is maintained by annual subscriptions of fifty dollars each. For the year 1906-7 the following colleges, associations and individuals are contributors: Association of Collegiate Alumnæ, Barnard College, Bryn Mawr College, University of Chicago, Mass. Institute of Technology, Mount Holyoke College, Radcliffe College, Smith College, University of Pennsylvania, Vassar College, Wellesley College, Western Reserve University, Women's College in Brown University, Women's Advisory Committee of the Johns Hopkins Medical School, Woman's College of Baltimore, Miss Helen Collamore, Mrs. Alice Upton Pearmain, Mrs. J. M. Arms Sheldon, Mrs. Elizabeth A. Shepard, Mrs. Mary Thaw Thompson.

The year of the association begins in April, and all applications for the year 1907-8 should be sent to the secretary on or before March 1st, 1907. The appointments are made by the executive committee.

A prize of \$1,000 has been offered periodically by the association for the best thesis written by a woman, on a scientific subject, embodying new observations and new conclusions based on an independent laboratory research in biological, chemical or physical science. The fourth prize will be awarded in April, 1909.

Application blanks, information in regard to the advantages at Naples for research and collection of material and circulars giving the conditions of the award of the prize will be furnished by the secretary.

Executive Committee: Florence M. Cushing, 8 Walnut Street, Boston, Mass., chairman; Mary E. Woolley, President of Mount Holyoke College; Ellen H. Richards, Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Alice Upton Pearmain, 388 Beacon Street, Boston, Mass.; Marion Talbot, Dean of Women, Chicago University; Elizabeth L. Clarke (Mrs. S. F.), Williamstown, Mass., treasurer; Ada Wing Mead (Mrs. A. D.), 283 Wayland Ave., Providence, R. I., secretary.

## THE ROCKEFELLER INSTITUTE FOR MEDICAL RESEARCH

The Rockefeller Institute for Medical Research purposes to award for the year 1907-8

a limited number of scholarships and fellowships for work to be carried on in the laboratories of the institute in New York City, under the following conditions:

The scholarships and fellowships will be granted to assist investigations in experimental pathology, bacteriology, medical zoology, physiology and pharmacology and physiological and pathological chemistry.

They are open to men and women who are properly qualified to undertake research work in any of the above-mentioned subjects and are granted for one year.

The value of these scholarships and fellowships ranges from eight hundred to twelve hundred dollars each.

It is expected that holders of the scholarships and fellowships will devote their entire time to research.

Applications accompanied by proper credentials should be in the hands of the secretary of the Rockefeller Institute not later than April 1, 1907. The announcement of the appointments is made about May 15. The term of service begins preferably on October 1, but, by special arrangement, may be begun at another time.

L. EMMETT HOLT,
Secretary

14 WEST 55TH STREET, NEW YORK CITY

## SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS

THE Rumford medal of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences 'for discoveries in light and heat,' has been awarded to Professor E. F. Nichols, of Columbia University.

THE Berlin Academy of Sciences has conferred its Helmholtz medal on M. Henri Becquerel, Paris.

Dr. Eduard Zeller, the eminent student of the history of philosophy, has celebrated his ninety-third birthday.

Dr. H. H. Hildebrandsson, professor of meteorology and director of the Meteorological Institute of the University of Upsala, and Professor Knut Joh. Ångström, professor of physics, have been elected honorary members of the Royal Institution, London.