MARCH 18, 1910]

Papers may be sent direct to the chairman of the particular section for which they are intended, or to Dr. Alfred Reginald Allen, Secretary, 111 South 21st Street, Philadelphia, Pa.

THE ELIZABETH THOMPSON SCIENCE FUND

THE thirty-fifth meeting of the board of trustees was held in Boston, Mass., on February 2, 1910.

The following officers were elected:

President—Edward C. Pickering. Treasurer—Charles S. Rackemann. Secretary—Charles S. Minot.

The secretary stated that during the past year no reports had been received from the following holders of grants: 22, 27, E. Hartwig; 107, M. W. Travers; 117, E. Salkowski and C. Neuberg; 123, E. C. Jeffrey; 131, F. W. Thyng; 134, C. L. Alsberg.

The reports received from the following holders of grants were accepted as reports of progress: 98, J. Weinzirl; 109, A. Nicolas; 111, R. Hürthle; 119, J. P. McMurrich; 121, E. Debierne; 124, P. Bachmetjew; 133, J. F. Shepard; 136, H. Z. Kip; 137, C. H. Eigenmann; 138, Mme. P. Šafarik; 140, K. Guthe; 141, J. P. Patterson; 142, W. J. Hale; 144, G. A. Hulett; 146, M. Nussbaum; 147, J. Müller; 148, C. C. Nutting; 149, P. A. Guye; 152, W. D. Hoyt; 154, J. P. Munson.

It was voted to close the accounts of the following grants: 135, A. Negri; 139, J. Koenigsberger; 145, J. de Kowalski; 151, O. von Fürth; 153, W. Doberck, and to close upon receipt of publications the account of grant 143, awarded to Professor R. W. Wood.

The secretary stated that a fifth publication had been received from Professor E. Wiedemann, acknowledging the aid obtained through grant 127.

The trustees greatly regretted to be obliged to decline several applications which were highly deserving of aid.

It was voted to make the following new grants:

155. \$300 to Dr. H. P. Hollnagel, Berlin, Germany, for a redetermination of the longer wave-lengths in the extreme infra-red portion of the spectrum, by an interferometer method.

156. \$100 to Professor R. Thaxter, Cambridge, Mass., for further studies on the Laboulbeniaceæ.

157. \$100 to Dr. L. Mercier, Nancy, France, to study the bacteria living symbiotically within various invertebrates.

158. \$50 to Professor H. V. Neal, Galesburg, Ill., for a study of nerve histogenesis in Squalus acanthias.

159. \$100 to Dr. B. M. Davis, Cambridge, Mass., for cytological and genetical studies on native species of Oenothera.

160. \$50 to Dr. L. J. Henderson, Boston, Mass., for a research upon the use as indicators of aromatic nitro compounds which contain phenolic hydroxyl groups, or amino groups, or carboxyl groups.

161. \$100 to Professor O. von Fürth, Vienna, Austria, for further studies on internal secretion. CHARLES S. MINOT,

Secretary

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

INVITATIONS for the centennial celebration of the University of Berlin, to be held in October of this year, have been sent to the visiting professors who have represented Harvard University and Columbia University at the University of Berlin. These include Professors Theodore W. Richards and W. M. Davis, of Harvard University.

THE official delegation from the Geological Society of America to the eleventh International Geological Congress to be held at Stockholm, Sweden, in August of this year has been constituted as follows: Arnold Hague, Sc.D., U. S. Geological Survey, president of the Geological Society of America; Charles R. Van Hise, LL.D., University of Wisconsin; James F. Kemp, professor of geology, Columbia University; Frank D. Adams, D.Sc., dean of the faculty of applied science, McGill University, and Edmund Otis Hovey, Ph.D., curator of geology and invertebrate paleontology, American Museum of Natural History.

PROFESSOR HUGH D. REED has been appointed delegate from Cornell University to