postponement that they might send to the meeting a strong and representative delegation.

President Taft now heads the list of speakers and will address the congress on October 28, on the last day of the convention. given an opportunity to obtain a general idea of the problem confronting the coal, metal and mining men from the speakers who have preceded him, he will be enabled to clearly outline the views of the administration on the various points at issue. The first public statement of the conclusions reached by Secretary Fisher as a result of his Alaskan trip will probably be made at this meeting. Director Holmes, of the Bureau of Mines, will deliver an illustrated address on "Coal Martin D. Foster, chairman of Problems." the house committee on mines and mining, will tell of the "Relation of Congress to the Mining Industry." President B. F. Bush, of the Missouri Pacific Railroad, will present a statement containing revelations of the present conditions of the coal industry, which will be a surprise even to many coal operators.

Governors Spry, of Utah, Carey, of Wyoming, Hawley, of Idaho, and Sloan, of Arizona, supported by a number of other western executives, will lead the discussions of the "Public Lands Questions of the West." They will come to the convention supported by strong contingents of delegates from west of the Mississippi and their views will be defined in no uncertain terms.

In addition to taking up the questions of policy for the opening up of Alaska and the public lands of the west, the general problems of the bituminous coal mining industry as intensified by the demand for better protection to miners and the conservation of fuel resources, will be another of the important issues considered. Of equal interest will be the discussions concerning workmen's compensation for the victims of mining accidents; the prevention of mining accidents; the prevention of waste of the natural resources and the conservation of the energy which now contributes to coal production.

HONORARY DEGREES AT THE UNIVER-SITY OF ST. ANDREWS

The senatus academicus of the University of St. Andrews has resolved to confer a large number of honorary degrees at the graduation ceremonial to be held in connection with the celebration in September of the 500th anniversary of the foundation of the university. The doctorate of laws will be conferred on the following men of science:

Allbutt, Sir Thomas Clifford, Regius professor of physic, University of Cambridge.

Barlow, Sir Thomas (president and delegate, Royal College of Physicians, London).

Berry, George Andreas, hon. surgical oculist to H.M. in Scotland (delegate, Royal College of Surgeons, Edinburgh).

Borgman, Ivan Ivan, professor of physics (delegate, Imperial University of St. Petersburg).

Bramwell, Byrom, president Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh (delegate, Royal College of Physicians, Edinburgh).

Brown, Alexander Crum, former professor of chemistry, Edinburgh University (delegate, Royal Society of Edinburgh).

Burbury, Samuel Hawksley, F.R.S., London.

Cameron, Sir Hector Clare, professor of clinical surgery in the University of Glasgow.

Caullery, Maurice Jules Gaston Corneille, professeur de la chaire d'evolution des êtres organisés (delegate, University of Paris).

Gotch, Francis, F.R.S., Waynflete professor of physiology. University of Oxford.

Graff von Pancsova, Ludwig B., professor of zoology (delegate, University of Graz).

Holst, Peter Fredrik, professor of pathology, University of Christiania (delegate, University of Christiania).

Horne, John, F.R.S., director of Geological Survey for Scotland.

Keen, William Williams, professor of surgery, Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia.

Lagerheim, Nils Gustaf, professor of botany, University of Stockholm (delegate, University of Stockholm).

Lamb, Horace, F.R.S., professor of mathematics, University of Manchester.

Larmor, Sir Joseph, F.R.S., Lucasian professor of mathematics, University of Cambridge, secretary of the Royal Society (delegate, Royal Society).

Meldola, Raphael, F.R.S., professor of chemistry in Finsbury Technical College (City and Guilds of London Institute).

Minot, Charles Sedgwick, professor of histology and human embryology, Harvard Medical School, Boston.

Mittag-Leffler, Gosta, professor of mathematics, University of Stockholm, Djursholm u. Stockholm, Rosenbad, 2.

Nathorst, Alfred Gabriel, Intendent Naturhistoriska Riksmuseum (plant-paleontological department), Stockholm (delegate, Royal Swedish Academy of Science, Stockholm).

Nijland, Albert Antonie, professor of astronomy, University of Utrecht (delegate, University of Utrecht).

Perkin, William Henry, F.R.S., professor of chemistry, Victoria University of Manchester.

Pope, William Jackson, F.R.S., professor of chemistry, University of Cambridge.

Prain, Lt.-Col. David, F.R.S., director, Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (delegate, Linnean Society, London).

Prince, Edward E., F.R.S., Dominion Commissioner of Fisheries, Ottawa, Canada.

Reddingius, Rutger Adolf, professor of pathological anatomy, rector, University of Gröningen (delegate, University of Gröningen).

Royce, Josiah, professor of history of philosophy, Harvard University.

Saundby, Robert, professor of medicine, University of Birmingham (president-elect British Medical Association).

Schäfer, Edward Albert, F.R.S., professor of physiology, Edinburgh University.

Schuster, Arthur, F.R.S., formerly professor of physics, University of Manchester.

Teall, Jethro Justinian Harris, director H.M. Geological Survey, London.

Thomson, Sir Joseph John, F.R.S., professor of physics, Cambridge.

Veit, Johann, professor of gynecology, University of Halle (delegate, University of Halle-Wittenberg).

Voigt, Woldemar, professor of physics, University of Göttingen.

Watts, William Whitehead, F.R.S., professor of geology, Imperial College of Science and Technology, South Kensington (president and delegate, Geological Society of London).

Woodward, Arthur Smith, F.R.S., keeper geological department, British Museum.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

WE regret to record the death of Dr. Thomas Dwight, Parkman professor of anatomy in the Harvard Medical School.

Dr. David Starr Jordan, president of Stanford University, who is at present in Japan, has been decorated by the Japanese emperor.

Dr. Eduard Suess, emeritus professor of geology in the University of Vienna, who has celebrated his eightieth birthday, has retired from the presidency of the Vienna Academy of Sciences.

Dr. Gottlieb Haberlandt, professor of botany in the University of Berlin, has been elected a member of the Berlin Academy of Sciences.

Mr. Wm. Paul Gerhard, of New York, has been awarded the honorary degree of doctor of engineering by the Technical Institute of Darmstadt, in recognition of his services to public health and sanitation.

Dr. Shigéo Yamanouchi, professor of botany in Tokyo Teachers' College (now in the University of Chicago), received in July from the Japanese government the honorary degree of "Rigakuhakushi" (doctor of science).

Professor Gaetano Lanza, head of the department of mechanical engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology for the past twenty-seven years, has retired and is now with the Baldwin Locomotive Works.

Dr. WILLIAM H. Brown has resigned his position as research assistant in plant physiology at the Michigan Agricultural College to become plant physiologist of the Bureau of Science at Manila, P. I. He sailed from San Francisco for the latter point on September 6. Dr. R. P. Hibbard, of the Mississippi Agricultural Experiment Station, has been chosen as his successor.

DEAN MELVIN A. BRANNON, formerly of the College of Medicine at the University of North Dakota but now of the College of Liberal Arts at the same institution, will spend the year at the University of Chicago engaged in advanced research work in plant morphology with special reference to bryophytes and