from some approved college. On the second day of the meeting President Van Hise, of the University of Wisconsin, discussed "The Appointment and Tenure of University Professors."

At the annual election, the University of Virginia was chosen president of the association, the University of Illinois vice-president and the University of Missouri a member of the executive committee. Harvard remains secretary and Columbia was reelected a member of the executive committee. Chicago was chosen as the next place of meeting. The work closed with a conference of deans, the most notable matter of discussion being the entrance requirements for graduate schools.

The delegates were: Dean Barrows, of California; Professor Bolling, of the Catholic University of America; President Judson and Dean Salisbury, of Chicago; Professor Sanford, of Clark; Professors Carpenter and Thomas, of Columbia; Dean Merritt and Professor Thilly, of Cornell; President Lowell, Dean Haskins and Secretary Little, of Harvard; Director Davenport, of Illinois; President Bryan and Dean Hoffman, of Indiana, Deans Wilcox and Seashore, of Iowa; Professor Ames, of Johns Hopkins; Deans Blackmer, of Kansas; Reed, of Michigan, and Downey, of Minnesota; President Hill, of Missouri; Deans Sherman, of Nebraska, and Ames and Fisher, of Pennsylvania; Dean West and Professor Conklin, of Princeton; President Jordan, of Leland Stanford Junior; President Van Hise, of Wisconsin; Dean Jones and Director Chittenden, of Yale, and President Alderman, Deans Page, Thornton, Lile, Dabney and Whitehead and Professors Tuttle, Kent, Wilson, Fitz-Hugh, Payne, Kastle and Faulkner, of Virginia.

THE SALARIES OF PROFESSORS OF YALE UNIVERSITY

ATTENTION has already been called in SCIENCE to increases in the salaries of professors at Yale University. The official announcement of the action taken by the corporation is as follows:

Owing to the generosity of the alumni, a sum of about \$50,000 contributed by the Alumni Fund Association, was available for this purpose (professorial salary increases). Of this \$10,000 was set apart last spring for salary increases. Of the remainder, one third is now appropriated to increase the salaries of assistant professors and two thirds to increase the salaries of full professors. The new salary scale put into force continues instructors at from \$1,000 to \$1,600, increases assistant professors on the first term of appointment from \$1,800 to \$2,000, sets \$2,500 as the normal scale for the second appointment of the assistant professors' grade and reduces the period of the second appointment from five years to three years, making \$3,000 the normal salary for an assistant professor after the expiration of his second term.

All of the assistant professors of the first grade in the two undergraduate departments had their salaries raised to the new scale for the coming year.

It is believed that the new salary scale avoids the danger of an absolutely fixed scale on the one hand and of haphazard determination of individual salaries on the other. In the case of assistant professors the normal salary plan of the past is continued and strengthened, although the corporation reserves the right to withhold salary increases where the work is unsatisfactory.

In the case of professors, normal grades of \$4,000, \$4,500, and \$5,000 are adopted—with length of service, university responsibility and individual distinction as a scholar or teacher forming the criteria on which the president and dean of a department base their recommendations for advance to the corporation. On this plan twelve professors in the university were placed on the maximum salary of \$5,000 and a slightly larger number on the \$4,500 basis.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

Dr. Edgar F. Smith, for twenty-two years professor of chemistry in the University of Pennsylvania and for twelve years vice-provost, has been elected provost in succession to Dr. C. C. Harrison.

We have not been able to obtain an authorized statement of the degrees conferred at the celebration of the centenary of the University of Berlin, but it appears that three honorary degrees were conferred on American men of science—the degree of doctor of philosophy on