in large sections. For instance, on the Island of Mindoro only a few names along the coast The interior of the island is a are given. blank. The progress made by the American Government in the islands is graphically illustrated by the red lines, indicating cables, telegraphs, and telephones, which penetrate to nearly all corners of the archipelago. Nearly seven thousand miles of wire are now strung, whereas three years ago there was not one mile in service. All the telegraph lines are owned by the government and operated by a government department—the United States Signal Corps. The stations noted as commercial stations are open to messages of a private and commercial character, while from the stations noted as military only messages of a military nature can be sent. This map is the first map of the Philippines that has been prepared by American officers. The spelling of the names is that adopted by the United States Board on Geographic Names. War Department printed an edition of only 400. The demands of the army posts in the Philippines and in the United States exhausted nearly the entire edition, so that only a few remain for public distribution. National Geographic Society was, however, granted the use of the plate and has printed a large edition, so that each of its members may receive a copy of what is the only up-todate presentation of all that is now known of the geography of these islands.

THE CARNEGIE INSTITUTION.

The trustees of the institution elected by the incorporators are as follows:

The president of the United States.

The president of the United States Senate.

The speaker of the House of Representatives.

The secretary of the Smithsonian Institution.

The president of the National Academy of Sciences.

Grover Cleveland, New Jersey.
John S. Billings, New York.
William N. Frew, Pennsylvania.
Lyman J. Gage, Illinois.
Daniel C. Gilman, Maryland.
John Hay, District of Columbia.
Abram S. Hewitt, New Jersey.
Henry L. Higginson, Massachusetts.

Henry Hitchcock, Missouri.
Charles L. Hutchinson, Illinois.
William Lindsay, Kentucky.
Seth Low, New York.
Wayne MacVeagh, Pennsylvania.
D. O. Mills, California.
S. Weir Mitchell, Pennsylvania.
W. W. Morrow, California.
Elihu Root, New York.
John G. Spooner, Wisconsin.
Andrew D. White, New York.
Edward D. White, Louisiana.
Charles D. Walcott, District of Columbia.
Carroll D. Wright, District of Columbia.

The official statement of the plans of the institution is as follows:

"It is proposed to found in the city of Washington, in the spirit of Washington, an institution which, with the cooperation of institutions now or hereafter established, there or elsewhere, shall, in the broadest and most liberal manner, encourage investigation, research and discovery, encourage the application of knowledge to the improvement of mankind; provide such buildings, laboratories, books and apparatus as may be needed, and afford instruction of an advanced character to students whenever and wherever found, inside or outside of schools, properly qualified to profit thereby. Among its aims are these:

"1. To increase the efficiency of the universities and other institutions of learning throughout the country, by utilizing and adding to their existing facilities, and by aiding teachers in the various institutions for experimental and other work, in these institutions as far as may be advisable.

"2. To discover the exceptional man in every department of study, whenever and wherever found, and enable him by financial aid to make the work for which he seems specially designed, his life work.

"3. To promote original research, paying great attention thereto, as being one of the chief purposes of this institution.

"4. To increase facilities for higher education.

"5. To enable such students as may find Washington the best point for their special studies to avail themselves of such advantages as may be open to them in the museums,

libraries, laboratories, observatory, meteorological, piscicultural and forestry schools and kindred institutions of the several departments of the government.

"6. To insure the prompt publication and distribution of the results of scientific investigation, a field considered to be highly important.

"These and kindred objects may be attained by providing the necessary apparatus, by employing able teachers from various institutions in Washington and elsewhere, and by enabling men fitted for special work to devote themselves to it, through salaried fellowships or scholarships, or through salaries, with or without pensions in old age, or through aid in other forms to such men as continue their special work at seats of learning throughout the world."

The meeting for organization of the board of trustees and the election of officers has been called for January 29, at the office of the Secretary of State in Washington.

SCIENTIFIC NOTES AND NEWS.

PRESIDENT IRA REMSEN, of the Johns Hopkins University, has been elected president of the American Chemical Society.

Professor H. W. Conn, of Wesleyan University, has been elected president of the American Society of Bacteriologists.

The Society for Plant Morphology and Physiology held a successful meeting at Columbia University on December 31, 1901, and January 1, 1902, of which a full account will soon appear in Science. Officers for the ensuing year were elected as follows: President, V. M. Spalding, University of Michigan; Vice-President, Byron D. Halsted, Rutgers College; Secretary-Treasurer, W. F. Ganong, Smith College. The Society will meet next year at Washington with the other scientific societies.

At the annual election of officers of the California Academy of Sciences, held January 6, 1902, the following were elected to serve in the various offices of the Society during the ensuing year: Presi-

dent, David Starr Jordan; First Vice-Presdent, M. W. Haskell; Second Vice-Presdent, H. H. Behr; Corresponding Secretary, J. O'B. Gunn; Recording Secretary, J. W. Hobson; Treasurer, L. H. Foote; Librarian, Louis Falkenau; Director of Museum, Leverett M. Loomis; Trustees, William M. Pierson, James F. Houghton, William H. Crocker, C. E. Grunsky, E. J. Molera, George C. Perkins, George W. Dickie.

CASWELL GRAVE, Ph.D. (Johns Hopkins), now instructor in zoology at the Johns Hopkins University, has been appointed director of the United States Fish Commission Station at Beaufort, N. C.

Dr. J. KRIECHBAUMER, senior curator of the zoological collections at Munich, has retired.

A ROYAL commission has been appointed to inquire into the question of the coal supplies of the United Kingdom. It includes among its members H. B. Dixon, M.A., professor of chemistry and metallurgy in the Owens College, Manchester; J. S. Dixon, mining engineer and coalmaster, president of the Mining Institution of Scotland, and president of the Institution of Mining Engineers of Great Britain; C. Le Neve Foster, D.Sc., B.A., F.R.S., professor of mining in the Royal College of Science, South Kensington, and lately one of his majesty's inspectors of Mines; Edward Hull, M.A., LL.D., F.R.S., lately director of the Geological Survey of Ireland; Charles Lapworth, LL.D., F.R.S., professor of geology and physiography in the Birmingham University, and J. J. H. Teall, M.A., F.R.S., president of the Geological Society of London and director of the Geological Survey of the United Kingdom.

A Fund is being raised to perpetuate the memory of the late Professor Tate, for twenty-six years professor of natural science in the Adelaide University. It is proposed to erect a memorial tablet and to establish a Tate medal for geology.

Mr. C. L. A. DE NICÉVILLE died at Calcutta on December 3, of malarial fever contracted in the Terai in pursuit of his investigations as state entomologist of India, an appointment which had been created for him. He was the