuses in Conservation.

A. V. Bleininger: Wastes in the Ceramic Industry.

A. D. Little: The Abuse of Brand.

F. K. Cameron: Waste and Conservation of Potash and Phosphoric Acid.

F. G. Cottrell: Sulphur Fumes and Flue Dust. Charles L. Parsons: Miscellaneous Mineral Wastes.

This program, together with the papers given, will be featured in the March Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry.

The Division of Pharmaceutical Chemistry held a Symposium on Drug Assaying on Friday morning and on Friday afternoon a joint meeting of the Society of Biological Chemists was held with the biological chemists of the American Chemical Society.

The secretary's report showed an increase of members of over five hundred for the year, the society's membership standing on December 1 at 5,603. During the year the society spent over \$55,000 on its journals, returning to each paid member in actual cost of publications more than 100 per cent. of his dues.

At the meeting of the council on Tuesday afternoon and evening the Biological Section of the society was authorized to form a Biochemical Division, electing its own officers, and two new local sections were formed; one at Detroit and one at New Haven.

Interesting reports were received from the Committee on Standard Methods of Analysis and from the Committee on Patent and Related Legislation.

It was voted to donate the library of the American Chemical Society to the New York Chemists' Club on condition that members of the Society have ready access thereto.

The question of the time of the annual meetings of the society was vigorously discussed, many members favoring a change from the winter season to Easter week, and a committee was appointed to take this into consideration and report to the council.

The election of the following officers was announced for 1912:

A. D. Little, President; C. L. Parsons, Secretary; A. P. Hallock, Treasurer; W. A. Noyes, Editor of the Journal of the American Chemical Society; A. M. Patterson, Editor of Chemical Abstracts; M. C. Whitaker, Editor of the Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry; E. G. Love and Alexander Smith, Directors for two years; S. W. Parr, W. H. Walker, W. L. Miller and W. D. Bigelow, Councilors-at-Large for three years; C. H. Herty, Councilor-at-Large to fill the unexpired term of A. D. Little; E. G. Love, G. C. Stone and A. E. Hill, Finance Committee; Wm. McMurtrie, C. L. Parsons and B. E. Curry, Membership Committee.

Over two hundred and fifty papers were presented at the meeting, abstracts of many of which will appear shortly in Science.

CHARLES L. PARSONS,

Secretary

THE AMERICAN PHYTOPATHOLOGICAL SOCIETY

THE third annual meeting of the American Phytopathological Society was held in Washington, D. C., December 27-29, 1911, in affiliation with the American Association for the Advancement of A program of fifty-one papers was Science. presented. Joint sessions with Section G and also with the Botanical Society of America were held. The present membership is about 240. The report of the business manager of Phytopathology, the official organ of the society, showed a small balance to the credit of the journal after all the expenses for the first volume had been paid. The present editorial staff and business manager of the journal were continued for the coming year. The following are the officers for 1912:

President—G. P. Clinton, Agricultural Experiment Station, New Haven, Conn.

Vice-president—F. C. Stewart, New York Agricultural Experiment Station, Geneva, N. Y.

Secretary-Treasurer—C. L. Shear, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D. C.

Councilors—W. A. Orton, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D. C.; Erwin F. Smith, U. S. Department of Agriculture, Washington, D. C.; A. D. Selby (ex officio), Ohio Agricultural Experiment Station, Wooster, Ohio; L. R. Jones (ex officio), University of Wisconsin, Madison, Wis.

C. L. SHEAR.

Secretary