vice-president (Dr. L. Hektoen) and for a symposium upon the subject of "The Regulation of Physical Instruction in Schools and Colleges from the Standpoint of Hygiene." On the afternoon of the thirtieth there was a combined meeting with Section K, the Society of American Bacteriologists and the American Society of Biochemists. The following general papers were read and discussed:

"Anaphylaxis," by M. J. Rosenau.

"The Physiological Significance of Creatin and Creatinin," by L. B. Mendel.

"The Cause and Diagnostic Value of the Venous Pulse," by A. W. Hewlett.

The meeting was the largest in the history of the society, more than 80 members being present.

The following were elected to membership: T. G. Brodie, of Toronto; W. W. Hale, of Washington; W. A. Hewlett, of Ann Arbor; A. D. Hirschfelder, of Baltimore; A. Hunter, of Ithaca, N. Y.; D. R. Joseph, of New York; W. J. Meek, of Madison, Wis.; F. R. Miller, of Toronto; F. H. Scott, of Minneapolis; S. Simpson, of Ithaca; C. Voegtlin, of Baltimore.

The following officers were elected:

President-W. H. Howell.

Secretary-R. Hunt.

Treasurer-W. B. Cannon.

Additional Members of Council-A. J. Carlson, W. P. Lombard.

> REID HUNT, Secretary

## THE AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF ECONOMIC ENTOMOLOGISTS

THE twenty-first annual meeting of the American Association of Economic Entomologists was held at the Eastern Female High School, Baltimore, Md., December 28 and 29, 1908. The annual address of the president was presented by Dr. S. A. Forbes, on "Aspects of Progress in Economic Entomology." A full program of interesting papers was presented at each session. A general aiscussion of the subject "Do we Need the Insectary?" was participated in by many of the members and many important facts were brought out in connection with the use of this important accessory to entomological work.

The report of the secretary showed that the association was making a healthy growth and that it was in a good financial condition.

A considerable amount of important business was transacted at the meeting which included a revision of the constitution, the adoption of a resolution defining the attitude of the association

concerning the proposed affiliation of societies interested in agricultural science and the adoption of memorial resolutions on the deaths of Dr. William H. Ashmead, Alexander Craw, Dr. James Fletcher, Professor W. G. Johnson and Professor F. H. Snow, members who had died during the past year.

A long list of uniform common names of insects were adopted on recommendation of the committee on nomenclature.

Thirty-nine new members were elected.

The following officers were elected:

President-Dr. W. E. Britton, New Haven, Conn.

First Vice-president-Dr. E. D. Ball, Logan, Utah.

Second Vice-president—Professor H. E. Summers, Ames, Iowa.

Secretary-Mr. A. F. Burgess, Washington, D. C.

Member of the Committee on Nomenclature---Professor Herbert Osborn, Columbus, Ohio.

Members of the Advisory Board of the Journal of Economic Entomology—Professor Wilmon Newell, Baton Rouge, La., Dr. H. T. Fernald, Amherst, Mass., and Professor Herbert Osborn, Columbus, Ohio.

Members of the Council of the American Association for the Advancement of Science—Dr. S. A Forbes, Urbana, Ill., and Professor H. E. Summers, Ames, Iowa.

The attendance was the largest of any meeting in the history of the association, over a hundred being present at every session.

> A. F. Burgess, Secretary

## SOCIETIES AND ACADEMIES

## THE NEW YORK ACADEMY OF SCIENCES SECTION OF BIOLOGY

THE regular meeting of the section held at the American Museum on January 11, 1909, was devoted to an illustrated lecture by Professor E. B. Poulton, of Oxford University, on "Mimicry among North American Butterflies." The lecturer was introduced by Mr. Charles F. Cox, president of the New York Academy, who made some brief remarks on selection and mimicry.

Prior to the scientific program a letter was read from Mr. W. K. Gregory, regretfully declining the election to the secretaryship of the section for 1909. Dr. L. Hussakof was then nominated and elected to the office for the same term.