General of the Congress, Bureau of Fisheries, Washington, D. C.

THE AMERICAN CHEMICAL SOCIETY

The thirty-eighth general meeting of the American Chemical Society was held in New Haven, Conn., June 29 to July 2, and was one of the most successful summer meetings ever held by the society. Two hundred and fifty members were present and one hundred and seventy-four papers were presented.

The large number of papers made it necessary to hold more sectional meetings than usual and the society met in six sections for the presentation of papers.

The society met in the lecture rooms of the Sheffield Scientific School and the following nine papers were presented in general session before all the members: "Official Inspection of Commodities," by A. L. Winton, chairman of the Agricultural and Food Section; "The Increasing Importance of the Rarer Elements," by P. E. Browning, chairman of the Inorganic Section; "The Analyst, the Chemist and the Chemical Engineer," by Wm. D. Richardson, chairman of the Industrial Section: "A Discussion of Some of the Methods used in Determining the Structure of Organic Compounds," by Wm. McPherson, chairman of the Organic Section; "Our Present Knowledge of Plant Proteins," by T. B. Osborne, chairman of the Biological and Sanitary Chemistry Section; "Some Applications of Physical Chemistry," by Frank K. Cameron, chairman of the Physical Chemistry Section; "Chemical Publications in America in Relation to Chemical Industry," by W. A. Noves: "The Electrolytic Theory of the Corrosion of Iron as applied to the Protection of Steam Boilers," by W. H. Walker; "The Research Chemist," by W. R. Whitney.

On Wednesday afternoon, July 1, an excursion to Ansonia was enjoyed by the visiting chemists for the purpose of visiting the works of the Ansonia Brass and Copper Company and the Coe Brass Manufacturing Company. On the evening of the same day the members met on the East Shore for a social outing and dinner.

The organization of the Division of Industrial Chemists and Chemical Engineers was a feature of the meeting and the following officers were elected: Chairman, A. D. Little; Vice-chairman, A. H. Low; Secretary, B. T. B. Hyde; Executive Committee, Wm. H. Walker, Wm. Brady, J. D. Pennock, W. C. Ebaugh, F. B. Carpenter. Twenty-eight important papers were presented before the division and marked enthusiasm was shown. A movement is also on foot for organizing the food chemists, the general and physical chemists and the fertilizer chemists.

The rapid growth of the society under the impetus of the organization of chemists into special groups and the continually improving quality of its journals was noted by all, seven hundred new members having been added in the last eight months.

Matters of decided importance were brought before the council and acted upon. A new section of the society was established with headquarters at Louisville, Ky. It was decided that the winter meeting should be held in Baltimore in affiliation with the American Association for the Advancement of Science and that the summer meeting for 1909 should be held in San Francisco.

The society having been represented by its president in the recent conference in Washington on the Conservation of our Natural Resources, it was voted that a standing committee on the conservation of our natural resources be established and that the American Chemical Society should attempt to point out how chemists could assist this movement.

W. D. Richardson was elected editor-inchief of the new Journal of Industrial and Engineering Chemistry and the following were elected as associate editors: Henry M. Howe (metallurgy of iron and steel), A. H. Low (metallurgy of gold, silver and lead), Geo. C. Stone (copper, zinc and other non-ferrous metallurgy), Willis R. Whitney (applied electrochemistry), F. W. Lovejoy (photochemistry), A. E. Leach (foods), L. P. Kinnicutt (water, sewage and sanitation), F. B. Carpenter (fertilizers and soils), Robert Wahl (fermented and distilled liquors), Virgil Coblentz (pharmaceutical chemistry), T. J.

Parker (heavy chemicals), J. B. F. Herreshoff (sulfuric acid), Karl Langenbeck (ceramics), G. E. Barton (glass), Ernest B. McCready (cement, mortar and building materials), Clifford Richardson (asphalt and petroleum), A. D. Little (cellulose and paper), Francis I. du Pont (explosives), E. G. Bailey (fuels), J. D. Pennock (destructive distillation), John Alden (textiles, bleaching and dyeing), P. C. McIlhiney (pigments, resins and varnish), W. C. Geer (rubber), Ernest Twitchell (fats, waxes and soaps), W. D. Horne (sugar and starch), W. K. Alsop (leather), G. R. Underwood (glue), Edward Mallinckrodt (fine chemicals), M. C. Whitaker (gas), W. F. Hillebrand (pure and analytical chemistry), W. H. Walker (engineering chemistry), Wm. Campbell (metallography), W. C. Ebaugh and F. H. Thorp (miscellaneous industrial chemistry).

The Committee on the Qualifications of Chemists made a preliminary report on the establishment of an Institute of Chemistry, which has been under consideration for the past two years and it was decided on account of its great and far-reaching importance to refer this matter again to a representative committee of fifteen for further consideration to report back to the council.

The committee appointed to consider the training and education of chemists and chemical engineers made its report and as a result a movement is under way to establish a Section or Division of Chemical Education within the society, which shall especially appeal to teachers and shall study more particularly the existing standards and methods of instruction throughout the country and the possibility of improving them.

The society adjourned after one of the pleasantest meetings in its history.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

The medal struck by the Linnean Society to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the reading of the papers on natural selection by Darwin and Wallace was, on July 1, awarded to Dr. Alfred Russel Wallace, Sir Joseph Dalton Hooker, Professor Ernst Haeckel, Pro-

fessor Eduard Strasburger, Professor August Weismann, Dr. Francis Galton and Sir E. Ray Lankester.

On the occasion of King Edward's birthday, baronetcies were given to Sir T. Lauder Brunton, F.R.S., and Dr. W. W. Cheyne, F.R.S., and the knighthood to Professor A. G. Greenhill, F.R.S., and Colonel David Bruce, F.R.S.

M. Henri Becquerel has been elected permanent secretary of the Paris Academy of Sciences for the physical sciences.

Dr. WILLIAM OSLER, regius professor of medicine at Oxford, has been selected as an independent candidate for the lord rectorship of Edinburgh University.

At the eighty-third annual commencement of Hobart College the address before the Phi Beta Kappa Society was delivered by Professor A. G. Webster, of Clark University, who received the honorary degree of LL.D.

Dr. William J. Holland, director of the Carnegie Museum, has returned from his visit to Germany and France to present on behalf of Mr. Andrew Carnegie life-size plaster casts of the Diplodocus. In recognition of his services to science, the German emperor conferred upon Dr. Holland the Order of the Crown, while President Fallières bestowed upon him the Cross of the Legion of Honor.

THE Rumford Committee of the American Academy has made the following grants in aid of researches in light and heat: To Professor N. A. Kent, of Boston University, an additional appropriation of \$400 for a set of echelon plates for use in his research on the conditions influencing electric spark lines. To Professor Joel Stebbins, of the University of Illinois, an additional appropriation of \$100 for his research on the use of selenium in stellar photometry.

A gold medal was recently struck and presented to Professor Ramón y Cajal, in the name of his friends and admirers throughout Spain. Professor Cajal refused to permit a public ceremony, and the medal was presented informally at his home on May 27.