AMERICAN PHYSIOLOGICAL SOCIETY

THE American Physiological Society will hold its twenty-first annual meeting in Baltimore during convocation week, beginning December 29, 1908. Joint sessions will be held with the American Society of Biological Chemists and with Section K—Physiology and Experimental Medicine—of the American Association for the Advancement of Science. The place of meeting will be the Lecture Hall, second floor, of the Johns Hopkins Medical School Building (Washington and East Monument Streets).

> REID HUNT, Secretary

25TH AND E STS., N. W., WASHINGTON, D. C.

THE AMERICAN NATURE-STUDY SOCIETY

ONE session of the meeting at Baltimore will be devoted to a discussion of "The Relation of Nature-study and Elementary Agriculture in Rural Schools," and one session will be devoted to "Nature-study in its Relation to High School Biology." It is expected that a third session will be made up of general papers. The dates of these sessions will be arranged, as far as possible, to avoid conflict with other meetings.

THE HAYDEN MEMORIAL MEDAL

THE Academy of Natural Sciences of Philadelphia has conferred the Hayden memorial gold medal for 1908 on John Mason Clarke, the state geologist of New York, in recognition of his distinguished services to geological science.

The academy accepted in 1888 from Mrs. Emma W. Hayden an endowment of a memorial to her husband, Dr. Ferdinand V. Hayden, who was for several years director of the Geological and Geographical Survey of the Territories, remaining one of the four principal geologists of the United States Geological Survey from its organization, in 1879, until his death. Provision was at first made to confer a bronze medal and the balance of interest on the fund annually as a recognition of the best publication, exploration, discovery or research in the sciences of geology and paleontology.

The bronze medal was awarded annually until 1899, when the déed of trust was modified so as to provide for the conferring of a gold medal once every three years.

The recipients of the award have been as follows:

- 1890. James Hall, state geologist of New York.
- 1891. Edward D. Cope, distinguished paleontologist.
- 1892. Edward Suess, of Vienna, author of "Das Antlitz der Erde."
- 1893. Thomas Huxley, the distinguished biologist and paleontologist.
- 1894. Gabriel Auguste Daubrée, of the Institute of France.
- 1895. Karl A. von Zittel, of Munich, author of the monumental "Handbuch der Paleontologie."
- 1896. Giovanni Capellini, of Bologna, president of the Royal Geological Survey of Italy.
- 1897. A. Karpinski, of St. Petersburg, director of the Geological Survey of Russia.
- 1898. Otto Martin Torell, chief of the Geological Survey of Sweden.
- 1899. Gilles J. G. Denalque, secretary of the Geological Society of Belgium.
- 1902. Archibald Geikie, director of the Geological Survey of Great Britain.
- 1905. Charles Doolittle Walcot, director of the United States Geological Survey, and now secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.

In the opinion of the committee on the award Mr. Clarke's contributions to geology, especially his "Early Devonic History of New York and Eastern North America," rank him with the others who have received the recognition.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

PROFESSOR W. W. CAMPBELL, director of the Lick Observatory, has been appointed lecturer for next year on the Silliman foundation at Yale University.

ON the occasion of King Edward's birthday, the honor of knighthood was conferred on Dr. Jonathan Hutchinson, Hunterian professor at the Royal College of Surgeons; Dr. Thomas Oliver, professor of physiology at